We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$80
Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
AU$63
Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Zack33
Sydney, Australia

Quiet basic hotel

Review of Ocean Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Apr 2014
A nice basic hotel without too many frills. Breakfast is typically included but the best part of this hotel is the location. It's not in the downtown area so it's away from the main drag but only a 15 minute walk to get there. Staff are very friendly and provide free transit service to either the airport or the main station. My only disappointment with this hotel was the fact that they advertise the Ocean Bar (which is on the 6th floor) as being open every day from 1830-2300 however on both nights I stayed there, it was never open. Neither was the restaurant. However, there are plenty of options in the surrounding areas if you are willing to explore! The other draw card for this hotel is the proximity to Taroko NP. It's only about 30 minutes by car away so a good location to explore from!
Date of stay: April 2014
Room Tip: Beach side facing rooms also face a main road which can get a bit noisy at times.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$132
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$97
  • Expedia.com
    AU$117
0.6 km from Ocean Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$123
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$121
  • Expedia.com
    AU$123
1.9 km from Ocean Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$104
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$105
  • Vio.com
1.1 km from Ocean Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$33
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$24
  • Expedia.com
    AU$33
2.1 km from Ocean Hotel
Free Wifi
ツインの部屋
Booking.com
AU$116
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$99
  • Expedia.com
    AU$116
1.1 km from Ocean Hotel
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$117
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$92
  • Expedia.com
    AU$117
2.0 km from Ocean Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$45
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$39
  • Expedia.com
    AU$43
2.1 km from Ocean Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
飯店周邊戶外泳池
Booking.com
AU$184
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$161
  • Expedia.com
    AU$184
2.2 km from Ocean Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$104
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$80
  • Expedia.com
    AU$104
2.1 km from Ocean Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hualien City
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
20
17
3
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
20
17
3
0
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2012

we stayed there after our visit to the Taroko Gorge. The hotel is around 1 hour from the Gorge. It is very close to the downtown area and the night market. The hotel provides bikes for rental which we took for a few hours to discover the downtown and go to the night market which is around 20 minutes biking from the hotel (5 minutes cab ride).

The rooms are spacious and clean. There is also free WiFi. The breakfast is ok (although dominated by chinese options; not very tourist friendly).

The biggest problem we had is the lack of English language speaking staff even in the reception. communicating took more effort than usual. It would have been much easier if there was more english language proficiency. However, despite of that, one of the reception staff organized for us a private car and driver to take us around Hualien in a half day tour which was really nice.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank basmaberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2012

stayed for 1 night in july 2012. arrived early, around 10am because i came from another nearby hotel. couldn't check-in yet (standard procedure).

left luggage with front desk (but they didn't give me any id tag to indicate the luggage is tied to my name) ... this is not a normal practice.

anyway, went for taroko gorge tour, returned to hotel around 5pm. at 6pm, wanted to go to one of the 2 night markets in hualien area. was informed by the front desk female staff there will be a ferry service at 7pm and suggested we wait, so we just went to nearby park to have a stroll and returned before 7pm to wait for the ferry service.

later, upon hearing the conversations of the front desk and other travellers, went to double check on the 7pm ferry service and was told that the ferry service didn't go to the night market we wanted to go. they would only go to the nearer night market - which wasn't told to us. the male front desk staff looked unhappy about our requests and explanation that it was because of his colleagues mis-information that we waited for an hour. he then agreed to ferry us to the night market.

on the way there, he suggested that we return to hotel on our own (and that the hotel will reimburse us nt$100 for the taxi fare .. we agreed to it). in the first place, we wanted to go to the night market ourselves and all we needed was the front desk to help us call a cab. the fault obviously lies with the front desk personnel who's not familiar with their own hotel arrangements.

this hotel is not located in the convenient shopping area (my previous night was nearer to their central shopping area), and cabs aren't easy to catch here. i believe it is to their benefit to offer ferry services to their customers. for the room - i requested for a sea view room. was given the highest floor (5th floor) .. wow! and it faced the sea (or rather the hualien port).

a port view is not a sea view. i wanted a room to see sun rise.

this building is blocked by another building in front and does not get a sun rise view - by the time you get to see the sun, it's already up in the sky!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pettypoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2011

As we were going to be late arrivals, we called the hotel from Taitung and managed to get in touch with an English speaking member of staff who arranged to pick us up from the station on arrival. So we arrived at the Hotel already well impressed with the service.
The rooms were light and pleasant with all that one would expect and the staff were exceptional in their helpfulness to non-chinese speakers.
The hotel is situated opposite the port, right by a cycle way along the coast. The area is mainly residential with plenty of restaurants in easy walking distance. The town is a slightly longer walk, through a park and via pedestrian bridge across the river, but the hotel has a good courtesy mini bus service.
The hotel has an open air roof top bar, although it was a little chilly in February!

Recommended.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2021
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews