We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rupert S
Singapore, Singapore

Good price for services

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Dec 2018via mobile
Very reasonable prices for the level of service rendered. Free shuttle bus provided every hour which is very useful to have. Very nice games rooms with laundry services available. Rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. We used this as a Base to visit the nearby taroko gorge national park and the nearby spa towns. Highly recommended indeed.
Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FullonHL, 總經理 at Fullon Hotel Hualien, responded to this review
Responded 29 Dec 2018
Dear Rupert S, thank you for visiting the Fullon Hotel Hualien! For the comments you gave us are the biggest driving force for the hotel's progress.
We hope that in the near future, you will be able to visit again, so that we can have the opportunity to serve you, and please continue to give us the most enthusiastic support and love, thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$124
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.9 km from Fullon Hotel Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
飯店周邊戶外泳池
AU$185
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$185
0.7 km from Fullon Hotel Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$122
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$122
1.5 km from Fullon Hotel Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$168
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
3.0 km from Fullon Hotel Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$86
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$86
4.3 km from Fullon Hotel Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$44
  • Priceline
3.2 km from Fullon Hotel Hualien
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    AU$76
  • Expedia.com
    AU$115
3.0 km from Fullon Hotel Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$49
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Fullon Hotel Hualien
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$44
  • Priceline
3.9 km from Fullon Hotel Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hualien City
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
54
57
21
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
54
57
21
10
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2018

We stayed in this hotel during a Taiwan roundtrip with my family. We had high expectations from the hotel as fullon is one of Taiwan's high end hotel chains. But the stay was at best 'fair'.
The basic facilities of the hotel are excellent. Beautiful lobby, Pool is great, Great spa. Nice rooms, silence and cleanlyness. There are however a couple of real spoilers:

The hotel is located at a semi-industrial part of the Hualien harbour. Although I felt safe when making an evening stroll, there is really nothing to do in the evening.

This would not have been such a problem when the hotel would have had nice internal alternatives in the evening. But they don't. There is no bar, the restaurant closes early. They won't serve you a coffeee inthe lobby. There is reallly no place to stay if you would like to have relaxing conversation before or after dinner.

The restaurant as such as managed as a factory, not as a comfortable place to have a good time. The use strict timing policies and you are forced to leave the restaraurant area after 20:30 (!) with no other place to go in the building than your room. With NT$750 the dinner buffet is heavily overpriced for Taiwan standards. The buffet is primarily focussed on Chinese customers. There is a very small corner with a very limited selection of western food (sloppy pizza and fries). I had a great dinner with their sushi and dumplings, but I know that a lot of western customers would not like this buffet.

Also for breakfast they are having this zero tolerance timing policy. They even forced a family next to us with children of 2 and 3 year to leave the breakfast area at 10:00 although the children were still struggling with their food.
Next evening we switched to a hotel close the Hualien night market and it was not until then that we found out that Hualien has such a nice and cosy innercity. Wouldn't go for Fullon Hualien a second time.

Room tip: Don't pay extra for sea view. You will be overlooking an industrial area anyway.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FullonHL, 總經理 at Fullon Hotel Hualien, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking your valuable time sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you liked our rooms. Meanwhile we are truly regret that our restaurant couldn't meet your expectations. We have well conveyed your comments to the concerned department for actions and improvements. We look forward to meeting you again in the near future to see our improvement.

Sincerely yours,

Fullon Hotel Hualien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Very clean and modern. I had a room on the 15th floor which was large and spacious with a wonderful view of the Pacific Ocean. There was a traditional area with cushions on the floor to have tea. Plenary of storage place everywhere. Most important of all the air conditioner worked really well and I was able to set it to a cool 18C every night. It’s a bit of a walk to downtown Hualien but the hotel offers a shuttle service if you were so inclined. The staff was also extremely courteous and friendly.

The breakfast buffet is typical Chinese but does have some western offerings as well — cereal, fried eggs, cheese, etc. and occasionally ham and/or bacon.

There wasn’t an iron in the room, but they brought it up promptly when asked. The conference had a banquet at the hotel for two consecutive nights. This was a 15-20 course meal (maybe more if seemed endless),
all catered by the hotel.

No complaints at all. I recommend it highly.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank 721nesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FullonHL, 總經理 at Fullon Hotel Hualien, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dear Ness S,

Thank you for choosing Fullon Hotel Hualien. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was extremely kind of you to share the wonderful experiences. We will provide our best quality services and rooms continuously to all of our guests.
We look forward to meeting you again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Fullon Hotel Hualien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Good : new hotel so clean big rooms, hotel staff was polite and courteous, sea view was excellent.

Average: Located 2-3 km away from city downtown

Poor: Horrible food, we had a late lunch after hike and it was pathetic, both me any friend could not eat anything, fried rice was stale, chicken curry had odd smell .... Even breakfast buffet was very very average.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank K54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FullonHL, 總經理 at Fullon Hotel Hualien, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you liked our rooms and services. Meanwhile we are truly regret that our restaurant couldn't meet your expectations. We have well conveyed your comments to the concerned department for actions and improvements. We look forward to meeting you again in the near future to see our improvement. 

Sincerely yours,

Fullon Hotel Hualien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Again, I am reviewing an hotel that can't understand the most important point of staying in a hotel: being able to sleep!!!!

At the Fullon, somebody decided to install ultra modern LED lit EXIT signs in all rooms, without considering that the sign actually flows the whole room with light during the night. So, unless you bring an eye mask, forget about sleeping.
As if the light issue was not enough, the air con system has been installed without silencers, and even when turned off it keeps emitting a strong humming sound, so if you only brought the mask, hard luck! You should also have brought ear plugs.

Seriously, what is in the designer/architech/manager's mind when they build hotels?

Breakfast is a typical taiwanese affair, mainly adapted to the locals' taste. No point in trying to get bread that actually tastes bread, not uncommon in the island, but for 100USD/night, they could try to provide better western options, Hualien is not a metropoli for sure, but somewhere there must be a decent baker.

And finally, if you plan to use the swimming pool, bear in mind that they require you to wear the kind of tight professional swimmer's swimming suits that would only fit somebody with Johnny Weismuller's muscular body, and just looks disgusting on any body else. If you are image conscious and wish to wear your every-day's bath trunks you will have to pretend you never saw the sign at the entrance and ignore it for the greater good of esthetics.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank touringpalau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Stayed here for one night recently. Large lobby area and next door to a shopping center. Rooms are clean and quiet and the staff is friendly. Breakfast is included with both Chinese and Western foods.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews