We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
23
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews taste onsen bus decoration access japan nagano dinner
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

What an amazing place! Warabino is the perfect place to stay and have relax. Everything is clean, tidy and lovely. Lovely as the two ladies who you can find there. The onsen are wonderful and comfortable (the private one and the others). If you go to Japan, you have to try this ryokan and you will directly be in a “Miyazaki anime”.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kiki_ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
わらび野 旅, 支配人 at Ryokan Warabino, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Thank you for coming to Ryokan Warabino.
Takayama village to which Warabino belongs is "The Most Beautiful Villages in Japan".
Two women staff, hot springs, meals are recommended by Ryokan Warabino.
Please come to see the scenery as in the movie of Japan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Warabino was absolutely the best stay we had during our trip in Japan. It was also the most realisitic japanese experience i could imagine. Food was excelent, widest range of dishes i have ever got! (13 courses during dinner). Everything about it was exciting, decoration, tastes, colors and .. amount! :)
With no doubt Warabino provided best service i've ever experienced. Except us there were only locals in the hotel, atmosphere was gread and relaxed. There is no problem with communication in English thanks to great guy Ando!
Hotels has few onsens including private one that you can enjoy yourself (soo wonderful)!
We had beautiful room in japanese style which was super clean and tidy.
Hotel helped us with transport and there was no problem with contact via mail or phone before we came there.
surrounding there is really nice. about one hour from Monkey Park but getting there is really easy.
Honestly - i highly recommend this place! :)

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank KasiaJowisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
わらび野 旅, 支配人 at Ryokan Warabino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you for coming to Warabino!
And thank you very much for praising us a lot.
We are happy to contribute to your stay.
We pride ourselves on cooking and hot springs.
I am happy that you enjoyed it!
I am not confident in communication in English.
I am trying to communicate by writing on paper or using a phone to communicate in English.
I am sorry that our English is bad.
We study English notation and talking.

I can help to go to the middle of the monkey park.
I will help as far as possible to public transportation (Suzaka station).

We were happy to meet you.
Please come and visit Japan again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Most authentic experience in Japan. We kept getting wowed. It's a gorgeous view and a proper Ryokan. The food!!! Ow god these people know how to impress a tourist. She cooked on coil just next to us and continuously stuffed us. One hard thing is to figure out which one is a decoration and which one is edible. Sooner or later you'll know that it's all edible. The stars at night embarrassed our city life in Dubai. The symphony of little frogs and the genuine neighbourhood made us extend our stay. From two hot springs the one at the end of corridor is nicer.

Imagine being captured by Samurais who make you feel you didn't know how to live, how to eat how to enjoy pursuing a simple task, not multi-tasking. My wife cried when we left. The 80 years old lady (who looks and acts 50) stood there waving continuously as if we were her grand children. There's not much supermarkets around. Include breakfast and dinner, you will thank me. They had even warmed up the mat under our feet at dinner. Their dedication to perfection was inspiring. We woke up everyday to a mountain view right in front of us.

They kept loading our room with fruits. One of the owners (an old lady with a bucket in hand) ran to my wife in the morning asking her to wait with sign language. She came back with her own shoes, socks and another with her own Japanese hat so she doesn't burn on our trekking day. Please I beg you, don't go if you're not a nice person. These people are just angels. Worth every penny.

Room Tip: Include breakfast & Dinner. Be on-time Take them flowers and cake! One night won't cut it. All rooms overlook the same jaw-dropping view.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

One of very best onsen, hot spring bath. The diner is so good, A lot of delicious food you can not finish. The room is clean and cozy. I would stay again.
The price is very reasonable and access is not too bad. If you take train, get off at Nagano and take another train to Sugaka city, then take local bus. Bus stop is in front of this ryokan. Hope you would enjoy if visited.

Room Tip: Standard room is good enough.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Kazuhiko U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Very nice ryokan under the snow with great view on the countryside, warm welcome, delicious dinner and charming onsen (indoor and outdoor onsen) ! Perfect place to relax after skiing and visiting the region.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank bxraymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
わらび野 旅, 支配人 at Ryokan Warabino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Thank you for your stay in "Warabino". Our ryokan is located in nostalgic Japanese countryside. Please come again whenever.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews