We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tuna

Relaxing family stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Jan 2017via mobile
Fullon Hotel is located within the coastal region of Hualien. It has a nice ocean view overlooking wharfs. As Hualien has a large area, it is within 10 mins drive to Hualien central markets. The Fullon Hotel has bus facilities that picks you up from Hualien train station and goes between the hotel as well as the Hualien central markets.

Checking into the hotel was hassle-free. As we had purchased coupons from travel expo in Taipei, the trip included sauna vouchers, breakfast, lunch and dinner vouchers and bike riding vouchers. The hotel also offers bar services, outdoor swimming pool, spa and sauna services, karaoke and games room. Our room was located in 315 with a beautiful ocean view. We stayed a total of two nights. The room was fairly spacious with two king beds. Snacks and water bottles were provided complimentary.

Bathroom facilities were large and spacious, although showering did cause mild flooding. Housekeeping kept the bathroom extremely clean and tidy. Wifi was complimentary and stable.

Useful guides were also placed in the room for our reference on local food and produce. They also had a map of available bike trail which was useful in exploring in the afternoon. It was a pity that they do not regularly service the bicycles as all the tandem bikes had at least 1 flat tyre. However, this was rectified shortly. You will need passport/identification cards to be able to use the bicycle facilities for insurance purposes.

The meals provided were great: buffet breakfast was delicious, the Chinese-themed yumchar lunch is delicious, although semi-buffet dinner wasn't that great.

Overall it was a great stay, great location with fairly good food. Definitely a place to come back to. Fairly good service and clean rooms and beautiful view.
Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$117
  • Booking.com
2.9 km from Fullon Hotel Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$135
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Fullon Hotel Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    AU$123
  • Booking.com
3.0 km from Fullon Hotel Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    AU$31
  • Booking.com
3.1 km from Fullon Hotel Hualien
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$99
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Fullon Hotel Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$99
  • Booking.com
3.9 km from Fullon Hotel Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$114
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Fullon Hotel Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$52
  • Booking.com
3.9 km from Fullon Hotel Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
招牌
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$53
  • Booking.com
3.4 km from Fullon Hotel Hualien
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hualien City
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
54
57
21
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
54
57
21
10
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Me and my parents booked two rooms for two nights at this hotel when we were visiting Hualien in mid-november. The rooms are big, clean and the service is great! The hotel is between Hualien City and the Qixing beach, right by the Hualien Port. So its not within walking distance to either but the hotel has a free shuttle bus leaving for town and back every hour. We rented the hotels bikes on the first and last days and they were brand new and not so expensive to rent. Breakfast and dinner buffet was good, but limited western choices. Unfortunately no bar area, but you can order wine from the restaurant. The hotel has a nice outdoor swimming pool and a hot water pool right next to it, with a jacuzzi function. There is also a sauna and hot pool (40c) on the third floor of the hotel. Female and Male separate. Very clean and comfortable facilities, and the service is very good. If you like to live a little off the city, like we did, I highly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: I wouldn't pay extra for ocean view since its mostly just the port which is very industrial.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank johannaatterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Very nice room, comfortable bed, nice pool looking over the water, a surprisingly good breakfast, and super good service throughout. Great spot to serve as base camp for Taroko Gorge day trips. At just over $100 USD/night, I'd highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Room was nice and clean. Amenities were good. Parking in the garage. The dinner buffet was greatly overpriced. The biggest complaint though is that they have a cool area for kids and families to use...it has two Xbox Ones, a ping pong table and air hockey. It was raining when we were there so we wanted to have that place to hang out. Well...you have to go through their bar and disco area to get to it...you have to walk through the entire thing. Crazy...not a place suited for children. In America that would actually be against the law. They have a super nice pool. The breakfast buffet was huge, just not much "real" western style breakfast foods. The made-to-order omelets were awesome though. You can rent bicycles to explore with as well. Overall I would say this is a great place to stay.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank greenmonstertaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FullonHL, 總經理 at Fullon Hotel Hualien, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Dear sir,

1. I would like to express my sincere thanks for your comments dated September 13, 2016 on Fullon Hotel Hualien.
2. Your suggestion about the location of the leisure facilities is just the same thought as I have. Actually, I have already discussed with our interior designer about re-locating the facilities suitable for kids and enlarge the capacity of kid’s playground on the third floor.
3. We are glad to be at your service, and again, we appreciate that you shared your experiences with us. With great expectation that we will welcome your visit again soon.

Sincerely yours,
From Li-Yu Chen
Assistant General Manager
Fullon Hotel of Hualien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Fire protection measures in place at this hotel, numerous fire sprinklers in my room. The room and view was nice. The vanity magnifying mirror was mounted too high up and the bathroom sink water pressure is really strong so my clothing got wet.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HonoluluMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for two nights while in Hualien for business. I was booked there instead of downtown because the hotel recommended downtown was full. Really unfortunate because this place is kind of in the middle of no where. There are a few places to look around and maybe eat behind the hotel but otherwise, pretty much no man's land. Isolation is accentuated at meal times: breakfast and dinner are both mediocre buffets in a vast dinning room. The dinner buffet is 750TWD which seemed a bit crazy. I figured out it was cheaper and more appetizing (given a separate menu) to order room service.

The bathroom in my room was okay, relatively clean but took about 30 minutes to run a bath and the shower head was loose so only pointed totally down. Towels were old and of poor quality.

All that was kind of crumby. Good stuff was that my room was clean, view from the private balcony of ships coming in and out of an industrial area below was very cool and the staff were very nice (although very few spoke any English - not really a criticism, I always feel guilty for being unilingual, but meant getting very little help, a bit of frustration).

All and all, won't stay there again - would rather be in a more centrally located place even if it's granted fewer 'stars'.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Pilate1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews