We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect venue, perfect staff, perfect wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moyvalley
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“perfect venue, perfect staff, perfect wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

if you are looking for a magical venue with incredible food perfect surroundingsand amazing staff that know how to make you and your guests feel special then Moyvalley is the place for you to have your wedding.
We had our civil wedding there in August in the stone house and our reception for 90 guests in Balyna house. Our guests stayed in the hotel and our family in Balyna house. They are right beside each other which means that there is no travelling involved for guests so all can relax and enjoy the stunning surroundings.
Balyna House is amazing, it will take your breath away and it has a suprise in the basement that all your guests will love. The dining room is transformed by the staff with really nice table settings and the food was excelent. All the staff, John Lana Thresa Christine Michelle Barry the night porter and all the rest really care about you and will make you feel very special indeed. It feels like a family operation and nothing is any trouble for the staff. They are there when you need them but not intrusive and really made our time there special. Go see it, you will fall in love with the place, just as we did and all our guests too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    63
    37
    19
    16
See reviews for
90
137
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

4 girls and I stayed in one of the cottages last Saturday night and we couldn't rate it highly enough !! To be honest I was a bit aprehensive about staying in the cottage because of other reviews I read in here last week, but what I read couldn't actually be further from what we encountered. The cottage was SPOTLESS, the beds were COMFY, the staff were EXTREMELY friendly AND helpful (especially Martha who came and gave us all manicures and pedicures in the comfort of the cottage, whilst lounging in our PJ's !!!!!). We had a lovely dinner that night (again in the cottage) and ate a warm and hearty breakfast the following morning !!!! 5 stars for this hotel - NO DOUBT ABOUT IT !!!!! :o)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Review16thJuly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

When we got to the hotel we thought it looked lovely. When we went to check in the woman was nice and she told us that we were up graded to a deluxe cottage. We were trilled and when we went over to the cottage we thought it was lovely on first impression. As we looked around you could see that the cottage was not used in a long time. There were cob webs and the kitchen was not clean. It was also very cold. There was also a very musty smell in the cottage which made my partner sick. The next day we looked around the bedrooms and there were dead flies around. We were moved to the hotel and given a room there which was ok. But still very cold. I would never stay in this hotel again really was a horrible stay.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lizzy_Murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

My wife and I stayed two night recently and received a great Golf and stay deal for the two nights.Though the hotel was very quiet on the first night,the staff, and in particular Teresa the Manager,could not have done more.The room fitout was of a very high standard with beautiful stiff cotton bedlinen and lovely bathroom fittings. Breakfasts on both days were excellent. We had an after golf lunch in the clubhouse and that also was very good and what value. 10 euro for the burger, fries and a pint
speaking of Golf we had a game on both the New forest course which was good and also played on the Darren Clarke Championship course which was really excellent. The fairways and greens were in great condition and the course layout was very interesting.The practice facilites were top rate.However it was the clubhouse itself that really impressed.Clearly substantial expense was put into the clubhouse with the standard of fittings in the changing rooms and bar of the highest level.
Overall we had a wonderful two days and I cannor recommend it more.Sure there were a few areas that could be better like the variety of food available when the hotel is quiet , but for the value that our stay represented, I will allow them these few areas for improvement. Will I be bqck again?. You bet I will.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shadow69cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

We booked for one night and liked it so much we stay for another night. We wanted a break from the city which allowed us to take our little dog. It took some searching, i only came across this place by accident. I can't say how pleased i am that i found it, as i will be going back. We had a selfcatering cottage on the grounds of this estate right next to the hotel. The cottage was perfect. Stylish and very clean, loved the kitchen, 2 double rooms with comfie beds. Our 4year old son and our dog loved it too! There is only one of the cottages that is pet friendly as it has tiles on the ground floor.
There isn't much in terms what we expect from hotels. no spa, or swimming pool ect. There is a Golf course here, which we didn't use.We loved not having to do much, We took a walk on the long treelined avenue twice a day, played ball in the courtyard and generally chilled out. We did go for a trip to the kildare village and picked up some bargains but got lost a little on the drive. Our Breakfast was included which was very nice. The Bar food was fine, well priced. The second night i had seabass in the waterways resturant and it was very good! There was a wedding there on the friday and what an amazing setting for the photos!. Only downside is we found the cottage a little cold. But we didn't bother to request the heating on! The staff were lovely, very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisa_crehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyvalley
5.8 km away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
23.5 km away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
25.9 km away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
30.9 km away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
23.5 km away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Balyna Estate | enroute on R148 about 7km outside Enfield, Moyvalley, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Moyvalley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moyvalley
Price range (per night): $76 - $475
Hotel Class:4 star — Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing