We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alwrites
UK

Great starting point for Taiwan's east coast

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Jan 2016
We travelled out of Taipei by train, hired a car from Avis opposite the Hualien railway station and stayed overnight at the Charming City before heading south. Lovely, friendly, helpful team, comfortable facilities, car parking and convenience for the station as well as city centre made this hotel a good move. Delicious buffet breakfast too!
Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$119
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$116
  • Vio.com
    AU$104
  • Priceline
    AU$108
0.1 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$134
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$134
  • Priceline
    AU$122
  • Hotels.com
    AU$134
2.0 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$150
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$137
  • Agoda.com
    AU$113
  • Hotels.com
    AU$138
1.9 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$139
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$140
  • Trip.com
    AU$112
  • Priceline
    AU$127
0.1 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
飯店周邊戶外泳池
AU$183
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$183
  • Vio.com
    AU$158
  • Hotels.com
    AU$183
2.5 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$45
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$40
  • Agoda.com
    AU$39
  • Expedia.com
    AU$50
1.7 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$104
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$104
  • Agoda.com
    AU$104
  • Vio.com
    AU$104
2.4 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$85
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$93
  • Agoda.com
    AU$65
  • Priceline
    AU$68
2.0 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
頂級家庭房
AU$87
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$87
  • Trip.com
    AU$73
  • Agoda.com
    AU$87
0.8 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
戶外泳池
AU$129
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$129
  • Priceline
    AU$106
  • Hotels.com
    AU$130
2.9 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hualien City
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
42
57
19
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
42
57
19
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews near the train station room was clean short stay western options breakfast buffet internet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst doing the Taiwan KOM bike race. The hotel is conveniently located for the train station being only several minutes' walk away but a long walk from the main downtown area though there are a few small restaurants around. The room was clean, big enough for 2 people (we were able to fit our 2 bikes in) and a decent shower. Breakfast (included) was a bit hit and miss...the freshly cooked chinese savoury carrot cake and fried eggs were good...the other dishes were a bit cold (eg fried chinese vegetables, fried eggplant and tofo) and looked like leftovers from the night before. However when they found out we were getting up at 4am to do our bike race they immediately offered to make us a packed breakfast consisting of an apple, ham sandwich and soy milk which was nice of them).

The inroom wifi worked well and there was free parking.

Not a bad choice in Hualien if you are looking for a clean and reasonably priced hotel near to the train station.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PocketRocket76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

Midrange hotel within easy walk of both train station and hop-on-hop-off bus to the Taroko gorge. Good two-head shower, buffet breakfast and little gym if you need a workout. Restaurant is OK for supper but there is better food in town.

Few staff speak English (but enough for all the basics).
Room airco is either full blast or off - I found the lack of blast control annoying (there was temperature control).

For some reason I only got one breakfast coupon for a three day stay but managed to bluff my way through without further need of the front desk.

I needed to go to hospital and one of the staff kindly drove me there.

All in all about what I had expected.

Does that make it worth a 'four' - well maybe for some, but I'm not a fan of grade inflation so 'three' means OK for me.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank colin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2015

No complaints at all here.

Be aware that, while it is close to the station, you should still research where. We didn't for some reason and were unable to find it without the kind help of a food stall owner who knew the English for Google.

The breakfast was not western at all, but you can get eggs cooked by request.

It was a cab ride to eateries and not easy to find English translations.

Staff were helpful and some could speak English.

The room was fine. The bathroom was plenty private for couples or close friends, having a curved window and shower curtain looking out to the room. Toilet was a swinging glass door in the bathroom area. Maybe not suitable for business associates?

If you are researching this to go to Taroko Gorge, two points: go!! It's spectacular. We used Hualien Outdoors; a young Canadian who knew his stuff. Secondly book your train tickets as soon as the're available, i.e, 14 days out. Demand can outstrip supply on this route.

Back to the hotel, it is perfectly nice and for anyone with little ones has the most fantastic play room in the basement. There is also some fitness equipment.

Fulfilled our needs perfectly.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Looksat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2015

I stayed for two nights and was very pleased with the location (about 3 minutes walk from the railway station and close - short walk or bike ride - to most places within Hualien), clean rooms, friendly service, free wifi and bicycles and very good buffet breakfast. Pretty good for the price. I'd definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisMarineBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2015

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel, a very good value for the price indeed. The hotel is conveniently located near the train station, though a slight distance to down town. But again, the city of Hualien is rather small, so exploring it is not an issue. It is on a quiet street near the edge of town. Taking a taxi to down town costs only about U$5-6. We were here only for one night, so we do not know much about the activities around the hotel itself.
The room is very clean and very spacious, with good quality furnishings and fixtures. The beds are big and comfortable. The staff in the front desk is very courteous and helpful. They arranged a tour to the Taruko gorge for us, at rather inexpensive price by sharing a mini van ride.
We would be staying here again if we do visit Hualien next time!

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nyet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews