We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place, excellent hostess”
other travellers have booked this property
In full bloom!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In full bloom!
Cosy Country Cottage Sit in your front garden overlooking Roaring Water Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
In full bloom!
Cosy Country Cottage
Sit in your front garden overlooking Roaring Water Bay
Relax in the evenings with a wood burning stove
Living Area
Cosy Kitchen
Main Bathroom, includes bath and shower
Main ensuite bedroom with old fashioned brass bed
Double Bedroom
Twin bedroom with iron bedsteads
'Welcome to Herons Cove Cottage'
Gateway to your perfect escape!
Early morning calm
View from Front Deck
View from rear of property
view from drive
Secluded and Sheltered back decking, perfect for summer BBQs
Enjoy a romantic moonlight drink on the front deck overlooking water
Entrance Gates
Sailboat passing Jeremy Irons Castle near Cottage
Boats heading up Ballydehob Harbour past Cottage to local Festival
The Twelve Arch Bridge in Ballydehob
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ballydehob, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
AnneMeath...
Navan, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, excellent hostess”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our 4th holiday in West Cork in a row, the area is stunning, best in Ireland no question. Herons Cove Cottage is beautiful, really comfortable and cosy, great views over the bay. The welcome from the owner Kathleen was amazing. She couldn't do enough for us, was incredibly apologetic about the weather, i think she felt responsible! She stocked the fridge with basics which was a lovely touch and gave us a run down on places to eat locally which we acted on and enjoyed. We had a lovely week despite the weather, but let's face it if you holiday in Ireland, you don't do it for the sun! Would definitely recommend this cottage for a couple or a small family or group

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britethor...
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfectly Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My one and only problem with our stay at Heron's Cove was that it was far too short. The cottage is absolutely first rate in every detail (including the WiFi which worked better than it did at our hotel in Dublin.) The beds are super comfortable, the kitchen has everything you could possibly need and we absolutely loved the wood burning stove in the living room. We were fortunate to have warm, dry weather in September and so were able to take advantage of the sitting area in front of the cottage looking out on the bay, with views of which we never grew tired. And of course Kathleen and Tony were wonderful hosts who made us feel very welcome all during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The drive to the property is quite an adventure for someone not used to Irish country roads.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H
1 review
“a little piece of heaven on earth”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

its always difficult when you book online to be sure you are choosing the right place. i deffinitly did. we were greeted by mary kathleens sister who made use very welcome with her very cheery personality and when we saw the cottage we were delighted. it is amazing. kathleen and tony have made sure you want for nothing. more cups plates cutlery etc than you ever need. all the electrical items are in top working order and most important it was immaculate. we could not of chosen a lovelier location anywhere we are now planning return trip next year. a kinder host you will not find a cottage you will not better. many thanks for allowing us a super week in what we called "a little piece of heaven " or a place that time has stood still in amazing

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and cleanliness of property
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhona A
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, lovely welcome!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This cottage is in a beautiful spot. We really felt we had got away from it all - it was very peaceful. It is quite new, but furnished in the old style by Tony and Kathleen. It's very pretty outside and in, and you can tell they have put a lot of love into it. It has everything you need for your stay. They are lovely people - they were so friendly, kind and helpful and made us feel most welcome. We liked Rosie's Bar in Ballydehob. On Friday evenings there is a "session" where musicians come along and join whoever is there - it started with 3 and by 10pm there were around 15 with all sorts of instruments. Great atmosphere! The Mizen Head Drive is a must - pick a clear day as the scenery is breathtakingly beautiful. The Sheeps Head walk to the lighthouse is well worth doing, but you have to be quite sure-footed as it's a bit tricky in places - the cliffs by the lighthouse have no barriers, so not ideal if you have young children. We loved West Cork and its people and will return to this special part of the world. Thank you, Kathleen and Tony, for helping to make our stay so memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome and the view
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like, but some bigger saucepans and/or sauté pan would be useful for larger families.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel H
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely spot”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a really enjoyable stay. The views from the deck were beautiful and it was a wonderfully peaceful location. We found the cottage very welcoming and cosy and it was a lovely getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: The bed
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing