We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
170
196
45
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
196
45
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canterbury travel log cabin northern lights gatwick airport magical experience day trip meeting santa travel company aurora zone buffet style frozen lake half board excited children snow suits and boots singing songs reindeer farm small kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2010

I travelled with Canterbury Travel on the Magical Interlude trip, we stayed at the Luostotunturi for three nights. We arrived late the first night due to de-icing problems at Gatwick airport. Our rep had arranged for food to be available when we got in at about 10 that night which was very good of them. The food on each night was buffet style, it was an eclectic mix of Finnish and world cuisine, with a small selection of childrens items. The food was fine but nothing exciting, and things from the dinner buffet strangely appeared at breakfast the next morning. The cranberry cocktail whose name I can't recall was lovely. An English girl sang whilst dinner was being partaken which didn't seem particularly appropriate but she had a lovely voice. There was a night club downstairs but we did not venture down so can't comment.

The hotel pool/sauna area was fabulous and playing in the jets of the pool was very inviting after a day of activity in the snow.

I only managed to work out how to use the drying cupboard on our last day but that would be very useful for skiers.

The tv reception was minimal so I did not watch the television much but would have been very helpful if it did as there was travel chaos in Britain at the time and would have liked to be kept up to date. I also had sporadic reception with my mobile phone. There was a little mini bar in the room and a hair dryer but no kettle (luckily I had taken a travel kettle)

The couple of shops close by had sufficient for our requirements.

The hotel is quite utilitarian but served the purpose for our requirements.

The hotel was unusually modern from the outside, and had lovely snowmen at the front door and an ice chapel was being finished in the car park

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Stayed for Five nights booked with Canterbury travels and was looked after the minute we got off the plane. Hotel was excellent..no complaints. Booked all our trips from the hotel and we told where we had to be and at what time.
Would recommend the Husky safari and the night time skiddoo.
I cannot rate this hotel highly enough will definitely go back again!

All our trips were well organised, from getting our snowsuits and boots (included in the holiday) to snow ballfighting with the elves and riding a sleigh being pulled by a raindeer.

Date of stay: December 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rich112Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

We stayed in Luosto from February 8th for one week. We booked through active adventure. and stayed in the log cabins. The only negative thing from the holiday was the actual tour company themselves. We had no contact with them after they took payment someone did meet us at the airport and take us to the hotel but he wasn't an employee of the company. There was no representative in the resort from the company but the hotel staff where really helpful and made up for that.

The Log cabins we stayed where attached to the Hotel Luostotunturi. The cabins are a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel and not directly behind. They are along the main road and then off a turning. There is no street lighting off the main road so torches are useful although there are lamps outside the cabins. We had the smallest cabin Jutamaja 6. A small double with a loft area with two mattresses to sleep on. You have to build your own fire everynight ( althought there is central heating on a timer). Wood is in a hut outside (prechopped). We couldn't find any fire starters in the local shops so had to make do with free newspapers etc. There is a fridge, freezer, electric cooker and hob, coffee machine and toaster so good amentinties if you have hired a car and can get to a decent supermarket

The cabins are self catering so we went half board. There is one shop in luosto and its more a tiny corner shop. Selfcatering is fine if you are coming from elsewhere in Finland in car and can stop at the nearest supermarket.

The food at the hotel breakfast is continental and there isn't much fresh food around, which bothered me more towards the end of the stay.

All the activities we went onwere well organised and thermal jump suits and snow boots are provided. The snowmobile safari to see the northern lights was good although they make you wear their boots and a couple of pairs of socks wouldn't go amiss as my feet where cold. We only did the amethyst mine and snow mobile safari. You can go out with huskis, reindeer and ice fishing.

We also took advantage of the skiiing there. Having never skiied before it was very good for beginners (we were there in the low season) There is a ski school which charges €40 for 50 mins private tuition and €70 as an hour for two. I thought that was good value. Ski passes where €25 low season and €29 high season. Ski hire I can't remember for the whole day but was €15 for an hour am pretty sure it was around €25-30 for the day. I am not sure how it would suit the more advanced skier there was definetly one black run and you can get the skibus to another resort 25KM away although we didn't.

There is also no cash point in luosto although credit and debit cards are accepted everywhere. It started at minus 18 and warmed up if that is the right word to minus 8. Take thermal underwear and ski pants. Jeans will not sufffice as we found out on our first day.

If we went again we would stay in the hotel and not the cabins as it is quite a walk and not one you would want to do with children in freezing temperatures.

Date of stay: February 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank fi1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights for a Winter experience. Our agent made the arrangements and we stayed full board in a twin room on the ground floor with balcony overlooking the rear of the hotel. The room was warm with instantly responding radiators. There was no room service during our stay though you could request a day service. The drying cupboard was very efficient. No toiletries were provided (soap dispensers on the wall) and there was no hospitality tray. No minbar in our room. The choice of TV channels was poor - only one English Channel though Finnish Channels show lots of English/American programmes with subtitles. There is a range of movies available for an extra charge including Adult films.
The room was simply furnished with high ceilings and the beds though basic were comfortable and we slept well. The Bathroom only had a shower.
Breakfast and Dinner were taken in a large dining room and were buffet style though as we were staying 3 nights we were entitled to a 'special' dinner which was served to us. Even here the choice was limited but very nice - especially the home made ice cream... We sampled reindeer for the first time - very deep, rich flavour. Sweets were not ambitious. The breakfast range was fine, but the hot food looked quite unappetising in presentation.
The indoor pool was a welcome relief from the cold outside. The steam room and sauna were fine. Use of all is free and you get a fresh towel if you ask.
Reception were friendly and the Dining Room Manager was really helpful.
The hotel is used for packages so lots of Japanese tour parties. Mealtimes are very strict - Dinner is between 6 and 8 and not a moment either side!!!

Date of stay: February 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

We have just returned from a week in Luosto staying at one of the log cabins linked to the Luosto Tunturi. The hotel and it's staff were amazing. Central to this small village, you're welcomed the minute you walk through the door. The staff could not be more helpful or obliging, meeting our every need as soon as it was made known to them. We stayed in one of the stunning cabins nestled in the forest about 1000m outside the village. It was wonderful to be so totally away from it all. We had booked the half board package which mean't we really worked our appetities up on our walk to the restaurant situated in the main hotel. The food was delicious and I've never had vegetables so good. There were a couple of choices per course, but all were cooked to the highest standard using many local ingredients. We will most definitely be back. We booked through Activities Abroad who gave us excellent advice (very personal way to book a holiday) and guided us to this holiday and hotel. We weren't disappointed. The whole holiday was the fantastic and we would recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: January 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lou060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews