We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
In full bloom!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In full bloom!
Cosy Country Cottage Sit in your front garden overlooking Roaring Water Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
In full bloom!
Cosy Country Cottage
Sit in your front garden overlooking Roaring Water Bay
Relax in the evenings with a wood burning stove
Living Area
Cosy Kitchen
Main Bathroom, includes bath and shower
Main ensuite bedroom with old fashioned brass bed
Double Bedroom
Twin bedroom with iron bedsteads
'Welcome to Herons Cove Cottage'
Gateway to your perfect escape!
Early morning calm
View from Front Deck
View from rear of property
view from drive
Secluded and Sheltered back decking, perfect for summer BBQs
Enjoy a romantic moonlight drink on the front deck overlooking water
Entrance Gates
Sailboat passing Jeremy Irons Castle near Cottage
Boats heading up Ballydehob Harbour past Cottage to local Festival
The Twelve Arch Bridge in Ballydehob
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ballydehob, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Olive A
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a true "Cottage" in every sense of the word. Our hostess, Kathleen, gave us a real Irish welcome and made every effort to ensure our comfort.
The cottage was very comfortable, very well equipped and in a great location. We even loved the narrow winding road from Ballydehob which was lined with flowers and periodically gave beautiful views over the bay.
The surrounding area has so much to offer, Bantry Bay House, Garinish Island and Sheep's Head Peninsula, all a must to visit.
If you fancy some retail therapy then visit Clonakilty which has some lovely old fashioned and modern shops. If you need any food then shop at Supervalu Supermarket there, a well stocked clean store.
We loved our stay and didn't want to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen O
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely week at Herons Cove Cottage in May and although the weather wasn't always wonderful, that did not spoil our enjoyment of this lovely cottage in the most glorious setting. Absolute peace and quiet (apart from the rather creepy sound of a vixen barking in the middle of the night on our first night). That aside, and she had the good manners not to do it again, we had a lovely break in this beautiful country. We went whale watching which was thrilling and we will definitely be back for more. Thank you, Kathleen, for making us so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being there.
Liked least: The bed in the Master bedroom was rather small.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lonneke76
Gouda, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great location, lovely cottage, very friendly owner, we loved it all!”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This lovely cottage with stunning and always changing views over the bay (with seals!) is situated in a lovely and very quiet location. It has all you will need provided and more. It is a bit of a hard drive to and from Ballydehob (and the main road), being at the end of a country lane, but we actually loved that! The area is very nice, with loads of things to see and do, or you can just stay home and enjoy one of 5!! seating area's around the house. Thanks a lot Kathleen!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the master bedroom bed was a bit small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
394jenh
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

After 2 nights in the bustle of Dublin, we traveled to Ballydehob where we met the wonderful owners of Heron's Cove Cottage. They led us through the beautiful farms to the home by the water. The cottage has everything you want and nothing you don't need. It is cozy, the beds are great, the kitchen is modern, but you have the feel of a country cottage. The views are stellar, with a nice walking area down by the water, cows on the property.

I cannot say enough about it. It was a wonderland and such a wonderful escape from everyday world. There are plenty of day trips from even this seemingly remote sight. Will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sitting and drinking coffee on the porch overlooking the water.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurélie Z
Brixworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage with wonderful views”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We really enjoyed our stay in this lovely cottage, very well decorated. Everything we needed was already there, we felt like we were invited to an Irish friends house ! For us, and our kids, it was lovely to be in such a quiet place, with direct access to the sea. We really enjoyed our week and we would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing