We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
11
41
58
35
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
41
58
35
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswell run hotelfitness centerolder buildingclean hotelbusy streetbusiness tripnice gardenwi fibusiness hotelmekelevisaperiod
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Stay at Axum hotel for one night. Although I originally booked standard room was upgraded to deluxe because standards rooms were sold out. I appreciate the receptionists for kind and lively assistance. The room was so spacious. However, the bed sheets were extremely rough that I had to sleep on the comforter. Breakfast is poor to say the least. Next time if I ever have to stay there I have to bring my bed sheets and find breakfast somewhere else.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank teddy6336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

By the way Mekelle is an interesting city and the start of many fine tours around the Blue Nile and old churches.
Axum hotel is being enlarged, has a pool.
The price is reasonable and the food ok.
Breakfast might be just a bit more sophisticated.
No air-conditioning but then the nights are fairly cool.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Stayed in Axum for three weeks and overall realy enjoyed my stay. The rooms are very clean and well equiped and the staff are super nice. breakfast is quite good offering a few western food picks. The gym is realy well equipped and the bar and resturant offer decent food and good sitting places. Mostly the Internet worked well, only on the last few days it stopped working which made me leave the hotel early as it affected my work.
The place is pricy but it is negotiable if you stay for a long period.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Stayed for three days as part of business trip. Strongly recommend the newer building. The rooms are newer and more comfortable, and the Wifi access is much better. The older building has pleasant outdoor sitting area for eating and drinking, as well as restaurant, which was very good. Newer building has buffet breakfast; do not know about the older building. Overall the security was good and noise was minimal. Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Newer building is preferred. Received reduced rate because I was working with Mek'ele Univ.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

After our clamber up and down the Gheralta mountains this morning, it was a joy to stand under the deluge shower in this hotel and wash away the dirt. It seemed like we'd come back to the real world with a very nice, clean modern room, lots of hot water, and all the usual facilities one would expect. Everything worked for a change, the staff were friendly, it seemed well run and is on the right side of town for an easy exit to the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank therapina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews