We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury Retreat with Friends!”
other travellers have booked this property
Dining and Reading area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining and Reading area
The nearby Shannon Pot
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Dining and Reading area
The nearby Shannon Pot
River Shannon nearby
Marble Arch Caves
Kitchen and stairs
7' Slate pool table and home cinema surround sound
Nearby Lough McNean playground
Ground floor Bedroom
Front elevation
Ground floor wet room wheelchair accessible
Bedroom 4 ensuite
Clean air
Landing
Adjacent woodland
Lounge
Reading area
Balcony landing
Garden
Range cooker with double oven
Bedroom 4 ensuite
By Donegal bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Dowra, County Cavan

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PurpleIri...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location & a good space”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The setting was beautiful and the property has lots of space, books, games & hot water! However, there was some unfinished work around, like lights, plugs & network points that were still being installed. It was hard to childproof for a one year old. The wifi was great, but the entertainment system in the pool room was not really operational, which was a pity. We did enjoy the Trivial Pursuit though! A few more instructions about how to do the recycling etc. would also have been handy. We did have a scheduled power cut while we were there, but the owner informed us very promptly and was also very quick to respond when it reset the heating timer to help us fix it back to normal. All in all, we had an enjoyable stay, and would recommend it for a good base to visit all that Cavan and Fermanagh have to offer. Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of hot water & lovely setting
Liked least: A lot of things unfinished, like electrical work etc.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2014
Thank you for your honest review, and I would like to respond to some of the issues raised. I had intended to install a cat 6 computer network throughout the house but with the advent of the wifi technology I opted for the wireless network. To tidy up the loose ends I will fit blanking plates to all the redundant data and lighting points. In relation to the Nintendo Wii and home cinema system I will include an instruction sheet for the operation of both systems connecting to the LCD TV. Additionally I will provide written instructions for the heating system and describe the various controls relating to the solar panels. I appreciate your observations and hopefully the above actions will address some of the issues you have raised.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cazmuffin
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I researched rental properties on-line, predominantly looking for places with Wi-Fi/internet access and this property was flagged up. I immediately liked the look of the property - open-plan and spacious - with a games room for our 2 boys which had a full size pool table and wii games console, so at least they would be easily entertained if the weather was inclement. The property sleeps nine comfortably, with 4 bedrooms (3 en-suite). Well stocked kitchen with a lovely big red SMEG fridge. Seating areas very comfortable - wood burning stove in living-room area which we never had to use. The en-suite to downstairs bedroom has level deck shower so suitable for people with disabilities. The owner Mike has restored this old schoolhouse beautifully, providing a warm and inviting environment but also incorporating "green" credentials, having solar panels, biomass boiler system, reed bed technology and rainwater harvesting. Location is a bit out of the way so transport necessary, but we like isolated properties so it suited us perfectly. There is a local Spar in Dowra, about 10 minute drive from property. Bigger retail outlets available in Enniskillen and surrounding area about half an hours drive away. We stayed for 10 days which was ideal - but is also available for weekends/shorter/longer stays (we were fortunate to stay a little longer after negotiation with Mike before our holiday) - he is a very genial, and welcoming host, who even went to the bother of supplying a bbq for us on our arrival (plus a chilled bottle of vino in the fridge for us and biscuits for the kids. Nothing was too much bother. We were fortunate to have stayed during the "heatwave" in July, so weather was fantastic, allowing us to venture out & about - drove to Sligo to Strandhill Beach (eat at Shells restaurant - you will not be disappointed!), and Enniskillen very close. Florence Court & Castle Coole (National Trust properties) well worth a visit.
I would have no hesitation recommending this accommodation to anyone - in fact, it would nice to keep this place a secret so there would be no problem trying to book it in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of property and quiet area.
Liked least: The insects - bring insect repellant!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2013 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and homeliness
Liked least: Nothing - its perfect fo us
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Deborah M
Newtownards, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious bargain gem”
Reviewed 18 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

As soon as I saw the photos of its interior and what it had to offer, I was keen to book the Old Schoolhouse immediately. It had a such an instant novelty value - staying in a renovated, modernised schoolhouse, set within such a beautiful and sequestered location. But I was even more impressed when I arrived there for my week-long stay.

Michael was a brilliant host as he guided us around the house. Immediately likeable ... a perfect gentleman who went out of his way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. What impressed us instantly was the luxurious space of the accommodation : the dining room and lounge area are all open-plan, running the whole length of the house with a kitchen situated off to one side. There is also another living room with a wall-mounted fire. There are approximately four bedrooms : one is situated downstairs with an ensuite; the other three are upstairs, two of which have ensuites. A glass-panelled, wooden staircase leads up to the balcony which is lined with ever-changing lights.

Immaculately clean, tastefully and comfortably furnished, it looks very modern with its beige tilesdownstairs and wooden floors upstairs. It had every possible contrivance and luxury to make our stay comfortable. Michael was keen to show how 'green' and energy efficient the property was. It even had under-floor heating, which was scarcely needed. Downstairs with its many windows, the lounge and dining room felt so warm, it was like sitting in a solarium ( and we had both doors open ).

There is even a games room with a wall-mounted screen and a wii console. A 6-foot pool / snooker table only adds to the sense of luxury and consideration for the guest. There are also bookcases lined with loads of reading material and dvds.

This was a great holiday because of the acommodation. It would lend itself perfectly to large families ( there were seven of us and we stayed comfortably, having loads of room) or big parties. It was well worth the money - a bargain at that price for a week. You could not accomodate such a large number of people or stay anywhere else in such luxury anywhere else for so little money. The week just flew in and we were sorry to leave. It's definitely worth quite a few return visits : a weekend bolt-holt; a quiet family retreat; or a location for a raucous party where you will disturb no one. It deserves to be a popular success but I just hope we can get a booking whenever we want it again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious luxury, the sense of newness and the fact that everything we wanted was inside this house, meant that we did not want to stray too far away from it.
Liked least: There was honestly nothing about this accomodation that I could criticise.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing