We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Looksat
Sydney, Australia

Good Hotel, Great playground

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Sept 2015
No complaints at all here.

Be aware that, while it is close to the station, you should still research where. We didn't for some reason and were unable to find it without the kind help of a food stall owner who knew the English for Google.

The breakfast was not western at all, but you can get eggs cooked by request.

It was a cab ride to eateries and not easy to find English translations.

Staff were helpful and some could speak English.

The room was fine. The bathroom was plenty private for couples or close friends, having a curved window and shower curtain looking out to the room. Toilet was a swinging glass door in the bathroom area. Maybe not suitable for business associates?

If you are researching this to go to Taroko Gorge, two points: go!! It's spectacular. We used Hualien Outdoors; a young Canadian who knew his stuff. Secondly book your train tickets as soon as the're available, i.e, 14 days out. Demand can outstrip supply on this route.

Back to the hotel, it is perfectly nice and for anyone with little ones has the most fantastic play room in the basement. There is also some fitness equipment.

Fulfilled our needs perfectly.
Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$138
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$135
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$179
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$90
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$91
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    AU$113
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$46
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$102
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
戶外泳池
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$117
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Hualien Charming City Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hualien City
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
42
57
19
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
42
57
19
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews near the train station room was clean short stay western options breakfast buffet internet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2015

I stayed for two nights and was very pleased with the location (about 3 minutes walk from the railway station and close - short walk or bike ride - to most places within Hualien), clean rooms, friendly service, free wifi and bicycles and very good buffet breakfast. Pretty good for the price. I'd definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisMarineBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2015

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel, a very good value for the price indeed. The hotel is conveniently located near the train station, though a slight distance to down town. But again, the city of Hualien is rather small, so exploring it is not an issue. It is on a quiet street near the edge of town. Taking a taxi to down town costs only about U$5-6. We were here only for one night, so we do not know much about the activities around the hotel itself.
The room is very clean and very spacious, with good quality furnishings and fixtures. The beds are big and comfortable. The staff in the front desk is very courteous and helpful. They arranged a tour to the Taruko gorge for us, at rather inexpensive price by sharing a mini van ride.
We would be staying here again if we do visit Hualien next time!

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nyet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, taking two day trips out to beautiful Taroko Gorge. The hotel is conveniently located for an easy walk from the train station, & also the tourist/local bus that you can buy a day pass for. There is a coin operated laundromat about 7 mins walk away. The breakfast had reasonable selections to choose from. Not a lot of Western options, but nice food such as rice & vegetables, meats & some nice bread rolls to toast. The room was fairly standard & quiet. The recreation area has games & the hotel lobby is large & comfortable for waiting in- with grand piano that plays itself !
The staff were amazingly helpful when we needed help to sort out ferry tickets & timetable from Taitung train to Green Island. They phoned our Green Island hotel for us to arrange for pick up, and booked the ferry tickets for us (as we couldn't access online from New Zealand). Once sorted, they drove my partner to the train station to help him change our tickets to an earlier time to conincide with the ferry. In the morning they gave us lunch boxes to take on the train as we were too early for breakfast. So kind & helpful to us:-)

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dandelion8888_121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2015

My wife and I stayed here for the 2/28 Memorial weekend, and we quite enjoyed the atmosphere. We arrived early because of our flight, and they allowed us to store our luggage while we biked awaiting the 1500 check-in time; additionally, they gave us a free upgrade because they did not have enough rooms for the type we had reserved. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Whenever we had a question or needed assistance, we were promptly answered. They provided free shuttle service to and from the airport, made a reservation for a tour of Taroko Gorge, offered free bike rental service, and provided an adequate breakfast. We also enjoyed a fine dinner at the on-site restaurant. They even offer karaoke and a kid's play area.

The only thing that we wish could be different was the lack of alcoholic beverages within their lounge. They only offered red wine, which was not bad (NT$100/glass), but other options might have been nice. Yet, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and when we return to Hualien, we will most likely reserve a room here again.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2014

Though it is not a new hotel, it has all the features of a 5-star hotel. The room takes into consideration the needs of the guests with full length mirror, separate washing basin outside the toilet and even a steam bath.

The staff were very helpful (majority) and advised us on travelling to Taichung from Hualien. They even helped us reserve train tickets.

Variety of breakfast items could be better but at least there were variation on the two days we were there.

The hotel is about 5 - 10 minutes drive from the city centre where all the shops and eateries are location but they do provide bicycle rental services.

They also have a scenic garden and koi pond with waterfall features. Hot drinks and snacks were also served at the lobby.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews