We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic honeymoon break!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kilcoe Cottage

Kilcoe Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kilcoe Cottage
The hot tub in winter Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Kilcoe Cottage
The hot tub in winter
Living Room
Large open plan kitchen with breakfast bar
Conservatory/sun room area
Dining area seats eight
Master bedroom, superking bed, ensuite
Master bath with claw foot tub
Fresh flowers on arrival
Twelve Arch Bridge Ballydehob
Three Castle Head, Mizen Peninsula
Sailing at Kilcoe Castle
The Family. Photo by Bryan Meade Sunday Times
A quiet place to read a book
Welcome to Kilcoe Cottage
Living area from the back door.
Aerial view!
Our own house.
Upstairs bedroom  with ensuite
kilcoe castle
Kilcoe's Billy Goat gruff
sailing at the local cove
Summer pudding from our flexi-extras section
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ballydehob, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Trish T
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic honeymoon break!”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just returned from spending a lovely 10 days in Kilcoe Cottage. The location really is idyllic, with it being a few kilometres out of Ballydehob, it gives you the peace and quiet but easy access to so many other places and really show cases West Cork in all its beauty.
The cottage really is a luxurious home from home and has everything you need. Relax in front of the TV and play some games, or enjoy the tranquility of the garden in the good weather. The BBQ and hot tub work well in both!
The small touches, wine, cheese, tea, coffee, fresh bread, toiletries, all went a long way to making it a thoroughly enjoyable break. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of the cottage in an idyllic location
Liked least: The drive from Dublin. Fly to Cork!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2015
We were so honoured that you chose us for your honeymoon and delighted you had a good time. Thank you for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene N
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantabulous!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My family say I'm almost impossible to please when it comes to holiday accommodation but even I could not find fault this time! Gorgeous house, very well equipped and immaculately clean. Fab bathrooms and comfortable beds. Peaceful and private and only a short drive from the lovely village of Ballydehob. You won't be disappointed if you stay here. Try Buds in Ballydehob for great food, all locally sourced and super tasty.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for choosing Kilcoe Cottage. Our aim when we opened was to achieve exactly what you said. We have been disappointed so often ourselves and now strive to provide a little more for our guests. We would be delighted to welcome you again if ever you are in the area.
BTW, Budds is our favourite too! Proper coffee served with a smile.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeinsterG...
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous-highly recommended!! Second visit and won't be our last!”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We first stayed in Kilcoe Cottage at Easter and had such a wonderful time that we booked again for an October visit. It is an absolutely perfect spot for a rejuvenating break. The house is beautifully furnished and very well equipped-everything is thought of. The underfloor heating and woodburning stove keep the place wonderfully cosy and there are squishy sofas and comfortable chairs for relaxed chill time after days spent exploring the many fantastic places West Cork has to offer.
The beds are extremely comfortable and have lovely quality bedlinen, pillows and duvets. Bathrooms are well stocked with quality towels and bathrobes and the claw foot bath in the master en-suite was a real treat. Sharon is an excellent cook and on both visits we availed of the Flexi-Extras food ordering option and ordered soup, main and and dessert-all absolutely delicious. It was also such a bonus not to have to cook after a long journey. Highly recommend doing this.
Kilcoe Cottage is an ideal place to stay-Sharon, Mark and the boys are so welcoming yet never intrusive and are on hand should you need anything. The dogs, Tiny and Brock are so friendly, but not in a jumpy way-just a happy tail-wagging way -so that even our very dog-wary 8 year old was perfectly fine about popping out to play with them. The house itself is warm, comfortable, spotlessly clean, very well cared for and tastefully decorated.

In short, go to West Cork, stay in Kilcoe Cottage-you will have a wonderful time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind words. We thoroughly enjoyed having you here and are delighted you found it good enough to come back a second time. Our plan was to make the house a home away from home with a few little extras so we really love it when people appreciate it. Thanks again, Sharon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisawoodh...
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Kilcoe cottage for a week for our honeymoon. The first few days spent relaxing and enjoying the peace of the cottage. Kicloe was fully equipped with everything and a lot more. Kilcoe exceeded every expectation. The area was stunning for wonderful days out. Thank you to Sharon and her family for our wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2014
We were delighted to be chosen as your honeymoon destination. Thank you so much for the lovely review and we hope to see you in the future.
Kind regards,
Sharon and Co.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wardywoo8...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must at least once in your life.......”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I am a little late in writing this review.....as we stayed for a week at the beginning of October 2013. This house (which we learned from Sharon used to be an old barn and lean to) has been amazingly transformed into one of the best Holiday rentals I have ever stayed in.

The house is set in the stunning location of Kilcoe just outside Ballydehob and has a number of country roads that you can walk to discover the beautiful surrounds. The house itself is generoulsy proportioned and has been fitted out with beautiful furniture that makes you feel like you have stepped into a shoot from Country Living.

Sharon made us feel totally welcome, as did the 2 dogs (who accompanied us on many of our walks!). We took up the option of a cookery lesson whilst we were there, a must if you rent this house for a week. Sharon recommended a few places to visit along with a number of foodie recommendations, the best being O'Sullivans in Crookhaven for their open crab sandwhich, again another must. A visit to Mizen Head and the stunning Barley Cove is another must! If you have kids then you could easily spend a number of sunny summer days down on Barley Cove beach.

I could continue on and on about how special Kilcoe Cottage is.....but I have to mention one last high point for us....the outdoor hot tub provided a view of the most magical sky that I have ever witnessed in Ireland. Under a clear sky at night time the stars twinkled like diamonds that seemed almost within touching distance.....

If you have read this far then you will know how special this place is.....we are really looking forward to our next visit to Kilcoe Cottage :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many to mention.....
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really appreciate the comments. I thoroughly enjoyed the cooking lesson and I hope you have forgiven me for the bread! We really look forward to welcoming you again to Kilcoe Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing