We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional self catering cottages”
other travellers have booked this property
Shrek and Bertie our pet donkeys, looking for attention and maybe some food from our visitors
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shrek and Bertie our pet donkeys, looking for attention and maybe some food from our visitors
Mill Farm Cottages - view from Mill House 1851 watermill at Mill Farm, grinding corn for farmers up to 1998, lovingly preserved by the owners
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Shrek and Bertie our pet donkeys, looking for attention and maybe some food from our visitors
Mill Farm Cottages - view from Mill House
1851 watermill at Mill Farm, grinding corn for farmers up to 1998, lovingly preserved by the owners
FERN COTTAGE - enclosed garden and play area for smaller children adjacent to Fern Cottage
Bedroom one of two upstairs bedrooms
Sitting room with open fire - a warm fire welcomes our guests on the cooler evenings.
Bedroom two of two upstairs:  Has a double bed and a single bed
Family bathroom with shower over the bath.
Downstairs bedroom, looks over the garden at the rear of the cottage; shower ensuite;
Country Life - a beautiful day for the hunt on Mill Farm and in Foulkesmill
The 'Little Sea' at Barrystown, near Wellingtonbridge
Shrek (the white donkey) with her baby foal, Rosie, born Aug 2011, taking a walk
Best Friends stick together, the animals love all the attention given to them by the guests
A view of the cottages and the adjacent paddock from Mill House
Bertie, the proud Dad walking with Shrek, heading for some shade
Guests can opt for a family barbecue and dine outside in the warmer weather
Walking on Duncannon Beach January time - even in winter the beaches are appealing
For the hotter days guests can choose from one of the many mature trees to take shade from the sun
Images of Fern Cottage and neighbouring Brook Cottage - two of three holiday lets at Mill Farm
The kitchen garden at Mill House with farm cat sitting on kitchen windowsill
Ferry crossing at Ballyhack Fishing village (20 minutes from Fern Cottage) to Dunmore East/Waterford
Hookie - hump backed whale off Hook Lighthouse - the whales came back again Jan 13
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Foulksmills, County Wexford

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
RustyNail...
Southampton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional self catering cottages”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This was our first trip to Ireland, and it certainly won't be our last thanks to Catherine and Austin at Mill Farm. After arriving on a cold evening at the beginning of January, we were welcomed by a roaring open fire, milk in the fridge, chocolate biscuits, and the most charming and tastefully decorated cottage we have ever stayed in - exactly what we needed after a long journey and busy Christmas. Our dogs were welcome too, and they loved the fire as much as we did! The cottages were immaculately clean and had everything you needed and more. The mill has been in Austen's family since it was built and they are currently turning the main house into a wonderful bed and breakfast. With their warm friendly service and attention to detail , we're sure it will be a hit. We would highly recommend Mill Farm Cottages and hope to visit again soon

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Austin and I loved having you both stay and really glad that you enjoyed the cottage, your holiday and that you want home re-energised. We would love to have you back and look forward to your return visit already.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
potvolsom...
Caledon, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best self-catering cottage in Ireland”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My wife, four year old daughter and I stayed at Austin and Catherine Redmond's charming Rose Cottage for an entire glorious week.
We were so impressed, not only with the cottage, which was clean, neat and warm with a fire lit in the hearth when we arrived, but also with our hosts' hospitality. They left, to our delight, a liter of fresh milk in the fridge (to use with the coffee and tea in the cupboard) and a wonderful chocolate cake in the kitchen for our enjoyment.
Even the smallest detail was attended to, like Austin bringing their four donkeys around to the cottage' s well-equipped play area and supplying kindling to light the next morning's fire. The beds were warm and came equipped with electric blankets and down duvets.
It is such a beautiful surrounding area in Foulkesmills and each night we went to bed with the sound of a tranquil stream(which used to power the mill of Mill Farm) trickling down its course.
The day before our departure we were surprised to find a "Frozen" bag of treats hanging on the front door, for our daughter to take with her the rest of our trip.
We have never experienced friendliness and hospitality like this before, which makes this simply The Best Cottage in Ireland!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2014
What a wonderful review - thank you so much. We were thrilled to have you come to stay at Mill Farm. Really glad that you liked the cottage and the open fire. The delight on your little girl's face when the donkeys came round made us all smile. Hope you equally enjoyed your week in the west of Ireland. Best wishes from Mill Farm and Ireland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hisdocon
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“excellent place for a total unwind”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Lovely place as described in their ad , peaceful and very comfortable and clean accommodation. The cottages are very well appointed for adults and children alike. There are lots of activities for children including a rabbit and donkeys. Our dog was delighted with his holiday - lots of space for quiet walks and nearby beaches that allow dogs. Could not say enough about the owners - very welcoming and friendly. We will be back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tranquility
Liked least: lack of amenities in the village
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday, we are really glad that you both,and of course Dev too, enjoyed your stay and also got to experience the lovely beaches that County Wexford has to offer. We would be delighted to have you make a return trip next time you want a relaxing break. All the best - Austin & Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresvil...
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THis was the perfect place for us, comfortable, clean, peaceful and the owners are the nicest folks ever.”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

WE arrived at our cottage after a long trip across the ocean and a long day driving and touring. A fire laid in the hearth and a friendly greeting welcomed us to a comfortable, cozy place to unwind. The rooming arrangements were prefect for our odd assortment of extended family members and having a sitting room and kitchen made for comfortable gathering. The furnishings were very well kept, clean and made us feel quite spoiled. The owners dropped by to ensure all our needs were met and questions answered. Beds were firm, appliances functioned perfectly and the fire was a touch of comfort that was perfect. We all agreed this was the peaceful place we had hoped for from which to begin our weeks of touring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the owners!
Liked least: not enough time to spend there
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2013
We are really glad that you and your friends found the cottage relaxing and a good place to unwind following your long trip to Ireland. We loved having you stay and meeting everyone. Austin and I really appreciate your taking the time to review your holiday at Mill Farm. Thank you again. Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L
Mooresville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I'm not Joseph but another person in the booking party (Jamie Ledford) and I must say that this was an excellent place to stay! Neat & clean, great beds, delightful owners who even brought their dog over for me to pat (alas, I was still at the pub when this happened). I will definately book here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2013
Jamie, thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we would be delighted to have you back to stay and next time we'll make sure you get to meet 'Beans'. Best wishes - Austin & Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing