We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this dreadful hotel!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Curracloe

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Curracloe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Curracloe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Curracloe
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid this dreadful hotel!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

I cannot believe it took me so long to write this review, this hotel is terrible! The rooms are in need of a serious makeover, the Owners need to visit other hotels and stop assuming they will get the business. Staff were limited so good luck finding them. Breakfast was dreadful, a few ceral bowls and when my husband asked for poached eggs, he got microwave cold greasy eggs. My breakfast was cold which was unacceptable considering there was hardly anybody else in the breakfast room. The only positive thing I can say is that the bar is good craic at weekends. It is the only hotel in the area but I can assure you there are better B&B's close by. Please don't get me wrong, we have travelled in B&Bs (basic, not fancy) and hotels in Ireland and around Europe but this was the worse I have seen and would never never go back! I would rather sleep in my car.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank cookiesparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    37
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
56
29
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

I have to let everyone know this is the best family run hotel I have stayed in Ireland,I have travelled all over Ireland on weekend breaks in 4* and 3* hotels and haven't enjoyed myself as much as in the Curracloe Hotel .I go there with family and friends at least twice a year for the last 4 years,the staff are very friendly,rooms are really nice with tea /coffee and biscuits.Most of all... the food is next to none.. home made burgers delicious steaks and currys.The craic in the bar at the weekends with the locals is great.
Michael Moran

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikejmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2007

We 'stumbled' upon this hotel on our way back from a holiday in Wexford. We decided (as it was such a nice day) to go home via Curracloe as we'd heard it had a good beach. What a delight!
The beach is HUGE. Part of it is next to Ravenswood-beautiful natural woodland/forest walk where we saw copious dragonflies and butterflies and to top it all, a red squirrel !!(quite rare).
We stopped for lunch at hotel and were so impressed by the food and staff and location, we booked 1 night there and then.
There is a small playground for children (swings & slide) and a small garden at back. There are kids and family activities organised throughout July and August (day & evening).
There is a 'tavern' attached to hotel with TV screen and pool table. There are seats/tables outside front of hotel.
There is a good sized restaurant, a seated lobby area and a seated conservatory area.
The rooms aren't the Ritz, BUT they have tea/cofffe making faciities, extra pillow, blanket etc, phone & hairdryer. Our room had no bath. Just a shower BUT a little table & 2 chairs and lovely view of hills beside us.
It was VERY PEACEFUL..
I could see it get noisy at Weekends though. We stayed midweek .So if you're like us and want to 'escape' the noise etc, you couldn't do better than this hotel for location & hospitality.
YOU WILL NEED A CAR THOUGH!

  • Liked — Food, Friendly Staff, proximity to Beach
  • Disliked — Attic rooms quite hot & could be noisy at Weekends
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lamEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2007

This is a small family run hotel close to Curracloe Beach, the Wexford Slobs and the Raven Nature Reserves. The rooms were clean, the staff very friendly and helpful, the breakfasts excellent and plentiful, and the restaurant's evening meals were hearty and fairly priced. Our room on the first floor overlooked the front of the building and out over the Slobs to Wexford Harbor in the distance. The pub attached to the restaurant, however, has live music on Friday and Saturday nights and it can get quite noisy in the parking lot (and the hallways if the pub-goers stary overnight) in the early morning hours. Weekday nights seem to be much quieter.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Weekend late night noise
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J&JHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Curracloe
6.8 km away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Wexford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
10.7 km away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
8.8 km away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 6 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
16.5 km away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
15.0 km away
Upton Court Hotel and Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Curracloe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Curracloe

Property: Hotel Curracloe
Address: Ballaghblake, Curracloe, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Curracloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Curracloe
Price range (per night): $113
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Curracloe is a family run establishment in the very heart of the South East. Situated just minutes away from the world famous Blue Flag Curracloe Beach, our hotel offers rest, relaxation and a homely atmosphere to young and old alike. Nestled in the heart of Curracloe Village, you will find a host of amenities on your doorstep. Wexford Town's hustling and bustling Main Street is a mere 5 minute car journey away and is sure to satisfy both the thriftiest and trendiest of shoppers. Beautiful Park Land and the North Slob Wildlife reserve are sure to capture the heart of even the most well travelled nature lover, six award winning golf courses located less than twenty minutes away will challenge and invigorate your game, a host of museums, castles and The Irish National Heritage Park for the history buffs amongst us, as well as nightlife to rival that of any big city for those who like to dance the night away. For the lovers of the arts you will find a host of galleries, libraries and the annual Wexford Festival Opera Festival. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing