We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting however our room 541 needs new carpet curtains and wallpaper lifting off the walls in room and bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The service, food and area are fab. Please do an overhaul as this is a nice retreat. We will be back

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bannerdublinireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and to read your kind comments regarding service and food. I will address the issues you raised regarding your bedroom immediately with the Accommodation Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future.
Kind regards
Tony Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,505 - 1,509 of 1,751 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting. Great for Golfer or walker. Beautiful garden with wome of the flowers coming into bloom. Very busy as it was Keith Barry show which was sold out. Rooms clean and comfortable> Plenty places to relax within the hotel if weather not the greatest. Food and service very good. Staf very professional and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet with only about 6 rooms in a small corridor away from bar and entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amtmcdaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your review and I was delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and found all aspects of your stay to your satisfaction. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future.
Kind regards
Tony Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Slieve Russell gives you a great time.
It's set in the midst of the beautiful lakelands of Co Cavan, and you can do anything there – walk, ride, go boating, eat, drink, listen to live music, generally unwind and meet the best people in the world.
Apart from the golf, the hotel has a lovely (warm!) swimming-pool, gyms and bars and restaurants, open fires, and the nicest staff you could hope to meet. They'll do anything for you, with a smile.
You'll step out of time, relax, laugh, feel refreshed and bucked up and cossetted. The craic's not just mighty – it's "ninety"!

Room Tip: Every room I've had has been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your visit to the Slieve Russell. I was delighted to read your positive comments about the hotel and that you had such an enjoyable stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Tony Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

stayed on a groupon deal with 3 other couples midweek
.Everything about the place was beyond expectation- friendly staff good food wonderful golf and fantastic leisure facilities.the rooms were bright airy spacious and the beds top quality.We will be back

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramblingman36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your review and I was delighted to read your lovely comments regarding food and staff and the hotel in general. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future.
Kind regards
Tony Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I cannot praise the weekend my wife and I just spent at the Slieve Russell Hotel. Right from when we arrived until we left the staff at the hotel and golf club could not do enough for us (and the hotel was full as it was half-term! The room was just right and the meals we had in the Sentanta restaurant were excellent. The golf course was a treat to play even in February and it's condition for this time of year is a credit to the ground staff and head green keeper.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone and look forward to going back again

Room Tip: No need all the rooms looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PC127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Slieve Russell. I was delighted to read your kind comments regarding your room and food and I will pass on your positive feedback regarding the golf course to the grounds staff and greenkeepers. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Tony Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyconnell
14.7 km away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
34.6 km away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,552 reviews
19 km away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 km away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
19.6 km away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
266 reviews
27.7 km away
Belmore Court Motel
Belmore Court Motel
#1 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Address: Cranaghan, Ballyconnell, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Ballyconnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Price Range: $188 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slieve Russell Hotel Golf & Country Club is a top quality four-star hotel. Set in 300 acres, including 50 acres of lakes, the resort offers a unique experience in relaxation and leisure. Facilities include 222 stylish bedrooms, a world-class spa, excellent conference and banqueting facilities, along with a magnificent leisure centre. Enhancing the facilities is a superb 18-hole championship golf course, (ranked 5th in a survey of Irish Parkland Courses) with a nine hole par 3 academy course and adventure golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Russell Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing