We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous place for a great getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property
The original fireplace, desks, roll books, and mod cons,combine old and new in the Old Schoolhouse.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The original fireplace, desks, roll books, and mod cons,combine old and new in the Old Schoolhouse.
The Old Schoolhouse Carrickfinn 
Carrickfinn's blue flag beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The original fireplace, desks, roll books, and mod cons,combine old and new in the Old Schoolhouse.
The Old Schoolhouse Carrickfinn
Carrickfinn's blue flag beach
Sun shining in on the dining area of the Old Schoolhouse
Mezzanine has a little library of books, old and new and an old school desk.
Ireland's most iconic mountain, Mt. Errigal is climbed throughout the  year.
One of the 3 bedrooms (2 ensuite) in the Old Schoolhouse.
Artefacts include original fireplace, old school desks, pages from roll books, and school books.
Carrickfinn Boat Strand is ideal for small children, sheltered and safe.
Cruit Island golf course, other nearby courses are Gweedore, Dunfanaghy and Portnoo
Glenveagh Castle and National Park.
Boat trips available  to Aranmore and Tory islands.
West Donegal  is home to world famous musicians, Enya, Clannad, Altan and Daniel O Donnell
This photo of a snow covered Mt. Errigal was taken from  Carrickfinn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Annagry, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FionaClai...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous place for a great getaway!”
Reviewed 2 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Just spent the weekend in the Old Schoolhouse and can not recommend this place enough. Cahill and Elma were incredibly helpful with local knowledge and basically anything we needed. The house has everything you need to give it that home from home experience. The house was spotless when we arrived which was great. We were very lucky with the weather which always makes a Donegal beach the best place in the world to be. Just fantastic!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2018
Many thanks for your kind words. It was lovely meeting you all and hope that you will visit another time.
Best wishes
Cathal & Elma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen K
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWAY FROM IT ALL IN DONEGAL”
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Location was perfect as literally five minutes from Donegal Airport (Carrickfinn).

My partner is based in County Fermanagh but I flew in from Scotland (Aer Lingus flight from Glasgow to Carrickfinn)

There are local shops as well as plenty of garages in and around Annagry if you need to stock up.

We had a party of two adults and one dog (Golden Retriever) and stayed for a week. Although there are numerous restaurants nearby we had all our meals at the cottage as we spent most days travelling and walking the dog.

The beaches are tremendous and plentiful and distances to attractions within Donegal are easily manageable in a day. The Cottage is spotless and offers all amenities you would expect and the owners Elma & Cathal were extremely helpful and friendly and loved the dog!!

This is a get away from it all holiday. If you need daily contact with the outside world through the internet then this is not the place. I took advantage of the free wi fi at the airport on one occasion but that was it. Had the mobiles with us but hardly used them. Just soaked up the hospitality and the rugged scenery.

You feel the stress draining from you when you arrive in this location. Everything is so laid back and the pace is a whole lot slower than our daily grind.

Would thoroughly recommend the Cottage as well as the area and the flight was amazing. Carrickfinn was recently voted as the 2nd most scenic airport in the WORLD. It is easy to see why.

Only one place to avoid - we done the Distillery Tour of the Silkie Whiskey at Carrick. Exremely disappointing. The product is not made there and you CANNOT taste the Whiskey or the Gin onsite as it is against the Law. They also charged us 5 Euros per person for the tour.

We ended up buying a bottle at the Waterfront Hotel in Dungloe for 30 Euros as it is the House Whiskey there. This is the best price as it is dearer in the shops.

So there you have it. An almost perfect holiday apart from the weather!!

But as we all know you don't come to Ireland for sunshine in October.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2017
A very big thank you Stephen & Ann for your review, it is very much appreciated. We hope that, when you need a getaway break sometime in the future, you will return.
Kind regards
Cathal & Elma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R
County Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Really comfortable house and a great place to stay for our week in Donegal, perfect for us and our dogs. Carrickfinn is a beautiful area with some stunning beaches.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2017
Thank you David for your review. It was lovely meeting you, Ann and your parents during your stay in The Old Schoolhouse. Carrickfinn and West Donegal area has breath taking scenery and hopefully you will come and enjoy it another time. Kind regards Cathal & Elma.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C
1 review
“The perfect escape from modern distractions”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We were blessed with fantastic weather, friendly locals and outstanding hosts. The beach is a short walk away, where you are met with the warm view of soft golden sands. Mount Errigal and Glenveagh National Park are within a half hour drive and the choice of restaurants around the Wild Atlantic Way offer lots on their menu. You are right beside Donegal Airport, so if you really need to get a wifi connection to the outside world, you can drop in for a coffee, but most restaurants have a suitable connection. The Schoolhouse is a perfect abode with old style twist, well maintained, spacious, clean and with that touch of class. After an adventurous day, the house and fire will welcome you home, as you leave your boots at the door. I wanted the perfect escape from technology, so the family could connect and enjoy the great outdoors of Donegal. In Carrickfinn, I found it and found much more.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for this review Jason. It was lovely meeting you and your family. You were ideal guests and we will welcome you back at any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gannyr
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Relaxing time after Christmas”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Had a superb 5 night stay in this lovely old cottage over the new year. My husband's brother and wife from Scotland accompanied us and they were blown away with the cottage and the area. We have stayed before and each time find the whole experience excellent Cathal and Elma are great hosts and cottage is spotless we will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing