We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, homely and private”
other travellers have booked this property
In full bloom!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In full bloom!
Cosy Country Cottage Sit in your front garden overlooking Roaring Water Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
In full bloom!
Cosy Country Cottage
Sit in your front garden overlooking Roaring Water Bay
Relax in the evenings with a wood burning stove
Living Area
Cosy Kitchen
Main Bathroom, includes bath and shower
Main ensuite bedroom with old fashioned brass bed
Double Bedroom
Twin bedroom with iron bedsteads
'Welcome to Herons Cove Cottage'
Gateway to your perfect escape!
Early morning calm
View from Front Deck
View from rear of property
view from drive
Secluded and Sheltered back decking, perfect for summer BBQs
Enjoy a romantic moonlight drink on the front deck overlooking water
Entrance Gates
Sailboat passing Jeremy Irons Castle near Cottage
Boats heading up Ballydehob Harbour past Cottage to local Festival
The Twelve Arch Bridge in Ballydehob
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ballydehob, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Tinydotso...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, homely and private ”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I stayed at the cottage with my mum on a surprisingly sunny February weekend to attend a bread making course on nearby Heir Island. The cottage is in a lovely picturesque rural location with a sea view and the owners are extremely helpful during the booking process and on arrival. It was the perfect location for us to have two days touring west cork and only 20 min drive from the boat to Heir Island.

You will need a car to easily access the cottage as it is off the beaten track (huge part of its appeal), but the owner Kathleen kindly met us to show us the way to the cottage, answer all of our questions and recommend local sites/restaurants etc. If you need wifi (which unfortunately I did!) you can pay a little extra and it's fairly fast and consistent.

The cottage has two double bedrooms (one ensuite) and one twin room, so perfect for a family trip.

We're hoping to go back for a longer trip next time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
Hi Tara
I just saw your Review of our Cottage! We're usually notified when we get a review so sorry for the late reply! Thanks for your kind comments and for taking the time to put it on. We really appreciate it.
Hope to see you again for a longer stay. Glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Warmest wishes,
Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreyaWats...
County Kildare, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great family New Year's break”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Having previously escaped alone to Heron's Cove Cottage, I returned with the whole family for a week over the New Year 2015/16. The weather was incredibly stormy across the country that week but somehow the sheltered spot where the cottage is seemed to escape. We all enjoyed leisurely strolls on the beaches (well wrapped in jackets) and scenic drives, interspersed with some craft shopping (yes, most of the craft shops were open during the holiday season!) and relaxing in Budd's (cafe in Ballydehob) over lunch or pancakes and coffees.

The kids (aged 7, 8 & 14) all enjoyed it, with wifi and multi-channel TV to fill in rainy hours and early mornings.

Kathleen decorated the house so between the Christmas tree and decorations, and the log stove, it was the perfect cosy home away from home for the week. The icing on the cake was greeting the new year outside on the wooden deck overlooking the sea!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
Thanks Freya! I just saw your review now. They usually notify us when we get a review! We appreciate your taking the time to put it on. It was lovely meeting you again and your family are sweet! Enjoyed showing the girls the cows and I think they enjoyed feeding them.
Hopefully we will see you down this way again soon.
Best regards,
Kathleen and Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irishtour...
Dingle
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015

We spent a wonderfully relaxing week in Herons Cove Cottage, it is ideally located for touring west cork and beyond, The cottage was spotless when we arrived and you can tell it is loved by the owners, Booking was very easy and all our enquiries were answered speedily, Kathleen and Tonys warmth was immediate upon meeting them, I have to say the pictures do not do this cottage justice, We will certainly book again hopefully sooner rather than later.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cat W
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing getaway in a beautiful, secluded location”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We had a wonderful week at Herons Cove Cottage. The cottage itself is very cosy and homely, kitted out with everything we needed, and with amazing views over the bay. It is located down a twisting country track with more beautiful views- we also went walking around these bays. Kathleen and Tony were great hosts. They met us on arrival and at check out and were extremely friendly and helpful. Ballydehob has some great places to eat and drink. Look out for the fab trad music sessions! We really fell in love with this part of West Cork and hope to come back to Herons Cove again :) If you're thinking of visiting the area, we couldn't recommend it enough. One of the nicest places we've stayed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful views, lovely log burner, great location for exploring West Cork
Liked least: Nothing we disliked at all but be prepared for the bumpy country roads in the area :)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald P
1 review
“Home well maintained and situated in a very picturesque setting”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Be prepared for the access road to the property as it is basically a wagon track although its well traveled. Everything was as advertised and we were very satisfied with our stay. The property managers were very nice and did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home was very good and very well maintained
Liked least: The location was remote and the road to it was basically a wagon track for about 2 miles
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing