We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Annelies

Clean and spacious room

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 June 2017
Stayed in a room with double bed for 6 nights; very spacious and clean room, with 2 sinks.
Breakfast is included and is mainly Chinese (Western bread is not what we are used to in the Western world, I wish there was French bread since they sold that in a bakery nearby).
Staff spoke only a bit of English but was very helpful.
Walking space from the railway station and from a laundrette and supermarket (all within 10' walk).
Free bikes for use (they are not great though).
Good wifi!
Would stay here again next time.
Date of stay: May 2017
Room Tip: If you want to do laundry and cooking yourself, booking a youth hostel is a better option.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$137
  • Booking.com
0.1 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    AU$136
  • Hotels.com
    AU$135
  • Booking.com
    AU$149
1.9 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$127
  • Hotels.com
    AU$114
  • Priceline
    AU$116
0.1 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$45
  • Priceline
    AU$40
  • Agoda.com
    AU$42
1.7 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$179
  • Vio.com
    AU$155
  • Priceline
    AU$163
2.5 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$98
  • Agoda.com
    AU$81
  • Priceline
    AU$85
2.0 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$102
  • Priceline
    AU$102
  • Agoda.com
    AU$102
2.4 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    AU$67
  • Agoda.com
    AU$64
  • Booking.com
    AU$83
2.0 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
戶外泳池
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$127
  • Priceline
    AU$104
  • Hotels.com
    AU$129
2.9 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hualien City
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
42
57
19
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
42
57
19
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews near the train station room was clean short stay western options breakfast buffet internet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

First the direction: if you travel by train, when pass the exit turn left and walk straight until you find the ticket office of the bus terminus. Then turn right and walk straight crossing the street at the first traffic light. Take left by crossing another street, turn right then walk ahead. On the second street turn left then you will find the hotel.

The hotel was small and the room was a bit old. We weren't sure if they changed the bed sheet and the pillow cases during our stay there because one of the extra pillow gave a very funny smell.

The breakfast had a very limited choices but around the area, there were plenty of small cafes and restaurants and minimarts so it should not be a problem

We had dinner one night at the hotel's restaurant and it was quite okay. It was a dinner package.

They were also able to help with tour package to Taroko National Park and other area of Hualien City.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jktla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Some room was better prepared/decorated and reception's advice would be helpful. The room i stayed was a bit small but overall was ok.

It was closed to bus terminus where you could catch bus or the train in the early morning. I also enjoyed the free tea offered at the Ground floor and you might get a bike tour on the evening by the hotel bike.

Check-in was smooth and quick but check-out was slower.

Room tip: some with tub while some without tub, some were better decorated
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmkHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

This place is very close to the train station. I walked in for price quote while my wife searched prices online just outside, the walk-in price was cheaper and includes breakfast. The staff was very friendly and spoke enough English that we had no problems, they gave us info on the city, and Taroko National Park. They also offered to line up drivers and tours.
One very outgoing staff member Wendy explained some of the history and culture of Hualien, told us the must see places while we were here. Wendy signed us up for the half day Taroko National Park tour with a private driver that picked us up at the hotel. This service is insured and registered with the government, it was nice to know that we were with a legitimate company in a well maintained vehicle.
The room was clean, beds were clean and comfortable, the bathroom was clean, we were on the 9th floor and it was quiet. Breakfast was mostly Taiwanese / Chinese food, along with some basic breakfast items. Plenty coffee and tea. I enjoyed the breakfast.
I gave this place 4 stars because the service provide by front desk staff "Wendy", the over all cleanliness of the hotel, The location to the train station, the price value, it's not a plush hotel and it is in the country side. I would stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Lakepowell2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed a night in this hotel our room is a very good size with plenty of room for baggage, free Wi Fi , restaurant in the hotel had good food at a very good price , good bed , room clean , had good seperate shower , spa bath and 2 vanity units but the only comment I would like to make the room smelled like smoke

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dominic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2017

My wife and I (both 60 years old), were staying at Hualien Charming City Hotel only one night on 15 -16, December, 2016 on our way from Taroko Park to Sun-Moon Lake (via Taichung city).
The most attractive futures of this hotel are:
Chic-Cleanliness, chic-Customer-friendly staff, walking distance to Main Train Station.
The breakfast was great: you may choose between Asia and European-style meals.
General Note. If the tourist is not speaking Chinese dialects – difficulties in communications guarantied in Taiwan. Be ready! Have addresses of your destinations written in Chinese, and with the phone number of destination. People of Taiwan are very friendly, and they will do best to assist you.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews