We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Older user
United States

Modern accommodation very handy for the train station (and for Giant bikes)

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Oct 2023
We chose this place purely because of its proximity to Giant bikes and the train station (we were arriving by train and planned to cycle the Hualien to Taitung route). It proved to be an inspired choice. We had a good value windowless room - much lighter than many window-ed rooms I've stayed in. Everything was clean and modern. The guy who greeted us couldn't have been more helpful. There were bikes we could borrow, umbrellas offered etc... We only had a night to explore Hualien but that was enough time to see the night market, walk by the sea and even have a few Taiwanese beers outside the beer shop just along from the hotel. Recommend.
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Handy for train station.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$121
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from The Fantasy Apartment
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$46
  • Priceline
0.2 km from The Fantasy Apartment
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$93
  • Booking.com
1.6 km from The Fantasy Apartment
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$44
  • Booking.com
1.4 km from The Fantasy Apartment
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$110
  • Booking.com
2.1 km from The Fantasy Apartment
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$110
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from The Fantasy Apartment
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$90
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from The Fantasy Apartment
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$105
  • Booking.com
2.0 km from The Fantasy Apartment
Free Wifi
戶外泳池
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$146
  • Booking.com
3.3 km from The Fantasy Apartment
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hualien City
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
34
19
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
34
19
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018

It's a shame we only spent 2 days in this hotel because we absolutely loved the spacious, modern room. Owner offered us a free ride on his scooter, offered us free whisky and beer from his own fridge and to top it all up he even went to the train station with us to show us where we could buy tickets for the bus to Taroko Gorge. They have a map with highlights in the neighbourhood and nice places to eat breakfast.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank liog720
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

The Fantasy Apartment is well located, close to the train station. The room is clean and nicely decorated (boutique style), with a spacious bathroom and a very good shower. Staff is very friendly and helpful. And finally, it is certainly good value for money (TWD 1600 per night). Most hotels/B&Bs we have stayed in in Taiwan charge much more for less.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MaritvG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in room 205 in January 2017. The room has no window but the room is large and with white lights and curtains, you won't notice the difference. Bathroom is big and with an equally big shower stall. In room safe, hair dryer, fridge, kettle/warmer, electrical sockets, USB ports for charging phones, tablets etc, big flat screen TV which we didn't use, disposable slipers for the floor is tiled and cold in the morning, queen sized bed with 4 comfortable pillows. 

The pantry next to the reception has coffee and tea making facility, bottles of water and also a fridge and there were fruits the time we were there, and we were welcome to make full use of it. 

The location is excellent as it is less than 5 minutes walk away from the train station and food is plentiful all over. 

Molly, the day time 'attendant/care taker/boss', pointed out more food outlets on a map than we can ever sampled for the duration of our stay. She also helped us to secure a taxi for our tour of Taroko Gorge for the next day and answered the many questions we had. The owner and wife took over from Molly at night and they are just as warm and helpful. Great place to stay.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EKYSeremban_Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

Location is a 5 min walk from Hualien station, walk out of the station area to the Main Street and turn right, it's about one block down.
The rooms are spacious and clean, no issues with hot water.
The owners are lovely people, husband and wife alternate between night and day shifts. They ensure that you get a map with pointers on where to eat/what do/see etc. we took their advice and hired a scooter from across the road for $500ntd for a day to explore the taroko gorge (keep in mind the bike place keeps your passport until the bike is returned, in case that's an issue for you), great idea as we explored at our own pace.
There's a supermarket really close to the hotel that's quite cheap and open until 11pm as recommended by the hotel owners.

Only cons were that if you want to go to the night market you might want to either cab over or take a scooter/moped as it's rather far and also a bit far to restaurants serving dinner, but nothing google maps and a bit of exploring won't solve.

Overall really happy with the stay, 10/10 for service.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Josephine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2017

This hotel is located about a five minute walk to the train station. They don't serve breakfast, but you can buy hearty breakfast food at restaurant just outside the hotel any time after 5:30 in the morning. They also provide free bottled water, and instant coffee and tea. The room has a mini fridge and is clean and comfortable with a amazing, extra large shower and plenty of hot water.

Service at the hotel is excellent: Molly, who works during the day, was quite helpful in providing us with information and directions, including a food map of yummy street foods around town. At night, another really nice couple is working and they call Molly if you have a question in English.

Two small complaints: the bathroom door doesn't go all the way to the floor so there's not a lot of privacy. Probably due to the language barrier, I couldn't understand how to operate the central air and it was blowing on me while I was in bed and I was too cold.

Great value at 1584 TWD a night for a double - highly recommended!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PicnicAtTheCathedral
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews