We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (4,407)
Filter reviews
4,407 results
Traveller rating
1,953
1,788
573
65
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,953
1,788
573
65
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass bottom cable car crystal cabin taipei zoo glass floor long ride nice ride tea house nice view normal cabin last stop afraid of heights crystal car clear bottom brown line long queue fresh air
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 4,407 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Really nice ride up the mountain. Be sure to allow a couple of hours to explore at the top. Nice easy hiking trails. Great views from the Buddhist Temple. Nice restaurants and street foods available.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank davidwilliamo357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We had a nice day out to the Maokong Gondola. It was extremely easy to get to from our hotel by the MRT. We went on a public holiday but the lines weren't too crazy. The line for the crystal bottom was longer than the normal cabin. Both the crystal cabin and normal are the same price, the difference is wait time. Normal cabins can hold 6-8 people, and crystal cabins hold 5 people max. Going up, we shared our normal cabin (we were 4 people). Going down, we chose to wait for the crystal cabin and had it to ourselves.

When we got off, we explored the area. Walked one of the little trails, tried the Iron Buddha bubble tea, kids had grilled corn, hubs tried the onion pancake and we all had some of the fruit drinks (lime jelly juice).

We used our baby carrier, but it's totally doable with a stroller.

By the way, we don't recommend the $50 Taiwanese dollars for two sausages (tiny little grill as soon as you come out of the Maokong station). Horrible meat- we ended up throwing it away. 

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank siuling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

If you have a EasyCard, just hop straight in line because there's no signs to state it. The regular cabins and crystal cabins (transparent floor) are the same price but staff say that the crystal takes longer as there's only 1 crystal to every 7 regular. We opted for the crystal and it ended up being faster because not many people were lining up for it - and it was a plus as we didn't have to share a cabin. (Crystal 5 people, regular 6-8 people)

The ride is pretty cool, there's a couple of stops you can get off at for the zoo etc. But we stayed on for the whole ride up to MaoKong. It operates until pretty late like 9pm - it's about 120NTD per person 1 way, there's men walking up and down while you line up offering rides up the mountain for 75 per person (it's really not worth it) he will tell you that the wait is over an hour but it took us 20 mins tops.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank TravelWithTracyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Be sure to take an Easy Card to avoid a ticket queue! It cost 120NTD one way to get from the bottom station to the top Maokong station, we opted for a clear bottom gondola and the view of the landscape and forest was pretty spectacular. For the price it's well worth it, just be aware that in peak times the line can be very very long! Well worth the trip however. Best suited to a group of 4-5 as it means you'll likely get a gondola to yourself.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Bradenthechin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This ride to the top is cheap but be ready for a long ride. It was windy when we went so you could hear the wind and it was a little scary for me but my family enjoyed it! I was expecting a more fancy tea places and restaurants and information center once at the top but i think they really intended it low profile, after all, it's a tea farm.

We were hungry when we went and stopped at the 1st restaurant we saw but realized that had we walked further, there's actually a lot more places to eat (turn right after you leave the Gondola building). If you walk further up, there's tea plantations and we actually watched them pick tea leaves.

We chose to ride a Taxi back to MRT and it was about the same time going up. It's nice to see both ways and I would recommend taking the taxi going down unless you wanted the Gondola thrill.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews