We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Chiaoli L

Best B & B experience in Hualien, Taiwan

Review of Fun House B&B
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Sept 2017via mobile
We have had a wonderful trip to Taiwan for 10 days, specially in Hualien. We have stayed in Fun House B & B for 4 nights, feeling like at our own sweet home with clean, comfortable rooms and best breakfasts we had ever had. It was obvious that our hostess made them with love and skills, the food were so tasted and healthy, and the tours our hosts arranged for us were just full of surprises and fun! We definitely will go back next year. We highly recommend the Fun house B&B to everybody -- solo or group travelers visiting Taiwan. Love and care make this place very special.
Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$124
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$124
  • Priceline
    AU$113
  • Hotels.com
    AU$124
3.5 km from Fun House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$53
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$48
  • Trip.com
    AU$36
  • Expedia.com
    AU$58
3.2 km from Fun House B&B
Free Wifi
AU$115
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$115
  • Official Site
    AU$76
  • Priceline
    AU$105
3.3 km from Fun House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$138
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$122
  • Hotels.com
    AU$122
  • Priceline
    AU$126
5.3 km from Fun House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
飯店周邊戶外泳池
AU$185
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$185
  • KLOOK
    AU$148
  • Hotels.com
    AU$185
5.8 km from Fun House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$46
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$41
  • Expedia.com
    AU$53
  • Hotels.com
    AU$46
3.5 km from Fun House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$94
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$94
  • Agoda.com
    AU$93
  • Vio.com
    AU$93
5.1 km from Fun House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$86
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$86
  • Trip.com
    AU$77
  • Hotels.com
    AU$86
3.4 km from Fun House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
戶外泳池
AU$140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$140
  • Priceline
    AU$125
  • Hotels.com
    AU$140
6.3 km from Fun House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hualien City
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
126
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
126
8
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We had a spacious and lovely room that had a mountain view. The hosts Sherry, David and Ann are so warm and welcoming. The breakfasts were amazingly delicious. I thoroughly enjoyed my 3 day stay at Fun House B&B.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 June 2017

The Fun House is a delicately decored home that's very welcoming to its guest! The room was spacious and comfortable, and the breakfast was superb. A lil drawback is that Wifi isn't very strong, but could be a way to help you relax.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahc612
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 April 2017

This is my second time here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Truly loved the comfort and hospitality of this place - beautiful in every corner! Superb cleanliness and sincerity in everything they do, from the breakfast to the decor. This should be the reason why people come to visit Hualien. Highly highly recommended!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irisng132017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fun香氛居家, 業者 at Fun House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thanks for staying with us again Iris, it was such a pleasure seeing you back ! Hope you had a great trip in Taiwan this time with friends, till next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

This is a long overdue post. We visited Hualien in Feb 2016, but till this day, my family and I still remember the warm hospitality and kindness of David and Sherry with fondness and gratitude.

Apart from the comfortable rooms, special mention must be made of the breakfast painstakingly prepared by Sherry each morning. And she does it with pride. Presentation was immaculate, but the taste impressed us even more. Because I was in the 2nd trimester if my pregnancy, Sherry went the extra mile to brew a pot of black soymilk for me, while the rest of the family were treated to freshly brewed coffee. Such was the extent of their attentiveness and generosity. We also enjoyed our conversations with them each morning. David and Sherry are such an open and sharing couple. We learned so much from them. Their food philosophy is to cook for their guests as if they are family. David and Sherry also have tips for getting around Hualien. Do engage them early in your trip plans to find out more.

The B&B is outside of the main town centre, some 10-15min away. But set in an affluent residential area that is tranquil and safe. A mere 2 min walk from the B&B is a lovely steamboat restaurant, in fact it served up the best hotpot that we had all trip. Generous portions and mind-blowing on a chilly night.

Their lifestyle is inspiring and has convinced us that Hualien must be one of the best cities in the world to live in. If we ever visit Hualien again, will definitely return to Fun House.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Francinettee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

We loved Fun house from the moment we stepped in. We were warmly welcomed by David, Sherry and Ann ( The Host ) and after an easy check in we were shown our room on the 3rd floor. The house and the room is well done up, clean and with a lot of arty touch around the house. I heard Ann loves art and perhaps I think that's the influence.

The room looks out to the beautiful mountains of Toroko and what a feeling to sit on the bed sipping coffee watching the clouds change textures and frames every single second. It's bliss !!!

I highly recommend Fun house for a great stay and I am definitely going to come back again sooner than later !

谢谢 David, Sherry & Ann

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 91kailashn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews