We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice hotel Beautiful Views Up a large hill.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aquamarine Resort & Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aquamarine Resort & Villa
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel Beautiful Views Up a large hill.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Had 1 b/r Delux Sea View room about $85-$90 aus per night
Overall I Liked the hotel but a few annoying things that make up for my review as well, it is on the side of large hill so lots of stairs but we didn't mind as we like exercise! but not so good for people that can't walk very far up hills, also step down into shower over bath, but beautiful views, Nice rooms, not on a beach but theres a nice little one over the road with a bar to buy cocktails act, Internet very slow in rooms only can get in lobby.
PRO'S
- Beautiful Views, Beautiful Hotel.
- Buffet Breakfast
- Nice rooms (but small with shower over bathtub)
- Clean
- Mostly Friendly helpful staff
- Beautiful restaurants
- 3x Pools
- Free shuttles into Kamula town and Patong
- Nice views from Balcony

CON'S
- LOTS & lots of stairs
- Shower over bath large step down in to it
- AIR CONDITIONER BROKEN goes either to hot or too cold also makes sparking noises, also Very Noisy!!
- OLD TV not very good reception most channels are in asia language
- BEDS are HARD
- Only a few staff understood english
- 17% ON TOP of all of there food and drink!! so price that you see isn't the price you pay so food and drink I thought was a little more expensive than other hotel I stayed Phuket.
- INTERNET CANT USE IN ROOMS! only WiFi available! Works only in Lobby which can also slow if yr right beside the router!
- Lots & Lots of Mosquitoes
- Get noise in rooms from doors slamming and rooms above and below

AERA-
Kamala is nice, Small compared to Patong, More of a relaxing place. There lots of people around the ages of 45-70 year olds at that time of year (march) so not so much action for younger people.
Fantasies Show is in Kamala ( didn't go as I don't like looking at animal entertainment as its cruel)
Alittle bit of shopping but not a lot, Nice beach with lots of massage places Yummy food & drink.

Room Tip: We had a Delux sea view room for about $85-90 per room per night incl breakfast and internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livingtess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqua-Info, Manager at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Warmest greetings from The Sunny & Breezy Island – Aquamarine Resort & Villa Phuket….

Thank you for taking the time to reviewed your recent stay with us at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, on Kamala Beach.

We very much appreciate your observations regarding the service you received in the Resort. Your comments have been passed to the responsible departments’ personnel. We have valued your support, and it is only through comments such as yours can we enhance the level of services to meet our guests’ satisfaction at all times.

Once again, thank you very much, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Aquamarine Resort on your future visits to Phuket.

Very kind regards,

Mr. Songkiat Intarasaowaphak (POH)
Personal Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    222
    106
    44
    29
See reviews for
92
313
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Should have taken the past review more seriously. Everything negative about the hotel is TRUE!! The smell in the room, unprofessional staff (especially at the bar and the reception), Saw a mattress they pulled out of the nearby room is covered in mould, I was too afraid to uncover ours.
The table around the pool bar area is very dirty and certainly no service at all. We saw the same dirt stain still there after 3 days. I was escpecially disgusted when I saw the bar attendant pour the wine back into the wine bottle after it's been returned.
The only positive is the staff at the restaurant is friendly. Breakfast is ok.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same except for a few villa style room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILee_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqua-Info, Manager at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Warmest greetings from The Sunny & Breezy Island – Aquamarine Resort & Villa Phuket….

Thank you for taking the time to reviewed your recent stay with us at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, on Kamala Beach.

We very much appreciate your observations regarding the service you received in the Resort. Your comments have been passed to the responsible departments’ personnel. We have valued your support, and it is only through comments such as yours can we enhance the level of services to meet our guests’ satisfaction at all times.

Once again, thank you very much, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Aquamarine Resort on your future visits to Phuket.

Very kind regards,

Mr. Songkiat Intarasaowaphak (POH)
Personal Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Just returned from Phuket, also bought this through Getaway Lounge. Was expecting to stay at this hotel for 6 nights. We arrived, waited well past the check in time of 3pm for our rooms (despite reconfirming our arrival time), were directed to the bar to be 'greeted' by the rudest bar manager who was 'too busy to serve us'. After an hour we were able to have a couple of cocktails - wow...thanks. It all went downhill from here.
The rooms have that tropical musty smell - not easy to get around in this climate but mould in the bathroom is not acceptable. The beds are rock hard. Also had issues with the wifi code not working. Breakfast in the restaurant was very average: a plate of fried eggs that had been sitting for 15 minutes - cold and nasty. A request for an omelette was met with "come back in 10 minutes, we're busy". Limited buffet of even the most basic items (3 cereal options, white bread, 2 fruit options - in Thailand?!). Help yourself to tea and coffee - is it really so hard for staff to move around the restaurant topping up guests' tea and coffee?
I'm sure this resort was lovely in 2009 - some older reviews confirm it. In 2012 it is run down, badly maintained, many of the staff are indifferent, and the bar manager downright rude. A 'boom box' blasting out hip hop music by the pool is hardly a relaxing environment for most people. The staff responsible for offering golf buggy transport to the rooms set high on the property grunted when we asked for a lift. A basic service they offer but it seemed like a huge inconvenience.
We moved down the road to the beautiful Cape Sienna. The staff at the Aquamarine could learn a lot from the service and attitude at that lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHEtravelsmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqua-Info, Manager at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Warmest greetings from The Sunny & Breezy Island – Aquamarine Resort & Villa Phuket….

Thank you for taking the time to reviewed your recent stay with us at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, on Kamala Beach.

We very much appreciate your observations regarding the service you received in the Resort. Your comments have been passed to the responsible departments’ personnel. We have valued your support, and it is only through comments such as yours can we enhance the level of services to meet our guests’ satisfaction at all times.

Once again, thank you very much, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Aquamarine Resort on your future visits to Phuket.

Very kind regards,

Mr. Songkiat Intarasaowaphak (POH)
Personal Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Had a great time lovely place great people good service especially a lady by the name of Pooky.
Just below the hotel there is a place to eat & drink called JJ restaurant beach bar dont be put off by its look its the best food & drink you can get, Jay is the best bloke you will meet & the monkey is really cool had the best time at this place. David Burgess

Room Tip: Ride the elephants
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruby10474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqua-Info, Manager at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Warmest greetings from The Sunny & Breezy Island – Aquamarine Resort & Villa Phuket….

Thank you for taking the time to reviewed your recent stay with us at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, on Kamala Beach.

We very much appreciate your observations regarding the service you received in the Resort. Your comments have been passed to the responsible departments’ personnel. We have valued your support, and it is only through comments such as yours can we enhance the level of services to meet our guests’ satisfaction at all times.

Once again, thank you very much, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Aquamarine Resort on your future visits to Phuket.

Very kind regards,

Mr. Songkiat Intarasaowaphak (POH)
Personal Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We bought this holiday off getaway travel who, thank goodness agreed to refund our money. This place was bad from the beginning and kept getting worse. We got to our room and found our safe had been locked but not shut properly so we could not use it, when I rang reception to see if we could get someone to come fix it, the reception lady did not know what I was talking about and thought I had locked.myself in my room. We didn't get the safe fixed until the next afternoon. We were given a password for wifi and could not get to the login page to put the password in, when I contacted reception again, she did not understand and gave me a new password. Unless you want to pay a fortune to eat you have to get their shuttle to civilization or a tuk tuk to patong (400 baht). I tried to make an outside call from my room and would not work, I called the reception who put me through to operator who hung up on me (3 times) - gave up. We cought the free shuttle to kamali beach to get our laundry done and have a look around and were told we would be picked up in an hour from same place, we were left waiting in pouring rain for 20 mins before they showed up. The store at the hotel was supposed to open at 11am daily, went to the store at 11.30 - closed, 12.30 - closed. Went to reception and they phoned someone to open the store. Then last of all went to book in for massage which were included in our package and they had nothing available until the day we were to check out. Finally had enough s wrote to getaway and they were so understanding and offered us another hotel, or we could arrange our own and they refunded our full payment.

Room Tip: If you want to be secluded, this will be perfect except for the receptions not understanding english
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqua-Info, Manager at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Warmest greetings from The Sunny & Breezy Island – Aquamarine Resort & Villa Phuket….

Thank you for taking the time to reviewed your recent stay with us at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, on Kamala Beach.

We very much appreciate your observations regarding the service you received in the Resort. Your comments have been passed to the responsible departments’ personnel. We have valued your support, and it is only through comments such as yours can we enhance the level of services to meet our guests’ satisfaction at all times.

Once again, thank you very much, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Aquamarine Resort on your future visits to Phuket.

Very kind regards,

Mr. Songkiat Intarasaowaphak (POH)
Personal Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamala hotels
2.6 km away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
2.9 km away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
2.1 km away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
0.7 km away
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquamarine Resort & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamarine Resort & Villa

Property: Aquamarine Resort & Villa
Address: 17/38 Moo 6, Kamala Beach | Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#11 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price range (per night): $67 - $239
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquamarine Resort & Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Aquamarine Resort & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Marine Resort And Villa
Aqua Marine Resort & Villa Hotel Kamala
Aquamarine Hotel Kathu
Aquamarine Resort Kathu
Aquamarine Resort & Villa Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing