We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Axum Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Mek'ele
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Axum Hotel is one of the best and with reasonable rates in Mekele. I stay there quite often for business reasons.
They have got two nice buildings, old and new one. The room rates are different for locals and foreigners which is common in Ethiopia.

You have got complimentary buffet breakfast and Airports shuttle.

They accept cash and VISA cards.

I wouldn't recommend dinner or Lunch in the hotel as you can find many good traditional restaurants around which can be cheaper and more lively.

Surely I will stay there again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Fissuh Hailu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Stay at Axum hotel for one night. Although I originally booked standard room was upgraded to deluxe because standards rooms were sold out. I appreciate the receptionists for kind and lively assistance. The room was so spacious. However, the bed sheets were extremely rough that I had to sleep on the comforter. Breakfast is poor to say the least. Next time if I ever have to stay there I have to bring my bed sheets and find breakfast somewhere else.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank teddy6336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

By the way Mekelle is an interesting city and the start of many fine tours around the Blue Nile and old churches.
Axum hotel is being enlarged, has a pool.
The price is reasonable and the food ok.
Breakfast might be just a bit more sophisticated.
No air-conditioning but then the nights are fairly cool.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Stayed in Axum for three weeks and overall realy enjoyed my stay. The rooms are very clean and well equiped and the staff are super nice. breakfast is quite good offering a few western food picks. The gym is realy well equipped and the bar and resturant offer decent food and good sitting places. Mostly the Internet worked well, only on the last few days it stopped working which made me leave the hotel early as it affected my work.
The place is pricy but it is negotiable if you stay for a long period.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Stayed for three days as part of business trip. Strongly recommend the newer building. The rooms are newer and more comfortable, and the Wifi access is much better. The older building has pleasant outdoor sitting area for eating and drinking, as well as restaurant, which was very good. Newer building has buffet breakfast; do not know about the older building. Overall the security was good and noise was minimal. Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Newer building is preferred. Received reduced rate because I was working with Mek'ele Univ.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mek'ele
0 km away
Planet Hotel
Planet Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mek'ele
139 reviews
0 km away
Atse Yohannes Hotel
Atse Yohannes Hotel
#2 of 7 in Mek'ele
60 reviews
0 km away
Moringa Hotel
Moringa Hotel
#4 of 7 in Mek'ele
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Sabean International Hotel
0 km away
Goha Hotel
Goha Hotel
#1 of 14 in Gonder
348 reviews
0 km away
Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela
Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela
#5 of 10 in Lalibela
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axum Hotel

Address: Kebele 16, Mek'ele, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Tigray Region > Mek'ele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Mek'ele
Price Range: $57 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 184
Also Known As:
Axum Hotel Ethiopia/Tigray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing