We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beyond perfect Second to none”
other travellers have booked this property
Front view of holiday home from the public road
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of holiday home from the public road
Back view of holiday home Patio table and chairs and bbq
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Front view of holiday home from the public road
Back view of holiday home
Patio table and chairs and bbq
Steps on to lawn at the back of the home
Games room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen couch
Sitting room
Sitting room
Upstairs bedroom with kingsize, single bed + en-suit
Upstairs Kingsize bed room with en-suit
Upstairs Kingsize bed and single bed
En-suit
Downstairs kingsize bed
Downstairs double bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Kilnaleck, County Cavan

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
familyh0l...
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beyond perfect Second to none”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This summer I had planned with my sisters to take all the grandchildren in England to meet with their cousins back to our native county of Cavan and how lucky I was to find a gem to fit the occasion in Klnaleck just ten miles from our family home . This property is magnificent words can not describe how well a equipped and beautifully decorated ,and comfortable this property is. Paul and Eilish made our party on 10 extremely welcome and provided a welcome pack on our arrival this contained more than the essentials. The grandchildren had plenty of things to keep them entertained they never got bored at all. A great family holiday. Many thanks to Paul for helping us making our holiday complete. The children say they will love to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location, meeting the local children, and their pets that visited daily.
Liked least: The Weather.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laineyt69
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely beyond perfect!!”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

It's always difficult trying to find holiday accommodation for large groups, so when I set out looking for somewhere that would suit my extended family of 13, in order to visit our relatives, I was under no illusions. However I came across this gem in kilnaleck. From our first enquiry, Paul was so helpful, everything else was a breeze, nothing was too much trouble. The house itself is gorgeous, huge, and not cramped in any way, it has everything you could ever need during your stay, and if it doesn't just contact Paul, not that we needed to. All the rooms are spacious, comfortable, and as we were there in February - lovely and warm! We will most definitely return to this lovely house and I would most certainly recommend to others.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraEire
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Having stayed here in May of last year with a group of friends and enjoying ourselves so much, we decided to go back again for another weekend. The house is still as brilliant as it was before and this time there was even a welcome pack waiting for us on arrival. That was a really nice touch and a great start to our time there! The house more or less has everything you would need for a few days stay, from towels to soap etc but we did have to buy dishwasher tablets.

Paul was very helpful during booking and on arrival, and even sent on details of events that might be of interest to us in the area. I'm sure we'll try to be back again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcome pack, games room, space
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelcat...
New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spacious house, great for a family trip”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My extended family rented this house to visit relatives in Co. Cavan. We had 7 adults and 1 child, all staying very comfortably. The backyard is great for entertaining, and the house is very child friendly (pack and play, baby gate on the stairs, highchair and lots of toys and books). The owner was easy to work with and very accommodating.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewABo...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We are an extended family of 8 travelling from Newcastle Upon Tyne, with ages ranging from 14 to 74 (2 parents, 4 children, 2 grandparents). We stayed over Christmas and stayed for 6 nights.
Paul met us on arrival and gave us a warm welcome and an introduction to the house. The 'treats' (especially the wine) were greatly appreciated after a long journey. The house was superb and met all of our needs, it had great facilities catering for all aspects of our stay. It is very open and airy, which suited us, and the views were fantastic.
Paul and Eilish were exceptional in helping us out of a situation we had enabling us to complete our stay.
All in all this was an excellent place to stay. It has great facilities, alot of grass and outside areas to play in - did i mention the games room - top notch!
Kilnaleck is a great place, not too far, and had all things we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Nothing really.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2014
17.1.2014.

Dear, Andrew & family.

I am very gracious for your very kind 5 Star review for Mc Evoy’s Self Catering which was posted today on Trip Advisor.

Your review is very much appreciated and will greatly encourage and help us to continue and improve our self catering business.

Kind regards to you and your family and I wish you all good health and happiness for 2014.


Best Wishes,

Paul Mc Evoy.

Mobile; 00353 864158366

Email; paulmce1@eircom.net.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing