We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 50
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/21
Booking.com
USD 53
View deal
Agoda.com
USD 30
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/21
PricelineUSD 47
Hotels.comUSD 50
TravelocityUSD 50
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
171
126
39
18
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
126
39
18
18
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2019 via mobile

Location: The hotel is set back from the main road by about 200-300 metres. The hotel does offer a tuk-tuk service to the main road. This service is free and almost instantaneous. So the set back doesn't really hurt. While some of the reviews might mention brach access, the beach is just a narrow strip of sand quite close to the jetty. It's not a place i would recommend for a swim. There is an infinity pool which overlooks the oceanfront which could compensate for your need to swim on the beach.

Food: the breakfast buffet is a shade above average. Im sure I've had better breakfasts in S.E.Asia for the room price that i paid.

Service: Notwithstanding the room upgrade, the staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. I bothered them quite a bit with multiple requests and they always reaponded promptly,efficiently and with a smile. The staff are easily the best thing to have happened in this hotel

The rooms while tastefully done are a bit behind the times. The aircon in my room was a little underwhelming and was not too comfortable in the humidity. The telephone wasnt working and it took me a few tries to figure out the in-room safe. The TV is also a throwback to another era.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank rram_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aochalongvillaandspa, Guest Relations Manager at Ao Chalong Villa & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2019

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Aochalong Villa Resort & Spa!

I would like to say on behalf of management and staff thanks for taking the time to write a good review of your during stay with us.

I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the kind words re our service team. thank you again and all of us look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Aochalong Villa Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2019

We booked the hotel based on my hotel research on tripadvisor and the recommendation from my dive operator. Quiet little resort nestled close to Chalong pier, convenient for our dive excursion pickup and drop offs. Great little hotel with exceptional guest service and awesome staff. Guest services manager Steve took time to sit down with us to draw us a map pointing out some locations of the local attractions and services. Extremely helpful anytime we had a question. The hotel staff cheerful and eager to assist, whether a table setting by the pool, towels for our dive trips, or topping up our phone card. Cozy and very clean rooms. We'd definitely book again!

Room tip: Great little gem
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aochalongvillaandspa, Guest Relations Manager at Ao Chalong Villa & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2019

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Aochalong Villa Resort & Spa.

Thank you for this lovely review and I'm so happy that you had a great time again. We do our very best to keep refining the experiences here and I'm delighted that you loved.

All of us send you best wishes for the rest of 2019 and look forward to welcoming you home again in near future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2019 via mobile

I will start by saying that this hotel definitely grows on you the longer that you stay, that being said I do feel that you are definitely mislead with the facilities when booking online.

Negatives:

Extremely quiet location - the hotel is extremely remote. The hotel does offer a free tuk-tuk to the main road but the main road is awful. It’s extremely busy and there is no clear pathway to walk along.

Our room - we booked a room with a garden view, when in reality this was a room with car park view. The pictures are extremely misleading and of course we would no way have booked this room if we realised that was the case.

Beach - the hotel is advertised as a beach front hotel on booking.com. Although it technically is this, the beach unusable due to filthy water and mud-like sand.

Positives:
Restaurant - at first we thought the restaurant wasn’t very good, but the more we ate there the better we found it. Things to avoid - western food. Pizza, burgers etc, we found these things weren’t great. However, we then tried their Thai dishes which were absolutely delicious, and you can’t blame the hotel for that, it’s the way it should be so restaurant is a positive.

Breakfast: although the breakfast was very basic, they still had something that would suit most people I believe. Toast, cereal, various rice dishes, fried potatoes. Fruit juices, coffees and teas were also included. There was also an egg station.

Staff: we found all the staff to be extremely polite and helpful, they helped us with organising trips and taxis on more than one occasion!

The beachfront pool was an extremely relaxing spot with a great view.

Overall: if you are the type of person who likes to just leave the hotel and be able to go to a shop or look around without stress then this hotel is certainly not for you.

If you like to just relax by the pool most of the time and go for the occasional trip by taxi to somewhere then I would recommend this hotel. It depends on how you like your holiday. I enjoyed the hotel itself a lot despite its flaws, but the location was a big let down for me.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank billyd1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aochalongvillaandspa, Front Office Manager at Ao Chalong Villa & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2019

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Aochalong Villa Resort & Spa!

Thank you for choosing the Aochalong Villa Resort & Spa for your stay with us.
I would like to say on behalf of management and staff thanks for taking your time to write such a good review.
for Service team staff and I apologize for any inconvenience cause to you.

Have a wonderful day.

Best regards,
Kung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2019 via mobile

Quite a surprise to find this hotel at the end of a dusty track in Chalong I was less than impressed on the drive from Phuket airport as I didn’t find Chalong to be very picturesque. The hotel was lovely with fabulous sea views from the dining room. The bedroom was very spacious and on the ground floor right beside the pool. The decor was a little tired but the tropical feel of the grounds more than made up for it. Steve was a great help, he advised us on beaches near by and on places to visit.We used the free shuttle buggy up to the main road most days and the free beach transfer and also hired the hotel taxi for a three hour tour which was great value

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aochalongvillaandspa, Manager at Ao Chalong Villa & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2019

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Aochalong Villa Resort & Spa!

I would like to say on behalf of management and staff thanks for taking the time to write a wonderful review of your recent stay.

I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the kind words re our service team. thank you again and all of us look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Aochalong Villa Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2019

What a lovely little hotel with gorgeous pools and a restaurant overlooking the sea .
Great very clean rooms with comfy beds and a balcony overlooking the pool and gardens. The manager, Steve and all the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Had two wonderful massages at the spa , which looks out over the sea .
The hotel also offers Thai cooking classes which my sister in laws both did and said it was excellent fun .
The hotel is set back from the main road making it a lovely peaceful location but easily accessible . The hotel has a free tuk tuk service to the main road .
Will definitely return to this charming hotel .

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pommet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aochalongvillaandspa, Manager at Ao Chalong Villa & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2019

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Aochalong Villa Resort & Spa.

Thank you for this lovely review and I'm so happy that you had a great time again. We do our very best to keep refining the experiences here and I'm delighted that you loved.

All of us send you best wishes for the rest of 2019 and look forward to welcoming you home again in near future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews