We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
SarahB0Barah
Stevenson, Maryland

Very big rooms, nice staff

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Aug 2014
The rooms here are pretty big compared to other budget hotels around Taiwan. Good TV with a comfortable bed, ample space for suitcases, and a mini fridge. Strong AC keeps the room as cold as you want. The bathroom is very big (albeit in need of updating) and has everything you need. Toiletries included. They even have a reliable wifi connection. There is a free breakfast each morning that is just a nice perk to have if you decide to stay here for other reasons, but I didn't think it was anything special or worth selecting this place over another. The location is close enough to walk to a main street with restaurants/convenience stores and if you're up for a long walk you can make it to the beach, which also has a night market nearby. However, if you are traveling by train, the walk is pretty long to get to/from the station. Also, there was a pretty significant (5.9) earthquake during one of the mornings there and the staff had absolutely no reaction or guidance for the hotel guests. As we hurried to go outside, they just watched with a confused look from behind their desk.

All-in-all, this is a great place that would have a full 5/5 rating if not for the lackluster breakfast, the outdated bathroom, the distance from the public transportation and the staff's failure to handle an earthquake situation properly. Definitely worth the money. If I'm ever back in Hualien, this would certainly be a place I'd stay again.
Date of stay: May 2014
Room Tip: Make sure to look out the window in your bathroom, as there was a clear view into our window from...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    AU$113
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Lienfook Hostelry Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$44
  • Booking.com
1.9 km from Lienfook Hostelry Hualien
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$139
  • Booking.com
2.6 km from Lienfook Hostelry Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$93
  • Booking.com
1.5 km from Lienfook Hostelry Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    AU$41
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Lienfook Hostelry Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$118
  • Booking.com
2.1 km from Lienfook Hostelry Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
飯店周邊戶外泳池
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$161
  • Booking.com
4.0 km from Lienfook Hostelry Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    AU$77
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Lienfook Hostelry Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
戶外泳池
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$125
  • Booking.com
4.1 km from Lienfook Hostelry Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hualien City
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
11
23
10
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
11
23
10
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel is in the centre of 2 different night markets (ziqiang night market and cai hong night market). It is located near my famous eateries as well, making it really accessible to a lot of location.
Service wise, the hotel staff do not really know their stuffs. And they were not very pro active in helping the tourists out in planning of their itinerary. One good thing is that there is breakfast included, laundry service where you can wash your own clothings.

No room service is done to our room. When we ask the staff, they told us it was because we did not pass the hotel key to them.

Room tip: As the lift is really slow, staying in low level helps a lot.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank logapluslogb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2014

excellent place to stay!Great location,clean rooms with good size(like the picture in my room),big bathroom with window),friendly staff,more then enough breakfast.
You can rent your scooter here to go around;Taroko about 30 min easy to go),also fun driving around the small city center,,

great nightmarkets(2 of them)..check them out!

once again,nothing at all to complain,you even can wash your clothes there for free!

used tripadvisor and booked finally via expedia,great price,i paid 28 Euro a night....

Date of stay: January 2014
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Rayk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a good and clean business hotel in Hualien. I visited Hualien twice, and I stayed at this hotel twice. All staffs are kind and professional. Room size is large enough for our family. Hotel location is near the commercial area of Hualien city, so it is convenient for shopping or dining. If you want to find a comfortable hotel with reasonable price, you can consider it.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waraiotoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Before i was choosing this hotel, i've read many reviews about this hostel, and find it very good. So did i tried. And i was not wrong, this place is good and worth for the money i paid. The rooms are cleaner and interior was very good. Rooms are quite small though, but still liked the way they arranged the interior. Breakfast was not much, but good for a bite. Main town area is around 10-15 mins walk distance. There are around some local food restaurants, and fast food chain restaurants are not nearby. atleast 30-40 minutes walk. This place little off the road, so it may hard to find if im not with the driver i engaged for the day trip. Reception staffs are good with english, so could nt find any problem with communication though, and are very helpful.

Room tip: Every room looks same i think.. and no view s around.. so anyroom would be good
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiazG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Not bad hotel. Expect the minimum with this decently priced accommodation in Hualien. Clean rooms, good breakfast, good location.
I would recommend if you're looking for a no-hassle restful night.

None extraordinary expectations please.

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PerthlingfromPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eliwu, 經理 at Lienfook Hostelry Hualien, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at lienfook Hostelry . I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and to receive such a positive and warm review of your stay.

we hope to see you again

Once again thank you to choosing to stay with us .

Regards

Eli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews