We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
25
0
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
0
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We'd a great overnight stay in Ballyboy House. The house is fantastic, the furniture is eclectic and the welcome was warm. We particularly enjoyed wandering through the beautiful ash forests, mucking about in the little boat on the pond and chatting to both John and Breeda. Thanks also for a great breakfast, which set us up for a walk on the Knockmealdowns. Ballyboy House was a great find in a beautiful part of Ireland. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenakedtourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Ballyboy House is a truly special and unique B and B. Breda and John are excellent hosts. When we arrived we were shown into a wonderful room with so many interesting curios then served tea and cake by a toasty woodburner. Breda informed us we could have the use of this room and the games room during our stay. Our room had a beautiful four poster bed with views of the garden and the mountains beyond. We went for a walk through the extensive grounds which took us round by a river walk and we met some very happy looking hens on the way back.. Breakfast was scrambled eggs from the happy hens which was some of the best I have ever tasted accompanied with excellent bacon and home baked bread. Ballyboy House is a place apart from most, made extra special by the warm hospitality we received from our hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We arrived at Ballyboy house from Perth Western Australia for a week long stay in July 2016. The place is simply beautiful surround by fabulous gardens. The host Breeda could not do enough for us . Our stay here was most enjoyable and as far as we are concerned the best guest house we have ever had the pleasure to spend time in

Room Tip: Surrounded by views of mountains and gardens
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomashyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

This was a gem of a find, the house and settings are magnificent. The food was delicious and plenty of choice. The ambience was most welcoming and the icing on the cake was most definitely Breeda, she is absolutely fabulous, being a hotelier previously myself I know what it takes to make a successful business and Breeda certainly does that. Loved every minute of my stay, thank you Breeda you are an amazing person xxx

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rosanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

We chose to drive here on the back roads and came across an old cementry, beautiful narrow lanes and then we pull into a long driveway that just took our breath away. The house is beautiful and old. Breeda was such a wonderful host,she hreated us and offered tea in the c drawing room with cake. We wandered the grounds and found some very special places. The room was large with an old 4 poster bed and onsuite. Cooked English Breakfast as well. Highly recommend stoping here. Would of stayed longer if we could.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews