We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A honeymoon Retreat!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gaios
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vellianitatika Retreat
Ranked #1 of 7 Gaios B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We were very fortunate to fin the Veliantatika Retreat, whilst searching online for a suitable destination for our honeymoon. Run by Pam & Keith, with their son Adam, this is truly a beautiful and relaxing setting.

From the moment we arrived, we knew that we were going to be treated so well by our hosts. Nothing is taken for granted and the attention to detail is just incredible, from the chalkboard greeting to the beautifully laid table for breakfast, which would have a different theme each day!

Pam & Keith couldn't do enough for us, making us feel so welcome throughout our stay, even being invited to Adam's Birthday celebrations! The Villa is beautifully restored, clearly a labour of love, that deserves rich success! Both inside and outside the Villa, are extremely comfortable and sympathetically decorated. Pam clearly has a good eye for interior and exterior design (or is that Keith!)

The Villa is a perfect retreat for anyone looking for a completely relaxing and pampered break in the most idyllic setting.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 95 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

The Olive Press is a beautiful oasis just a stone’s throw from Gaios. We stayed here for our honeymoon and chose it because we had enjoyed an amazing time here in September last year and couldn't wait to come back. The Olive Press is a stunning Summer house which has been restored exquisitely, with exposed beams, old stone and comes complete with a well-stocked kitchen, double bed, sofa beds that sleep four, a wood burning stove for those chillier evenings and a sweet back garden with table, chairs and sun-loungers where you can hear unwind listening to swallows and the occasional sound of a cockerel rustling about next door. The Olive Press is decorated in light tones that make the most of the beautiful Paxos sunshine but it’s the family behind it who make it somewhere unforgettable.

Nothing is too much trouble for Pam, Keith and Adam who quite simply love what they do and add lots of special touches to make your stay something truly special. From cooking us sumptuous breakfasts each morning (with Greek yoghurt, fresh fruit, croissants, scrambled eggs, bacon, tomatoes and mushrooms garnished with fresh sage from the garden), to arranging a cliff top picnic (complete with the best sherry trifle ever and a chilled bottle of champagne) so that we could watch the sun set over Paxos, we left The Olive Press relaxed, soothed and utterly pampered after our wedding.

Every day there were little surprises for us, such as a delicious hamper of Greek goodies on arrival and getting home one chilly evening to a roaring fire with lit candles everywhere! The Olive Press is perfectly located for exploring the island and lots of beautiful beaches can be reached easily on foot or by hiring a car or quad. If you are looking for a home away from home where you can unwind and relax on the beautiful island of Paxos, I’d highly recommend The Olive Press.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My fiancé and I had the pleasure of staying here for two nights during the third week of September. We only had seven days away in total (You need at least two weeks!) and due to misfortunate weather at the beginning of our trip we had our stay on Paxos reduced to just 5 nights. However we immediately felt at home and as soon as we entered the doors to Pam and Keith’s beautiful retreat, having already been completely looked after and reassured by Adam through weeks earlier when our planning started in the UK. Pam and Kieth’s warm, friendly and down to earth manner along with their most natural hospitality make you feel at home instantly.

Even with describing how wonderful our stay was at this beautiful restored in the finest way old villa, there is something so special about this place that is almost impossible to describe in words, you simply have to visit!

We stayed in the Athena room, which was just perfect. It was spacious with clean white walls, beautiful cooling floor tiles and a freshly decorated feel. It allowed us to feel a million miles away with not a care in the world, yet with all the home comforts and more. The smell of clean fresh crisp homely white linen, made getting into bed heavenly and so comfortable…almost impossible to get up. Fluffy towels in the bathroom with so many little added touches made everything so more splendid. Pretty bright purple/pink flowers and love heart sweets on the pillows are just some of the many little touches that Pam’s creativity enriches your stay with yet come so natural to her. You will find this from start to finish through the hotel. In our room we had hot drink making facilities, a fridge with bottled water and if you require further refreshments there is a gorgeous pink SMEG fridge downstairs with all the refreshing drinks you should require, including the best homemade ice lollys, made from fresh orange juice from the local oranges – YUM!! Just what is required when you need to feel a little refreshed. You can always dip into the plunge pool too, followed by a rest in the double hammock under the tree. (Yes it was for two people mark ;) ).

Keith shares a passion for cooking and I can honestly say the breakfast of, the most creamy yummy scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages with fresh bread collected daily from the local bakery and daily fresh orange juice from orange trees growing near by….is just tooooo good, Ooooh and not to forget the amazing Croissants.

I felt very peaceful and calm enabling myself to gather my thoughts here, with privacy whenever we wanted it but at the same time if you would like some social interaction you can have that too, with such good fun and interesting conversation with Pam and Kieth. We felt totally at home here, as though staying with people we had known as family. I think you can tell and the only regret we had was leaving! On our last night we joined with the other two guests that where staying and Kieth organized a BBQ which was fantastic, Mark took to the kitchen (The place he loves the most been a chef ) and Pam with her unique finishing touches, made the place even more pretty with candles and little touches than it already is. A great night was had by all and was a wonderful evening to finish on. Hopefully we will be back next year to seal our wedding and or honeymoon, and quite honestly can not wait! Need to book in advance as im sure once this secret is let out, the waiting list will be growing!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Woolfie0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

It really is quite hard to put into words the experience you have when you stay with Pam and Keith - but it's an experience you never forget. Unbound kindness, enthusiasm and generosity mixed in with oodles fun, humour and perfect attention to detail in every way.

We spent 2 glorious weeks at the Olive Press in September, a cleverly restored and refurbished self catering haven of tranquility. Pretty linens adorn the extremely comfortable 4 poster bed, cool colours wash the walls and flooring, lights gently seeps in through the windows and the sun bathes the cute alfresco dining area in the yard - as soon as you walk into the Olive Press,you know your 'home'. From the very first point of contact with Adam, we new we were on to a winner and we felt completely at ease with all the pre-holiday arrangements. We arrived in an amazing thunder/lightening storm and Keith was instrumental in getting us to the Olive Press before the heavens opened - a gourmet hamper (feta cheese, cold meats, olives, bread, milk, bottled water, wine, greek yoghurt, greek honey ...) was waiting for us as was a rather delicious bottle or prosecco .. a wonderful way to start our evening!

Hospitality and service is everything to this family - infact you don't feel like a guest - you are made to feel like long lost friends returning from a long trip - just wonderful! Pam and Keith have so much knowledge about the island and will always give you recommendations about where to go, what to see and where to eat (nothing is too much trouble ...) and with this knowledge in mind, we have seen some amazing sights, picturesque views and eaten the most amazing food.

If you stay at either the Olive Press or the Retreat Hotel, you will not be disappointed - both restored immaculately, gorgeous decor (full credit to you Pam ... a real eye for style ..), a very high and thoughtful standard of service, a friendly and warm reception ... we loved this years holiday, so much so that we have already booked the Olive Press next September and it will be just lovely to return as old friends from a long trip! So dear Pam, Keith and Adam (and Colin the 100+ tortoise!) - all the best to you and to your continued success ... see you all soon!

Room Tip: Superb self catering quality choose the Olive Press
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlowerPower45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My mum and I spent a week here at the end of August/beginning of September and we really had the most perfect, relaxing holiday ever, mainly due to Keith and Pam who are such warm, welcoming people you feel as though you've always known them! The rooms are absolutely gorgeous and all the thoughtful touches were so appreciated, they have restored their house with passion, taste and a huge respect to tradition, very rare to find. Breakfast was superb, under the olive trees and a beautifully laid table with different colours and flowers every morning - another of the lovely touches you won't find in any hotel! We hired a car for a couple of days but realised we were staying in the best place on the island so spent the rest of the week exploring on foot which was wonderful. We can't wait to go back next year and spend a week (or two!) with the other halves but I think we might have to plan early to stay here as word spreads!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UnDutchables64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaios
1.7 km away
Paxos Beach Hotel
Paxos Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gaios
178 reviews
6.2 km away
Torri e Merli Hotel
Torri e Merli Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lakka
75 reviews
0.2 km away
Paxos Club
Paxos Club
#2 of 3 in Gaios
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Olympia Paxos Apartment
5.3 km away
Glyfada Beach Villas
Glyfada Beach Villas
#1 of 2 in Loggos
109 reviews
1.3 km away
Margina Residence
Margina Residence
#2 of 7 in Gaios
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vellianitatika Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vellianitatika Retreat

Address: Gaios, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Paxos > Gaios
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gaios
Price Range: $194 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Guest House ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vellianitatika Retreat Paxos/Gaios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing