We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
ZenHotels.com
AU$43
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
ICDC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

No frills but very good

Review of Cullinan Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Oct 2018
This no frills place is ideal for anyone with an eye for a good deal but has a restricted budget. You get picked up from the station if you notify the hotel a day before hand, good breakfast, free bikes and the rooms are comfortable and of a good size. Although we did not use it there is even a laundry in the house. And the Dongdamen market is within ride-able distance. Taxis can be arranged to any other destinations in town at affordable rates. Staff have restricted English but are helpful. I would recommend this place for any practical traveler who is not in need of anything fancy.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$118
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Cullinan Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$95
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Cullinan Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
ツインの部屋
Tripadvisor
AU$117
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Cullinan Hotel
Restaurant
飯店周邊戶外泳池
Tripadvisor
AU$185
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.8 km from Cullinan Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
輕旅兩單床房
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$52
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Cullinan Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$38
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from Cullinan Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$107
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Cullinan Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$110
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Cullinan Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$90
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Cullinan Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hualien City
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
59
69
19
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
59
69
19
2
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2018

We chose this hotel for an overnight stay as part of our travel around the east side of taiwan. The lobby is ok with a relatively small front desk. Check in was smooth and no issues. A single elevator shows how smallish this establishment is. Among the 3 rooms, 1 had bad smoking residue for a hotel that claims it is no smoking. They changed us to another room which was the next higher category just so that our group can stay in the same floor.

The setup were low ceiling, which made the place smaller than its declared size. Nice firm bed with an aircon that is directed towards the bed. Toilet is unfortunately dilapidated, with towels that needs replacing.

breakfast area was quite roomy, but lighting made it gloomy. Breakfast buffet food choices were basic and nothing great but sufficient for the price we paid for the room.

For an overnight stay without frills, this hotel is quite adequate. Don't expect any more than that, and its fine.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank al22tecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Your run-of-the-mill mid-range hotel. By far the best thing about this hotel was the staff who were very friendly and keen to help. The rooms were a little dated and rough around the edges, but clean and served their purpose.
The breakfast buffet wasn't anything to write home about.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdm852
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Good:
- breakfast exceeded expectation formed from other reviews, very tasty and sufficient variety for Asians (recommend hash brown, black sesame buns, and fried rice noodles!)
- bicycles can be borrowed for free, fun to be cycling around hualien, about 15 mins of cycling around the city will bring you to the countryside.
- rooms are clean, spacious
- 20 mins walk to big night market 自強夜市, taxi to hualien train/bus stations was twd130.
- hotel offers a free lift to the hualien train station one time per stay, very convenient
- spacious rooms, especially family rooms, have sofa inside
- wooden floor board, felt so much cleaner than carpeted ones.
- very nice staff

Bad
- we stayed in multiple rooms, one of the rooms smelled funny but was ok after turning on air-conditioning for a while

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank d_trips66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

첫 화련여행이었는데 첫인상이 깔끔하고 좋았어요. 조식도 나오고 객실도 깨끗하고 가격대비 만족스러웠어요. 저렴한가격이지만 몇가지 개선사항 빼고는 좋았어요.
다만 객실에 비누가 없는것과 직원들이 업무에 미숙한 부분이 있었네요. 저희는 타이루거 반나절투어가려고 직원에 물어봤는데 잘모르는듯 하더군요. 또다른아쉬움은 직원분들의 미소가 없어요ㅠㅜ 대체적으로 대만분들이 친절하고 미소짓는데 호텔직원이 넘 사무적이고 얼굴이 굳어져있어 의아했다는~~하지만 불친절한건 아니었네요
Good price, comfortable beds, good facilities, good breakfast. However, the staff didn't smile😞 They need to be trained to smile to guests. I felt they didn't want to work there or be kind to us.
Overall, a reasonable place for 2 nights.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank junghip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2017

This trip I travel with my family. I find that the breakfast not much varieties, mostly vegetarian food, no meat. Remember to lock your room door when you are inside otherwise can be easily open from outside. Location to night market is ok.

Room tip: Remember to lock the room door when you are inside the room.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PoonS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews