We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
82
21
4
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
82
21
4
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tassie devils spotted quolls local wildlife great birds open fire brush tailed possums every night log cabin short drive mountain valley wilderness len walks platypuses internet cradle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2023

Exactly what we had expected and hoped for. Simple but comfortable accommodation. A quaint little cabin, open fire, basic but had the essentials. Len was really accommodating and helpful in ensuring our family (2a+2c) enjoyed the location and wildlife. There was plenty to see even for our 3yr old. We did see Tassie Devils in the wild! A highlight of our trip to TAS. Pademelons everywhere. Great birds locally. A very pleasant stay.

Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Clare A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2023 via mobile

Very much enjoyed staying in this log cabin and staying up to try and watch some devils and quolls. The owners are very helpful and the cabin was spotless and better than expected. Platypus viewing in the evening was distant, but recognisable.
We saw devils on 2 nights and our daughter spotted a quoll.
Excellent group Bbq area.

Room tip: We found turning the front light off and using our red torch through the windows most successful for spotting wildlife. No mobile reception
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LalaPanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 September 2022

Not a bad spot to take a rest night. Len is very knowledgeable of the local area.
They have a free laundry which is handy but no food available.
No mobile service in this remote valley. Recommend the Paddys lake walk

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Rigseismic67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2022

Just spent two nights at Mountain Valley Wilderness Holidays, Loongana. What an amazing experience! Len was so welcoming, friendly & knowledgeable. Nothing was too much trouble, including spending an hour and a half with us, spotting platypuses. Our self-contained cabin was rustic & charming, with everything we needed for our self-catered stay (no food/facilities nearby). The bed & bedding was very comfortable. Haven't slept that well in ages, it was so peaceful & tranquil. The location is very remote, as expected, with no mobile phone reception or internet, which was a welcome relief from the normal, never-ending demands of modern life. So many lovely walks and so much beauty to enjoy both on site or a short drive away. No TV, but who needs it with the best show on earth starting as soon as the sun goes down! Pademelons, Spotted Quolls, Brush Tailed Possums & Tassie Devils right outside your door, every night! Check-out isn't until 12 noon, a nod to Len's understanding that guests often spend most, if not all night, watching the nocturnal goings-on of local wildlife.
We will definitely be staying, again. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank E5664LOsandrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2021 via mobile

We loved our stay here. Len’s a huge source of knowledge and was very accommodating. It’s a beautiful sanctuary, with some lovely hikes nearby. We saw devils, spotted quolls, pademelons and possums every night. Really enjoyed our cabin which was extremely cosy and warm. Look forward to visiting again one day soon!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mikeandkeelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews