We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ballymahon, County Longford

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Langan513
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 6 January 2018 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We actually came in 2015 and unforgivable of me not to have posted before I know but recently I just want to say your beautiful, large, tastefully furnished and decorated cottage bursting with character made us fall in love with Ireland so much we have bought a small property there. Wonderful views watching dawn rise from the master bedroom whilst surrounded by nature with visits from the friendly neighbouring cat could not be beaten. You have a enviable property in an excellent spot close to the tranquil Royal Canal.....paradise indeed. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2018
Thanks so much Jean for your lovely review Im glad to hear of your purchase enjoy every minute of it
Regards
Maeve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray123420...
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage in the heart of Ireland”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic 8 days in Ireland. The cottage was in a great location for traveling around to all the sights. The cottage had everything we needed for a relaxing vacation. We also grew very fond of our neighbors,( Four of the cutest cows ever.) We loved the rustic features of this cottage. It added to the feeling that we were experiencing the real rural Ireland. Thank you to Maeve for keeping in touch with us all during our trip. All in all we loved our time in the cottage and in Ireland. We hope to return to both in the very near future

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
Great having you .Your very kind to take time to write this lovely review

Regards
Maeve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for writing your detailed review
I was so delighted with your news I have had honeymooners but never a situation like your . I ve told lots of people your lovely story
Regards
Maeve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Plant City, Florida
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 May 2017
Thanks Debbie for your very detailed account ,I corresponded with you on 15 occasions over the 2 week period its a pity you did not mention your concerns as they could have been addressed easily while you were on your travels each day and not interfered with your time there. However the accommodation is very cheap as you have pointed out less that 10e a day per person which is cheaper than hostile accommodation . It is also self catering where washing machine facilities mean that towels can be laundered as required. Unfortunately with those rates I cannot offer 5 star accommodation. Many American visitors often find newly built accommodation with modern interiors more appealing. The cottage being old has many recycled features some well over 100 years old , the Belfast sink with its old taps as you have mentioned these add the very character that many visitors enjoy . It is set in beautiful countryside were spiders form part of the ecosystem and unfortunately are impossible to get rid of..Lastly the sandwich maker was left by the previous guest so I have thrown it out with the coffee maker .We will hopefully be able to address all your concerns now .Thank you so much for the recommendation to friends.
Regards
Maeve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
aine13201...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely spacious cottage with plenty of character”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Hi Maeve, sorry it has taken me so long to write a review but thank you so much for the wonderful hospitality in March. It was a perfect place to stay the night before my wedding. We had loads of space for my bridesmaids & beautiful pictures in the morning.
Wish we could of stayed longer. Would highly recommend it. Thanks! Aine,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2016
Thanks Aine
Im glad you enjoyed your visit
Hopefully we will see you again some time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing