We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bob H
Mississauga, Canada

Hualien Charming City Hotel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 June 2016
The hotel is close to the Hualien Train Station. Our room was spacious and comfortable with all the necessary amenities provided. The restaurant provides both Chinese and Western style breakfast buffet. While the hotel web-site says: "Free wine or ice-cream for in-house guest per person once. Indulge yourself in 19th lounge bar". When asked about this, they said that the free wine is not available.
Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$123
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$138
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$138
1.9 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$184
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$184
2.5 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$93
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
2.0 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
戶外泳池
AU$139
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$139
2.9 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$44
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$113
  • Expedia.com
    AU$130
0.1 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$44
  • eDreams
1.7 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$84
  • Expedia.com
    AU$85
2.1 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hualien City
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
42
57
19
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
42
57
19
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews near the train station room was clean short stay western options breakfast buffet internet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed here a couple nights to explore Hualien and the Taroko National Park. The Hotel is in the near of the train station, comfy and clean rooms but a bit away from the city centre. The breakfast is good, you can get eggs the way you like it and they have cold western style or warm food also.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank DeBing89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Last week i stayed in this hotel with my group. for my opinion, this hotel not so bad, had big room, good location, also theres playing floor for adult and children. only one thing i didnt like it and know it, that this hotel doesn't have triple room or extra bed. so my group theres a one room with 3 people must sleep in only two bed. luckily only 1 night we stayed. the rest..no problem

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rivandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2016

The location is good, close to the railway station, only about 5 minutes walk. Do not take the rooms in the wing building, DO take rooms in the main building. The rooms in the wing building has a terrible shower room, without any water block, water will flow in the bathroom. We complained, then they change the room to the main building, much better. The buffet breakfast is a combination of Chinese and Western style.

Room tip: room in the main building only
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phindik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2016

We travelled out of Taipei by train, hired a car from Avis opposite the Hualien railway station and stayed overnight at the Charming City before heading south. Lovely, friendly, helpful team, comfortable facilities, car parking and convenience for the station as well as city centre made this hotel a good move. Delicious buffet breakfast too!

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst doing the Taiwan KOM bike race. The hotel is conveniently located for the train station being only several minutes' walk away but a long walk from the main downtown area though there are a few small restaurants around. The room was clean, big enough for 2 people (we were able to fit our 2 bikes in) and a decent shower. Breakfast (included) was a bit hit and miss...the freshly cooked chinese savoury carrot cake and fried eggs were good...the other dishes were a bit cold (eg fried chinese vegetables, fried eggplant and tofo) and looked like leftovers from the night before. However when they found out we were getting up at 4am to do our bike race they immediately offered to make us a packed breakfast consisting of an apple, ham sandwich and soy milk which was nice of them).

The inroom wifi worked well and there was free parking.

Not a bad choice in Hualien if you are looking for a clean and reasonably priced hotel near to the train station.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PocketRocket76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews