We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 123
USD 110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 107
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 299
USD 149
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dene Hotel(Chester)
USD 51
USD 45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
USD 88
Travelodge
View Deal
USD 137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,189)
Filter reviews
1,189 results
Traveller rating
770
258
87
46
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
770
258
87
46
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuewedding breakfastwedding receptiongroupon voucherjunior suitespa facilitieslovely hotelsecret escapessteam roomevening mealrelaxing breakfour poster bednight breakrelaxation roommy partnerno liftfollowing morning
Filter
Updating list...
490 - 495 of 1,189 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2015

We got married 10th September and literally had the most incredible day ever, we couldn't of asked for a better day. Rowton Hall is truly beautiful venue and perfect for intimate weddings. I was a bit anxious following a meeting with one member of staff a couple of days before the wedding, to go through final arrangements, she didn't particularly seem too interested in the day and any requests I had seemed to be declined or brushed to the side, however on the eve of the wedding and the day of the wedding we were blessed with two amazing master of ceremony's, Keith and Dominic, the pair of them bent over backwards to help, they did everything in their power to sort everything exactly how we wanted it, they made us feel like our wedding was the only wedding they'd ever had, this is exactly how a bride and groom should be made to feel on the day and I am so grateful to them both for all they did for us! Keith was even battling sickness and he still did his utmost!! We are truly grateful to ALL the staff who made the day possible, in particular Keith and Dominic!! Thank you Rowton!!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sarah498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2015

We are delighted that you had a perfect wedding day here at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa, thank you for all your lovely comments, partially about Keith and Dominic.

We look forward to welcoming you and your families back to Rowton Hall soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

My partner treated me to a short break away for our babymoon. The hotel is lovely, albeit a little tired in some areas. We stayed in the marmaduke suite for two nights on a group on deal. The room which was more than adequate for our needs - in the bathroom the shower screen did allow water to soak the floor though (something we forgot to mention upon checkout, a minor niggle, but would annoy some guests perhaps. Bed was comfy and the food in the restaurant was delicious (both breakfast and dinner). We did have to take our room key card to reception on 3 occasions as it wouldn't allow us entry to our room - this did become a little tiresome! Staff in the restaurant were either very knowledgeable and experienced, or obviously lacking - guessing new staff...? My partner treated me to a surprise pregnancy massage in the hotel spa. This was amazing and the therapist very professional - loved my treatment and was left feeling very relaxed. I would definitely recommend the spa.

We waited at the bar on out first night for several minutes with no sign of any bar staff, so gave up, had a wander around the hotel and then returned - to find again no bar staff. This was at about 7pm so unsure where they were? No such problem on our second night.

Overall, a lovely little hotel for a break in Chester. Some of the communal areas and certainly the room we stayed in could do with a spruce up and a bit of attention to detail from staff (toiletries were a bit mouldy - but we didn't use them anyway). That said, this doesn't detract from a nice comfortable stay and staff were friendly.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank travellerinessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2015

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you had a 'lovely break' for your babymoon.

Good luck and hopefully we will be seeing you and the new addition soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015

We stayed in a beautifully room with nice views of the gardens , after a swim in the spa, which was very relaxing , we then walked to the canal and strolled along the tow path .
Back at the hotel in the evening , we had Champagne in the bar and then had one of the best meals we have had in a while , in the colonial styled Langdale restaurant , the staff were very helpfull and attentive , I'm sure we'll be back soon ...

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your wedding anniversary.

Thank you for commenting 'had one of the best meals we have had in a while , in the colonial styled Langdale restaurant , the staff were very helpfull and attentive , I'm sure we'll be back soon ... '

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile

Glad we discovered this truly beautiful hotel. We took opportunity to book a suite (marmaduke) with the Groupon offer. It was a classy room, with a classier view, which I wish I'd spent longer in. We checked in early evening at dusk, so missed an opportunity to walk around grounds. We found the staff
Friendly, and hotel had a relaxed atmosphere. We chose to eat from bar menu whilst relaxing in the bar, after a busy days shopping at Cheshire Oaks.
I had read previous reviews, very few negative, which criticised 'dated' rooms. The hotel is around 236years old, far from dated, more stylish and sophisticated. We we certainly be staying again, to visit the spa and take in the grounds. Stay here! It's a must!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank barbie2k2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, General Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

What an amazing review and we are thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for commenting 'I had read previous reviews, very few negative, which criticised 'dated' rooms. The hotel is around 236years old, far from dated, more stylish and sophisticated. We we certainly be staying again, to visit the spa and take in the grounds. Stay here! It's a must!'

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2015

The hotel is easy to find off the M53 4/5 from Chester, the room we had No 40 was a suite complete with dressing area, safe, ironing board and iron, hair dryer, slippers and white towelling robes, bathroom complete with full shower and bath washbasin loo etc, King size bed colour TV and tea coffee and biscuits, the spa included a decent sized pool, Jaccuzi, steam room and Sauna, next door was a full sized gym, we went through Gruopon who were advertising a special deal, I night DBB for £119 all in Lovely hotel fabulous food excellent staff Go on spoil yourself

Room Tip: No 40 won't disappoint An old hotel very well maintained with loads of traditional furnishings and fittings
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cbb49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Thank you for your 5 star review and we are delighted that you had a great stay with us.

Thank you for your comments 'Lovely hotel fabulous food excellent staff Go on spoil yourself'

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews