We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Smallish Temple at Xuan Guang Pier

After getting down at Xuan Guang Pier, we climbed up a short flight of stairs to this temple... read more

Reviewed 18 October 2020
PaulSiow
,
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
A reflective temple visit telling a great story of courage and perseverance.

In January 2020 my wife and I included a 6 night Wendy Wu private tour of Taiwan as part of our 18... read more

Reviewed 24 April 2020
Geoff C
,
Brisbane
Read all 88 reviews
  
Google
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Yuchi
from USD 165.00
More Info
from USD 25.65
More Info
from USD 676.93
More Info
from USD 37.00
More Info
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
14
28
39
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
14
28
39
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2018 via mobile

You get off a round lake boat at Xuan Guang Pier and walk 5 minutes, then you can reach this temple. The majority of tourists just visit this temple. But if you are fit, you can walk another 20 minutes on a hiking path to Xuan Zhuang Temple.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank kimitakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 November 2018

We take a boat ride to here & go up to Xuan Guang Si. After that back to down, one group for live music (Taiwan songs).

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Mi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2017

My girlfriend and I visited this temple by taking the boat, and once we got off, we saw many tourists and of course the famous tea egg.

There were two temples there, one was under renovation, and the other was filled with visitors, so we just took some photos outside and left for the Xuanzang Temple, which is about a 10 minute walk away.

Overall, this temple guards the other temple, 玄光寺 meaning that the light of 玄奘 or Venerable Master XuanZang.

He has translated many sutras from Sanskrit in the Tang Dynasty, his story was eventually turned into the novel "The Journey to the West," and recently turned into a movie called 大唐西域記.

Namo Amitofo.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank ChinaXuanzang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We took the boat to Xuan Guang Si, The ride was fun. We got down and walked around. Nice view. But takes a lot of walking,

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank MANILAROSE59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This is a second pier when travel by boat ticket. Small temple with good view of Sun moon lake (You have to take the stairs to go up to reach temple about 10 minutes). Unfortuately I visited in October 2016, The temple is in maintainance, only take the pictures at roof and stone.

Date of experience: October 2016
2  Thank kookyKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews