We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mtodd5
Brisbane, Australia

Resort in need of maintenance, Snorkelling made stay worth it

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Apr 2012
Much like the rest of Thailand, it doesn't look like any maintenance or up-keep has been done since it was built - from the looks of the decore in the rooms, this must have been late 70's (but for $40 a night who's complaining) However, the Coral gardens just off shore live up to the Island name. Snorkelling over the coral and fish was spectacular, even though the visability was less than 10 metres and the coral looked mostly dead, colourless and covered in silt.
Date of stay: March 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$30
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • StayForLong
11.0 km from Coral Island Resort
Free parking
Pool
Chalet Bedroom
AU$109
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
10.6 km from Coral Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
The pool
AU$74
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
12.4 km from Coral Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$41
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
12.3 km from Coral Island Resort
Free parking
Pool
AU$66
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
12.5 km from Coral Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$37
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
13.3 km from Coral Island Resort
Pool
Restaurant
AU$36
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
10.1 km from Coral Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$60
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
12.5 km from Coral Island Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
getlstd_property_photo
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$53
  • Priceline
11.8 km from Coral Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$50
  • StayForLong
  • Trip.com
14.8 km from Coral Island Resort
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Chalong
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
100
104
75
50
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
100
104
75
50
57
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Nice place with simple but totally ok bungalows. Cleaning is ok, less insects than what we expected in a place like this. Some geckos, ants and mosquitos, most outside.

About 5 m from the beach which I/we went here for. Wouldn´t be the same without a beachfront bungie here.

Beach is very nice when the tide is mid to high. Not so beautiful at low tide when all the corals show, Water is really when the ocean is calm. Sand is really good and white but many corals in the water.

Restaurant is good and the buffet was also good most of the time. Big bonus that our small kids 3 and 4 years could eat from the buffet for free. Saved us a lot of money.

Staff was great, helpful and good at english. They helped us with medicine from mainland for free, same with flowers for valentines day. Of course we gave good tip for this.

Its definitely worth the little rough 15 min walk to Monkey beach. Its more beautiful, better sand with much better bottom in the ocean. The water is also clearer here.

I´d really recommend this place in a Beachfront bungalow for a few days stay for couples. For families and relaxers maybe a week. We booked 9 days beacuse it gives a family like us with smaller children, quite a lot freedom with no traffic or other disturbances that can affect the childrens safety.

The pool by the way is quite big and nice. There are wild monkeys on the island that sometimes come down here but we didn´t get any closer than hearing them.

There is monitors (lizards) on the end of the beach, coming down in the afternoons. They are well worth a visit.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jimmy801026
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Again beautiful location, but food very poor, very quiet in the evenings, resort desperately needs updating and new management!

Date of stay: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoyWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed for ten days and had a very relaxing holiday. This resort is great if you are not expecting full on entertainment but just need a quiet time. The beach is lovely and the snorkeling was stunning. The rooms were clean and changed daily. The service was very friendly and we were very welcomed. Some of the promised facilities were not present such as massage, boat trips and some of the resort is looking rather tired. I guess the managment make money so why bother upgrading things. A shame as the location is lovely. Yes there are lots of day trippers but you can easily escape to the pool which is generally clean. No electricty for several hours a day but this really wasn't a problem. The food was good and we were always made to feel welcome. Not a top resort but not terrible as some reviews have claimed.

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank jonkersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Resort is unfortunately not entirely as portrayed, small littered beach besieged by tourists (usually Japanese and were so obnoxious they kept them at a separate bar in the evenings), no electric for 5-6 hours a day, cold salty showers, damp musty smelling rooms and very rude young male receptionist. The deck chairs on the beach were small and half didn't have any material on them! The noise of the crickets is virtually constant and drives you mad.

The only positive things were the waiting staff in the restaurant and the head chef were lovely and helpful. Oh, and the hornbills were stunning. The food was ok but not exactly cheap.

Shame - could be lovely. We booked for 5 nights and only stayed 3...

I wouldn't waste £50 getting a return boat there, there are much nicer places in Phuket.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TraceyH1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2011

10 years ago this resort may hv been up there in quality and facilities now it is dated poorly maintained and staff are care free w no personality. The checkin process is greeted w distain and total in interest by staff the rooms are poorly maintained w the smell of sewerage very strong , shower facilities in room is barely a trickel, the pool is falling apart and cloudy at best, the groups of Chinese day visitors makes the resort even more chaotic. The beach is littered w rubbish and coral debris the beach is extremely rough w no visibilty to snorkel and coral is non existent. The good is very basic and stale at best. There is so much potential but clearly the interest us only on the day to day income the only friendly staff were those in the restaurant of which they should be on reception for there great language ability and friendliness. In short this resort is tired not maintained and lacks the presence if staff wanting to be there ...Sadly Total fail.

Date of stay: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbflyaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews