We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little slice of heaven on the Sri Lankan...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Talaramba Reef

Talaramba Reef is a place to unwind and reconnect with the simpler pleasures in life
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Talaramba Reef is a place to unwind and reconnect with the simpler pleasures in life
Each villa has it's own swimming pool All bedrooms are air conditioned, although often the fan is enough to keep you cool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Talaramba Reef is a place to unwind and reconnect with the simpler pleasures in life
Each villa has it's own swimming pool
All bedrooms are air conditioned, although often the fan is enough to keep you cool
Mosquito nets are there if you choose to sleep with the doors open and the sea breeze cooling you
Work by local Sri Lankan artists is featured throughout Talaramba Reef
En-suite bathrooms feature open showers, dual basins, and baths for a long soak.
Living rooms are open and airy, with enough comfortable seating for everyone
Exquisite woodwork adorns the villas throughout
The extensive gardens are a particular feature of Talaramba Reef
Spend your days doing nothing but relaxing
Work up an appetite with a stroll along the beach at sunset
Dusk is a particularly tranquil and special time
Dinner is taken on the terrace
Sri Lankan curries are a specialty of the house
Breakfast is fruit, eggs, toast, juice, tea or coffee
Our friendly, attentive team, will take care of every need
Take afternoon tea enjoying the view over the Indian Ocean
Or just relax on the balcony, lulled by the rythm of the waves
Pool towels, bathroom towels, and crisp bed linen are all provided
You'll see the iconic stilt fishermen plying their trade right at the end of our garden
Stunning Mirissa beach is only 2 minutes by tuk tuk
Mirissa is one of Sri Lanka's best surfing spots
Getting here is half the fun. Come by road, train or seaplane
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Mirissa, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Huckers12...
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven on the Sri Lankan coast...”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The villa is magnificent. The surrounds stunning, and the hospitality is second to none.

My sister and I stayed at Villa Sulanga for two nights in April. We did not want to leave.

There has obviously been a great deal of thought put into the finer touches of the villa layout and interior. Whilst rustic and very much in keeping with its situation, its creative and there is real imagination behind the chosen decor. Its chic, extremely comfortable, and family friendly to the last.

There is a massive swiming pool at the back of the property set in some spectacular grounds. We enjoyed many a G&T in the comfortable loungers next to the pool listening to the waves crashes on the beach behind also.

The Villa staff were excellent, and the authentic Sri Lankan food we ate at the Villa both nights was some of the best I had in my two weeks in the country. Mirissa beach is a walk away too.

I am going back to this place as soon as I possibly can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: The situation and staff
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireB22...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Amazing Place”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This was the most relaxing holiday we have ever been on.

I cannot speak highly enough of Talaramba Reef (we stayed at villa vatura). The villa was amazing and Deepani and the staff were exceptional. It was perfect for 2 families, as we had in our group, but would also be excellent for 4 couples as the four large rooms were all the same with gorgeous decor and full bathrooms in each room.

We had 4 young children in our group and the villa was perfect with the pool (including an excellent shallow section for younger children), gardens, the beach out the front where we explored the rockpools daily. My husband surfed right out the front.

Marissa beach was only a short tuk tuk ride away, so we were close to everything but enjoyed a quiet location tucked away.

We tried lunch at the beach in Mirrisa, but found the amazing food that Deepani cooked at the house was far superior!

There are so many things I could say about this place, in a word it was wonderful.

We are already trying to see when we can come back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hélène D
Paris, France
1 review
“A few days in paradise”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We spent 4 days in Talaramba Reef (Villa Sulanga) in february, and it was, for my friends and me, like a stay in paradise. The house is huge and well decorated, the rooms very clean and comfortable, the garden and pool just near the Indian ocean are perfect for the beginning and the end of each day. And the best in Talaramba is the sweet attentions of Deepani, Ranjit and all the staff who always make your days better, and cook very good meals with fresh products. It was just like we were friends of the family, so perfect holidays !!

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAB317
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Stayed for a week with family and had a fantastic time.

Property is beautiful with a large garden (great for croquet, petanque, cricket and football) giving direct acces to the beach. As the reef goes all the way to the shore, there is no swimming from the beach, but the villa has a great pool (with good shallow end for the kids to play) for a refreshing dip and lounging during the day. In addition Mirissa beach (one of the best in Sri Lanka with plenty of beach bars and free sunloungers as well as good surfing) is a two minute tuktuk ride away. Tuktuk service is reliable, efficient and cheap.

Villa is beautifully designed and stylishly appointed with local artwork.

Food is absolutely fabulous. Breakfast, lunch, tea, dinner, all delicious and fresh.

Staff are super friendly and helpful and keep the property spotless.

Highly reccommended.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plumPorts...
portsmouth uk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

After a long drive from Columbo we arrived at the talaramba reef villas, we have traveled all
Around the world staying in lovely hotels but this is by far one of the best places we have ever been
The villa is just beautiful and Deepani Ranjit and their staff are just wonderful making you feel welcome from the time you arrive , nothing is to much trouble ,the food the surroundings the pool the staff we could go on and on ,we will definitely be returning,

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing