We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Keep Driving” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Helensvale
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Keep Driving”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We visited the Gold Coast Holiday Park for one night on New Years Day. Unfortunately, we will not be going back. We paid 50 dollars for a powered site during the holiday period - a higher rate than we paid at any caravan park during an entire six week trip from Port Douglas to Melbourne. We arrived in the evening after a day at the theme parks and discovered that we had been given a site on a hill. We attempted to position our camper trailer to no avail and called the managers, Tracy and Wayne. They came to meet us and we found them to be extremely condescending and patronising. We asked whether we could move to another section of the park only to be told that this area was a swamp. They suggested that we put the trailer towards the back of the site, totally disregarding the fact that the entire area was on a slope. Management could not have been any less sympathetic towards the situation and we found them to be extremely dismissive of the problem.

They eventually found us a powered site across the other side of the swamp and we were finally able to set up our trailer. The park did not redeem itself when we visited the bathroom facilities, as they were dirty and the floors were wet, as the showers had poor drainage.

Overall, this holiday park is extremely overpriced for the facilities available. Management can be rude and dismissive to guests despite the fact they are charging a lot of money for campsites on hilly ground next to a swamp. Great location near the highway in the 'heart of the Gold Coast,' but we would recommend that you keep driving.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCHP, Owner at Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thanks for your valued feedback.
It’s always disappointing to hear of an unhappy camper and we apologise that the short time you spent with us wasn’t the great holiday that we try to provide.
Following your review we held a meeting with each member of staff that you had contact with and have uncovered some areas for improvement.
I now understand that the site that you were allocated was not well enough marked and this led to some misunderstanding. Part of the problem seems to be the combination of the lateness of set up, the lack of power leads and the extraordinary amount of rain we received on that day.
In hindsight, we should have informed you that we had just had 2 days of rain and that we were very limited in our choice of sites due to the busy Xmas season. In trying to accommodate your needs we have ended up with an unhappy customer, which was never our intention.
Its disappointing to hear that you were not happy with the amenities block. We have a dedicated team of cleaners who do an excellent job and of whom we are very proud. Our guests tell us that they find it inconvenient to have the amenities closed when they would like to take an evening shower. Following your comments we will review the best way to deal with this.
Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    116
    33
    13
    14
See reviews for
261
77
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed in one of the new villas. Very impressed - flat screen tv, bunk beds for the kids, lovely furnishings and fittings. The pool complex is completely unexpected and would not be out of place in a five star resort including a big waterslide for the kids. It's very handy to the theme parks. Only downside was I didn't stay long enough. I highly reccomend and will return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mng75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Absolutely loved the Gold Coast Tourist Park. We stayed for 4 days in our motor home. The facilities were very clean, the grounds beautiful and the kids loved the pool and slide and the jumping pillow. So close to the theme parks! No waiting around for buses in huge queues! We also thought the complimentary icy poles, free sausage sizzles and pancakes were a perfect touch. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 600cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed for a period of 13 days over Christmas 2011 & New Year 2012. The new resort style pool area is absolutely beautiful with water slide, baby pool, heated spa & gorgeous seating areas. The jumping pillow is a must as well along with the BMX bike track, nature walks, activities etc. Our boys (15 & 7) want to go nowhere else to holiday. We only live in Brisbane but with all the wonderful friendly staff, you couldn't want for more! Managers Wayne & Tracie go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your holiday with their friendly personalities :) We had free pancake breakfasts every Sunday, free sausage sizzle every Tuesday night & free iceblocks every afternoon. Our boys had an absolute ball & we never left the park except to go to the shops.
With the theme parks so close by, there is no better family orientated place to stay. It is the perfect place for close by holidays as well as far away travel stops/holidays. Great for business trips/social outings etc.
You couldn't ask for more....go on book in & see for yourselves-you will be surprised!! (it's very hard to put it all into words on here)
We have already booked in for Easter this year & we can't wait for the surprises that will be there for the Easter holiday activities & not to mention updates on the parks facilities etc. :)

Room Tip: Ensuite sites are just fabulous & very exquisite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megamum26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griffith, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Had a fantastic one week stay in our van over the New Year period. Staff were fantastic, very helpful and amazingly friendly. Facilities very clean and the new pool and slide ... Wonderful. Will be even better when the new shop etc opens next to the pool. Would return in a heartbeat. My two daughters loved the activities planned for kids. Thank you for a great holiday!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helensvale
16.2 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
18.6 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
13.2 km away
RACV Royal Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
NRMA Treasure Island Resort & Holiday Park
20.6 km away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 11 in Mermaid Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
6.6 km away
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel

Property: Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel
Address: 66-86 Siganto Drive, Helensvale, Gold Coast, Queensland 4212, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Helensvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Helensvale
Price range (per night): $136 - $186
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Gold Coast Holiday Park is the nearest caravan park to the Gold Coast Theme Parks with family and pet friendly accommodation located across the road from Movie World, Wet'n'Wild, Outback Spectacular & only 2 minutes' drive from Dream World & White Water World. It's the perfect place to base yourself when exploring the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel Helensvale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing