We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property
Nestled in The Dunes
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nestled in The Dunes
The Dunes Nestled in The Dunes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Nestled in The Dunes
The Dunes
Nestled in The Dunes
Hobbit House
View of Dunes from cottage
View from front door
Small lobby lounge with double sided wood burner
Main Lounge to relax, plenty of entertainment
Relaxing, cosy ample seating
Cosy Double Sided wood burner
Romantic Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Private and quiet Master bedroom
Fully equipped kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
bathroom
second bedroom double bed
Morning Horse Riding
Ballinesker Beach
Ballinesker Beach
Beach- sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Curracloe, County Wexford

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
courtlodg...
orpington
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 16 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My husband and I stayed in the delightful thatched cottage which was very well equipped with everything you could possibly need including items for the beach. The bed and bedding were very comfortable and the lounge area plenty of sofas. The kitchen also had everything you need. The location of the property was amazing, the most breathtaking beach was literally just over the dune. The cottage isn't far from a local shop on good roads and easily accessible to vist other parts of Wexford County. We were not blessed with good weather but the cottage has a good tv signal and plenty of board games/books available. Pleny of good bird watching too. The caretaker and owners looked after us well, ensuring that all was well during our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
Dear Chris and Stephen
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of The Dunes.
We are delighted that you had a good stay despite the weather.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future and thank you so much for the care you showed in looking after our little Thatched cottage
With Best Wishes
Dee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JT185
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Return visit to The Dunes”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Once again, we had a lovely stay at this beautiful cottage. Deirdre has added a veranda at the back of the garden which is an ideal spot to view the sunset over a glass or two of wine. All in all, a very relaxing visit and a great way to re-charge the batteries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2017
Hi John
Thanks for your lovely review of The Dunes and great to have you return.
We look forward to seeing you again for many years to come , perfect guests
All the best
Dee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryhurle...
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
“Excellant cottage”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great location to beach. well closed in for young children to play around house. Cottage had everything in it including toys for children, wet suits etc. Parking for cars. House was clean and tidy and had all amenities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the location to beach
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Hi Mary
Thanks you for great review and lovely comments on The Dunes. We are really pleased you enjoyed your week.
We would love to welcome you back again.
Best Wishes
Dee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
463mo66
Bismarck, Arkansas
1 review
“Amazing location!”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My husband and I enjoyed staying at the Dunes so much! It was a wonderful location to be so close to the beach and the cottage was so quaint. Mary, the caretaker, was so nice and helpful and it was great to meet Deirdre, the owner and her husband. We will be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Hi Mary
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of The Dunes. It was great to meet you and your partner and I hope you enjoyed your excursions around Wexford. I will give Mary your positive feedback thank you. We would love to welcome you back in the future. With Our Warmest Wishes
Dee & Jon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabiandjo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem in a heavenly setting”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I didn't know places like this existed.

The owners were very accommodating and helpful with local shopping and suitable activities for us all.

The spectacular beach is quite honestly the most beautiful I have seen in Europe. The boys progressed from body boarding to surfing thanks to the local surf school and I surprised myself by finding the water...wasn't that cold!... warmer than expected!

The cottage itself was warm, cosy and well-appointed - enough for us to cook a double roast lunch for the whole family and our visitors. There was plenty of space in the garden for the younger children to run around and for our guests to park. In the evening we could wander back onto the beach and have it to ourselves. Some evenings we also ate and drank at Hotel Curracloe, a short drive away which was filled with local families and so a lovely place to be.

This is a little gem in a heavenly setting which proved perfect for me, my teenage boys and their friends. We loved our stay here and would like to go again next year - or maybe even sooner!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beaches
Liked least: Wifi / internet - being improved as I understand
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Hi Fab
Thank you for your lovely review.
We also believe we are next to the most beautiful beach we have seen. So please the boys made the most of the local facilities and enjoyed the surfing. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
All the best
Dee & Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing