We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jan V

Worst nightmare hotel

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Aug 2013via mobile
After 2 weeks tracelling threw the North of Thailand and a grat experience, we decided to rest out at the beach in Pkuket. We booked a hotel online, this one, and expected a chill out of 3 days at a nice beach with some good thai food. But we ended up in this "resort" managed bu russians. Old rooms with noisy airconditioning and salty seawater in de bathroom. The baddest thaifood, and expensive! The drinks were also very expensive for thaistandards. A small Singha = 80 bath... In a can, not even bottles. Constantly russian housemusic through the speakers, because it's full of russians... We booked 3 nights but the second night my girlfriend started vomitting and had to camp on the toilet. Because of the poor food for shure, it was never served hot. Breakfast was even worse. It's nice beach with very beautiful corals as the name speaks. But they organise daytrips to the hotel with lots of tourists who come over to race in roaring speedboats near the coastline... Noise while chilling out constantly... I'm used to travel a lot as photographer (2-3 montjs a year)but never had this experience before... So in the end we took the boat back on the second day and found a nice guesthouse with good food near Phukettown.
Date of stay: August 2013
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anna S, Public Relations Manager at Coral Island Resort, responded to this review
Responded 4 Sept 2013
Good afternoon! Thanks for vacationing in Coral Island Resort and taking the time to leave a comment. We are sincerely sorry that you were disappointed in your vacation. In this year we have reconstruction in bungalows with new design. Rooms Deluxe and Beach Front Deluxe are fully updated. Our restaurant serving international food, Italian food, traditional Thai food and fresh seafood. Sorry for your girl friend but we have NOT received and record about food and an other issues from you and other guest. May you recognized that, daily, we provide our Food and Beverages products from Chalong and we use only drinking water for cooking that come from Chalong pier. We transferred your complaints about food to our restaurant manager and we will work on that. In our hotel there are guests of different nationalities. We are open all nationality Not only Russian guests because we respect all of them and all nationality are welcome. Tourists who came for daily tours are visiting island, not a hotel. Hotel beach is private area so there you can enjoy peace and quiet all day. Thanks for your comment. Best regards, Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$42
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$42
  • travelup.com
    AU$41
  • Expedia.com
    AU$44
9.7 km from Coral Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$30
Fully refundable
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    AU$25
  • Expedia.com
    AU$30
11.0 km from Coral Island Resort
Free parking
Pool
Chalet Bedroom
AU$107
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
10.6 km from Coral Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$58
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    AU$57
  • Vio.com
    AU$56
  • Trip.com
12.6 km from Coral Island Resort
AU$37
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
13.3 km from Coral Island Resort
Pool
Restaurant
AU$41
  • Priceline
    AU$37
  • Expedia.com
    AU$41
  • Agoda.com
    AU$37
12.3 km from Coral Island Resort
Free parking
Pool
Zense Spa
  • Priceline
    AU$301
  • Agoda.com
    AU$283
  • Expedia.com
    AU$324
14.4 km from Coral Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Отель
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$82
  • Priceline
13.9 km from Coral Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
The pool
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$78
  • Hotels.com
12.4 km from Coral Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$44
  • StayForLong
  • Trip.com
14.8 km from Coral Island Resort
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Chalong
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
100
104
75
50
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
100
104
75
50
57
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

One of the best resorts i have ever been to, not fancy, not hip, no crowds, but the nicest, place to spend a relaxing time with the best personal service you will ever have, I cannot say enough about this place and it is hard to explain , but every trip i felt as if we were the only ones there, and they would make whatever we wanted happen. Dinner on the beach for just us, fishing trip , special food to order, the best ever.

The owner and wife with children live there and treat you like family, always caring about your needs and helpful, the best place to spend a very relaxing week or 2 i know of.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anna S, Public Relations Manager at Coral Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Good afternoon! Thanks for vacationing in Coral Island Resort and taking the time to leave a comment.
If you have any questions or requests about accommodation, transfer etc., please send your mail to address anna@scanway.com
We hope to see you again
Best regards, Anna Simonova, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

In my solumn opinion I dont believe there is a need to stay on this island as it offers nothing more than you can see on a day trip! The reason for this is a VERY DISSAPOINTING HOTEL! The beach is lovely and the waters are nice and blue. The resort however let down the whole experience. Listed below are the false promises and let downs of this hotel.

Firstly and foremost it felt like we were invading a Russian invite only hotel. Every guest was Russian, It was managed by Russians and we were even given a Russian menu! Staff with the exception of one or two were generallly rude and we were often stared at without so much as a smile! Off duty staff were often seen spitting around the resort, really disgusting! The room had no safe as advertsed and we were given two singles instead of the double as promised! They informed us of a buffet lunch and dinner! We saw zero buffet dinners! The water in the room was sea water, extremely salty and nearly made me vommit when brushing my teeth! The pool had deck chairs with no back which we had to ask for! These were not sun loungers so dont expect to tan your back! The evening entertainment when they felt like it was a singer who literally couldn't hit a note and didn't know the words to the songs! He certainly sped up our retreat to the room.

The resort will reluctantly let you know they have a free speed boat transfer to and from the island three times a day on your check in and check out date! They will more likey try to sell you a trip to and from the island for 500 baht per person! Dont be fooled they do provide this! Free speedboat times from Chalong Pier - Coral Island are 09:30, 13:30 and 17:00. From Coral island to Chalong Pier 10:00, 14:30 and 17:30. Emailing the resort will confirm this for you but email in advance as they are poor at resonding promptly!

I have been to a lot of hotels in nearly 18 months of travelling the world and this one was very UNWELCOMING! There is nothing more to see than you could see in a day trip and with the benefit of hindsight I would have much rather invested my time in another island suck as Koh Lanta or Koh Racha Yai! I will certainly not be returning! If you do make the decision to go, book one or two nights max as they are quiet enough to extend your trip! Good Luck!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anna S, Public Relations Manager at Coral Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Good afternoon! Thanks for vacationing in Coral Island Resort and taking the time to leave a comment. For resort customer, accommodation rates include boat transfer on arrival and departure date. Additional boat transfer will be charged at 250 Baht/speedboat/way. Every day 3 times per day we have shuttle boat to Phuket according schedule.Unfortunately there are not have any free speedboat transfers. There are 4 room types available: superior, deluxe, beach front deluxe, family rooms. In every rooms air condition system, mini bar, safety box, coffee table and chairs, hot and cold water, bathroom amenities. In this year we have reconstruction in some bungalows with new design. Free beach chairs provided for resort customers in beach and pool area. In restaurant breakfast is served daily from 7.00 a.m. to 10.00 a.m. Restaurant serving buffet lunch and dinner (price for resort guests 250 batt lunch, 350 batt diiner), also you can order from menu international food, Italian food, Thai food and fresh seafood. We are sincerely sorry that you were disappointed in your vacation. Your complaints about staff transferred to our management and we will work on that.
Best regards Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

it is 12 minutes from Chalong pier, Phuket Island. We saw many pictures of Island but it was more natural and beautiful. Our room was on the beach and we slept with the sound of natural life without and city noise. Only way to go there is to get a speed boat and was really fast. And people on the island greeted as with flowers, welcome cocktails and cold towels. Island was very busy during the day and some attractions on the island. The beauty of the sand and ocean was wonderful. These guys building new rooms which was really good. I hope I can chance to go there and stay in the new rooms :)...
And we were lucky enough to see a marriage ceremony on the beach. These country has tropical and wonderful fruits that hotel provide. Sea foods and international cuisine was good as well. Thai people cannot speak well but we were able to communicate :)

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank XLhotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anna S, Public Relations Manager at Coral Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thanks for vacationing in Coral Island Resort and taking the time to leave a comment. Island located in 10 minutes by speedboat from Phuket. Every day 3 times per day we have shuttle boat to Phuket according schedule. Also private transfer is available. Coral Island is outstanding with pure and white sand, with translucent water, sunsets religiously inspiring and the crowds far away. There are 4 room types available: superior, deluxe, beach front deluxe, family rooms. In every rooms air condition system, mini bar, coffee table and chairs, hot and cold water, bathroom amenities. For present moment we have reconstruction in some bungalows with new design. But we accommodate guests in rooms far from construction and noise does not disturb them.
If you have any questions or requests about accommodation, transfer etc., please send your mail to address anna-simonova@mail.ru.
We hope to see you again
Best regards, Anna Simonova, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The cost to travel to Koh he is expensive for the 6km. The resort made up for it though. During the day, tourist take over the island but at night it is all yours. Breakfast and dinner was great but also expensive. The staff were not so friendly but tolerable. Snorkeling was to die for with plenty of sea life. The island gets soiled by the hundreds of day visitors. The rooms were good and well cleaned.

Room tip: The bungalows on the beach is far better
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frik65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anna S, Public Relations Manager at Coral Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Thank you for a rest in our hotel Coral Island Resort and for leaving a review. Every opinion about our hotel is very important for us. Every day we have shuttle boat to island 3 times per day, for present moment price 250 batt for 1 way by speedboat. Daily tours sometime coming to Coral Island but they can not to pass beach of hotel. That why near hotel you always can find quiet places where you can enjoy beautiful sea and sounds of wild nature.
Thank you and best regards Anna - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

I get this uncontrollable urge to buy this place so I can fix it up to my standards. Paying lot of money to get here was not a big problem, but getting of the speed boat with big back packs and no help offered by the guys on the boat left us with a bad feeling. Check in was easy and pleasant. However our room in the third row had a non- working a/c and the sewer smell outside made us decide to pay extra for beach front. This was a great decision.
Food was ok, bit pricey. Service was good. House keeping was nice and early so also good.
Look out for tons of broken glass on the beach, the first day we picked up 107 pieces, yes we counted them. Lots of garbage every where. I know we can blame a lot of tourists for that, but the Thai people creates garbage dumps wherever they feel like it it seems. We have now spent a month in Thailand and it is the same every where, what a shame :(
Half of this beach is visited by day trippers and yes there is a lot of boat traffic, also no power twice a day. No problem when you know this.
There is not one comfortable chair in the whole resort, I would liked to have happy hour in a comfy chair.
This is an ok place to visit but I would not come back.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank bosslady65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews