We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Firm Favourite”
Review of The Bulls Head

The Bulls Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 9 - USD 25
Cuisines: International, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Bull's Head is a classic pub restaurant situated on the Wilmslow Rd in Mottram St Andrew, just a few miles from neighbouring Prestbury, Wilmslow and Alderley Edge. With open fires, bookcases, good old furniture, rugs and oak floors, with a lighter touch of plenty of plants and flowers, the Bull's Head has returned to its roots as a traditional country pub. On entering, you'll be greeted by the bar which lies at the heart of the pub. From here you'll find a series of dining rooms wrapping around on different levels, some of which are intimate and cosy while others are more open and buzzy for those in a more gregarious mood.
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We must have visited this restaurant (to call it a pub would be to do it an injustice because the vast majority of customers have a meal) close on a dozen times, with family and friends, since it opened a few years ago and we can’t ever recall having a bad meal. We’ve had the odd niggle - service a bit on the slow side… bit draughty by the door etc. - but we have never been disappointed by the food.
It’s a large establishment, able to accommodate a lot of customers but its design cleverly creates a more intimate dining experience and it seldom feels crowded. The staff are friendly and attentive without being obtrusive. The imaginative menu, which is changed regularly, offers wide and interesting choices and few could be classed as ordinary. Creative variations to what otherwise might be construed as ‘ordinary’ dishes, lift them into a different league and more importantly they work, to generate an agreeable dining experience. The wine list caters for most palates but even the house wines are pleasing and well chosen. It reasonable to pay a little more for this kind of dining experience but in our view, it’s worth it.
The facility to book a table online is helpful.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mike and Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 256 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We recently ate here and were amazed by the quality and quantity of the menu.

The food was excellent all be it on the expensive side, worth the money though.

Looking forward to another visit.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank BigD87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

From the moment I made the booking to paying the bill I was treated to the best customer service I've had in a long time. We were sat in the conservatory upstairs and received a very unrushed but attentive service from Alice. The food was fresh and tasty and beautifully presented on the plate. The place was buzzing with lots of people and it's clear to see the reason why. Attractive,tasty food served at the right price. !!! Excellent!!!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank pinkieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Needed to celebrate my wife being three years clear of bowel cancer! We had passed this restaurant dozens of times as its on the route to the hospital. We watched it change from a carvery to an Italian restaurant and then witnessed the refurbishment to once again become the Bulls Head. Our previous visit sometime in the seventies was unspectacular and disappointing (if memory serves).
Sunday 24th July 2016 was the day for our celebration. We decided to dip our toes into a new experience and booked a table for two for lunch. The large car park was half full and we feared at first that we may have made a mistake. UNTIL we walked through the door. The atmosphere was "warm" and inviting. The décor was eye-catching and varied with log fires ready for the cooler months to come. The greeting form the bar staff was welcoming and friendly but not obtrusive. Our table was reserved and ready for us when we were ready, no rush.
We had a drink at the bar and the friendly staff recommended a locally produced lager of which we were offered a taster. We loved the way the rooms were separated into small and larger dining areas. Against our religion, but as per the trend these days, children were welcomed but, they were kept away form the bar area and didn't intrude on our space. The serving staff were as pleasantly friendly as the bar people. Nothing was too much trouble. The meal (we both ordered the Top-Side of beef, rare) perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. Large portions, a little over-facing for us oldies, but delicious none-the-less. Dessert and liqueur coffee perfectly served. Prices are very reasonable, just over forty six quid for food and drinks. Highly recommended, we booked for Christmas day without hesitation. And will call in for coffee and brunch when next on our way to Macclesfield or the hospital. Loved it !!!!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Just enjoyed a really good meal at the Bulls Head. Loads of choice on the menu at reasonable prices. Went for the charcuterie board which was excellent. Great quality food and struggled to finish it all. Will definitely be back.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bulls Head also viewed

 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Warrington, Cheshire
 
Prestbury, Macclesfield
 

Been to The Bulls Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing