We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
124
64
33
16
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
64
33
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jazz bar tennis coach adult section entertainment staff seafood menu cuban ladies shaded palapas swim up bar low occupancy beach waiter restaurant buffet rain shower head cayo santa maria play tennis hand held shower a la carte restaurants pool deck
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2018

We had stayed from Oct 19th to Oct 26th.
Let's start from the beginning. The grounds and the lobby area are great. Not all the staff speak English though.
Check-in is fast and easy and since the hotel is 95% empty, the rooms are available.

The beach area is massive. Lots of shaded palapas and lounge chairs. There is a beach bar with a very eccentric but amazing server, Raider.
Cons of the beach area: there is a swamp separating the beach from the resort and the smell of decaying leaves and swarms of gnats is overpowering. Gnats will eat you alive and I had 104 bites on my legs only. (bug spray does not help). The shoreline is very shallow and full of jellyfish that lifeguards toss into the sand. It does make up for great snorkeling though!

The food. Yes, you should lower your standards when in Cuba. However, this was a complete disaster. The only fresh vegetable available ALL WEEK, was a cucumber. Nothing else... Grilling stations have pork and beef chops and fish steaks. That is it. Three items and no sauce apart from butter. Every single day. On day 4, the buffet was closed altogether. Dinner was served at A la Carte restaurants only. There are 3 of them and only two available per day. So you don't have a choice. I don't understand, they have ingredients yet they can't (don't want)to cook?
The staff though were simply amazing. They tried so hard and did their job admirably. The coffee at lobby bar was fantastic as well.
Drinks are ok, too bad the drink menu became available on our last day.

The pool area was under construction. Drilling was done till 4pm daily.

The rooms are great and clean. The cleaning staff did a fantastic job on a daily basis.

The hotel needs to do a lot of work to be a 4 star resort.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Elena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SECCG, Director of Sales at Hotel Sercotel Experience Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear Elena H:

Thanks a lot for your comment on TripAdvisor.
All our staff it´s very grateful for your comments cause it´s really a motivation for their hard work.
Regarding to mosquitoes, our hotel is located in an area of lush vegetation, flora and fauna, thias medium favors the existence of different types of insects, and mosquitoes. To make the stay more pleasant for our customers, we always recommend to take some simple steps, such as using repellent. The Buffet was closed for maintenance, as an alternative we open the Ranchón with a similar offer.
Besides, we really sorry the inconveniences caused for the reparation near to the pool.
It will be really nice to welcome you back in our resort for another memorable vacation.

Thank you for your contribution.
Director of Sales
Dayana Rodríguez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

This hotel was clean, and service was the best at the jazz bar, the bar men knew what he was doing. He made our trip worth it. The rest was okay. What I disliked the most was when we exchange our Canadian money to CUC the person at the exchange would give us change for a 20$ and in between dollars he would give us a 25 cents instead of a dollar, he did this with us and another person I talked to at the jazz bar from Toronto Canada.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SECCG, Director of Sales at Hotel Sercotel Experience Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear Eric G:

We really appreciate your having taken the time to write this review with such a description of our facilities, services and staff. We feel very proud to know you felt great at our resort.We really sorry for the situation at the Bank, we will check with them to avoid this kind of misunderstandings.
We heartily hope this will not be your last visit. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Director of Sales
Dayana Rodríguez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

october 9-16 .Escaped hurricane Michael. One week of sun and relaxation .spent one week with friends. Each had our own room. Always a plus. Our room was section 3 on the second level. Had excellent service all round. Our chambermaid was grand. kept everything clean and washed floors each day. lots of clean towels.Large swim up bar with waterfall overflow to another pool and a third smaller pool and a kiddie pool. Very clean. wait staff excellent in all restaurants and specially restaurants. The public relations officer Lissbetty was most helpful with a few concerns we had with the security guard in the adult section.They have a incredible jazz bar near the lobby which is open in the evening till 10pm . It is also ac which was great as it was really hot.
Live entertainment was excellent .master sax player and an excellent classical guitarist .The drinks were amazing . some of the best mohitos anywhere.
The food was abundant and something for everyone. I do complain about the butter they use as it tastes like margarine. All the resorts have been using this for a couple of years. Not great. Also there were no french fries in the evening at the 24 hour restaurant. This would be the best time for the clients to want these.Maybe when they are busier this will change. The 24 hour restaurant was never busy as in other resorts.
They were using a lot of coconut desserts which was delicious.

Some of the cons. yes the locals are now allowed to go to these resorts. I give you that they need to learn to social skills, I am sure this will come with time. after all they deserve a holiday as do we, They are also paying dearly for their holiday. And some of our own french canadians could take some lessons in social skills as well.All in all we have to accept people as they are. I have a grand time with all the cubans, They put up with a lot with all clients I am sure.
A few shout outs for the animation group who work very hard to entertain even when the number of clients are low. Jesus,Gabi,Rene,calderon ,dana,Amaya and Rapen.

This is a new resort and a few kinks will be worked out I am sure. They are doing their best. I am hoping for the best as I really enjoyed my stay.

This is number 44 visits to cuba.I know the people and their life. I will continue to spend my time in a country where they show respect for their elders and love their children. We could learn a lot from these people . We are a spoiled and privileged culture and forget how beautiful a simple life can be.
I would recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a taste of cuba . I would not recommend any trip to cuba for those who want exactly what they would get at a DR or Mexican or any any other american type resort.

Room tip: rooms in 3 ,4 ,5 are close to lobby. pool and buffet and restaurants
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank irishSaintJohnN_b_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SECCG, Director of Sales at Hotel Sercotel Experience Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Dear irishSaintJohnN_b_:

We are so proud to know guests may get such a good impression of our resort! It feels really nice to receive such nice compliments! We are certain that future travelers will benefit from your experience when choosing their next relaxing hide-away. Thank you so much for sharing your ideas with them.

Regarding to the food, we are trying to improve the offers because we want to take a special service to all our clients, maybe the taste of the butter is similar to the margarine cause has no salt.

We are taking in consideration all the comments of our clients and working hard to be everyday better.

See you soon!

Best regards,
Dayana Rodríguez
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Such a great experience, will definitely come back on my next trip to Cuba.
The hotel was really faultless, Employees were very polite and helpful.
Food was a 10/10.
Tried other Hotels nearby, but no one like this one.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SECCG, Director Comercial at Hotel Sercotel Experience Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear Daniel M:

It has felt really good to read your review. We understand you have had a really good time, even when your experience has not been exactly perfect. We have been working very hard in the improvement of food and we will continue doing our best to make our guests feel satisfied in this respect.

It would be great to have you again as our guest at Sercotel Experience Cayo Santa María in the near future.

Thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,
Dayana Rodríguez Montes
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

My husband and I love this place. They know when you've been already there. You can make friends. There's everything clean. The only thing that should be better is the treatment with cuban clients at the beach and the music's volume. The rest is already there.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Arwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SECCG, Director of Sales at Hotel Sercotel Experience Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear Arwen H:

It has been a pleasure to receive you again and to know through your review, that you have had a pleasant stay at Sercotel Experience. We heartily appreciate your advices regarding the services received and we will keep on working in the improvement of their performance. Regarding to the music´s volume our Entertainment Chief it will in charge about it, so that our customers feel comfortable and without louds.

It will be very nice to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Dayana Rodrígues
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews