We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic”
Review of Mangonui Fish Shop

Mangonui Fish Shop
Ranked #2 of 3 Quick Bites in Mangonui
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We go here at least twice a year - we live 2 hours away. Every time we go we have a fantastic feed of fresh fish, we moan about the prices, and then do it all over again 6 months later.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 887 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

After a day playing golf at Kauri Cliffs as someone had recommended this spot. You can dine in or takeaway, we felt there was plenty of choice of fish and well priced, as well as a selection of salads, shellfish and there is a separate bar to order a drink which we did.
They don't do gluten free only battered fish, however, our friend found the batter easy to peel and the chip were tasty and loved how the fish and chips was presented. We enjoyed a good fish and chips and a nice cold beer.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cgkjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I decided to try the Monganui Fish shop while we were on a trip up North. The outdoor area is lovely to eat dinner and have a couple of drinks over the harbour. The fish and chips tasted good but I think the price of the food is what let’s this place down, especially since it is not table service. Lovely to say we have been here but don’t think we will be back again.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank JessicaG6227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

It’s been many years since this kiwi visited the fish shop. Have seen over the years
It’s seemed to have changed hands or perhaps just upmarket themselves.
This time, no more fish and chips served in paper. Instead cardboard with baskets
Are served. Great to buy wine and beer with food. Ate at lunchtime when the high
Season had finished so the place was steadily busy. Food was delish. The portions have reduced . It’s a fun drive from Paihia.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

If you want to eat fish&chips or a fresh fish burger, this is the place to go. You need to go after 6 pm - if you go earlier you might see this place crowded (this is a place were you see a coach/bus full of tourist stop for an early dinner)

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank juergen_4691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mangonui Fish Shop also viewed

Mangonui, Northland Region
Mangonui, Northland Region
 
Mangonui, Northland Region
Mangonui, Northland Region
 
Mangonui, Northland Region
Mangonui, Northland Region
 

Been to Mangonui Fish Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing