We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bahia Esmeralda
Nearby Hotels
Sugar Beach Hotel(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
USD 135*
USD 131*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 142*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villaggio Flor de Pacifico(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
USD 120*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Guanacaste Lodge(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
USD 88*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Flamingo Beach(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
USD 92*
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
USD 258*
USD 141*
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Chameleon Hotel at Las Catalinas(Las Catalinas)(Great Value!)
USD 698*
USD 237*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Brasilito(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
USD 50*
USD 37*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mediterraneus(Playa Potrero)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
14
22
7
4
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
22
7
4
15
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2016

Stayed from the 13th to 16th of feb 2016. We were a group of 9. So the $160 per night for the suite was a great price. But the whole house was dark. The lighting is horrible. My room had a door that was suppose to open to the patio, but they didn't have a key for it. They could have had better cooking utensils as well. The cleaning ppl may have come in and swept but you would never have known. Apparently they don't do dishes either. Sheets were never changed. One day the towels were never replaced either. We also had to pay extra for electricity, but we knew that ahead of time. The grounds are kept really nice. As well as a nice pool to cool off in. Overall, I would stay here again but the rest of my group would not. oh and if you want wireless in your room, forget about it.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PPacayas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahiapotrero, Recepcionist at Bahia Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

Dear PPacayas,
Thanks for your review!
We are now in a new administratiom, we will take note of your words in order to give the best of us and bring the best experience to all our dear guests.

Regards,

Hotel Bahía Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015

We stayed at the suite of the hotel (3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms) for $150USD per night. We considered it a bit overpriced... We looked at the other rooms (one little apartment for $80 and one plain room for $60), but they were too dark, almost no windows and very small for that price. Since we were 5 people (germans and ticos) we decided to pay the $150 for the big suite, which was much more spacious and much better than the tiny dark rooms.
We were the only guests and the pool was OK taking that into consideration. Would there be more guests, the pool would've been way too small. On our last day we were chilling by the pool when the owner sent his staff to clean the pool and pour in chlorine, seeing that we were using the pool! The pool ended up with dirt floating around everywhere and we were not able to go into the pool for the rest of our stay, very disappointing! Upon mentioning it to the italian owner he blamed the wind and made up a bunch of excuses and clearly didn't care at all about our opinion... The hotel has a lot of potential but the owner just doesn't value the customer...
The employed staff was very friendly though and everything is really close by (supermarket, beach, restaurants), the garden is very beautiful and the staff takes good care of it but we wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahiapotrero, Recepcionist at Bahia Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

Dear Lisa W
Thanks for your review
We are very sorry to read this, we want you to know that we are with a new administration, and even your review is negative, it is helpful for us to improve in order to give all our guests the best experience

Regards,

Hotel Bahía Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I was 1 time here, the place are not so good, the pool is small and you cannot make anything here, if you want a place ONLY for sleep, good, but if you want a confortable place Potrero have another better options.
I remember they offer us a breakfast, THAT SUCKS !!! THE WORST BREACKFAST EVER !!
I can recomend this place if you don't find another option in Potrero.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahiapotrero, Recepcionist at Bahia Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

Leo V
There are plenty of activities to do in the area, you not only can sleep only but also rest and relax. We offered you a continental breakfast, which includes: a dish of fresh fruits, warm delicious costarican coffe, mermelaid, butter, orange juice and warm toasts. You knew it before to come.

Regards,

Hotel Bahía Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed here for three nights. Our first impression wasn't great because as previously stated, the owner is fairly grumpy for being in the land of Pura Vida.

The room was simple. The A/C worked great and we were actually cold at night. However, there is only one top sheet on the bed. The bed wasn't the worst bed I've slept on but wasn't the best either.

There are a few bugs as there is anywhere you go in Costa Rica. The complimentary breakfast is really basic but the coffee is good.

What we enjoyed the most was talking to Gianni, who seems to be the manager, and the other day-time receptionist. They were both incredibly helpful and kind with a wonderful sense of humor. The housekeeper and gardener work very hard at keeping the whole property clean and beautiful. They do a great job!

Overall, the hotel is not bad when your options are limited in a small town such as Potrero although it is somewhat overpriced. But what made our stay was our conversations with the staff... aside from the owner who wasn't around much anyways.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leeah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahiapotrero, Recepcionist at Bahia Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Der Leeah K
Thanks for your review
We are on a new administration, your words will help us to improve in order to give the guests a better experience.

Regards,

Bahía Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Everyone was right, rude owners. We showed up a little before the 2pm and they wouldn't let us check in, in the high season I could understand but no one is really here right now. Forcing us to keep our valuables in the car as we killed time waiting for permission to check in. The pool is very small, it would be fine at a one room bed and breakfast but it's only usable by one group at a time here. The rooms were crawling with bugs, we did get bit. The beds are very old and uncomfortable, hard and loud. Get this, they don't even give you blankets. We had 1 (one) single sheet to sleep under. There are resident roosters that think 3am is an appropriate time to crow. There was a generator outside our window that kicked on and off all night. Worst night of our trip, and we've stayed in some scummy places so far.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank places2gowithnoone2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahiapotrero, Recepcionist at Bahia Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

Dear places2gowithnoone2c,
Check in time is at 02:00 pm, when is possible we give the rooms before 02:00 pm, but sometimes we can not. We do not have roosters here, the rooster are from our neighbors, Potrero is a rural nice and quiet town, where some people have some animals...also, we would like you to know, that we are on a new administration

Regards,

Hotel Bahía Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews