We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I am thankful for Unthank Hall”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Stanhope, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ashleighn...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I am thankful for Unthank Hall”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

What a beautiful place, I would have stayed forever given the chance. My family and I had an amazing time, Alan and Polly were lovely, as were the delicious homemade chocolate muffins that were waiting for us when we arrived!

Stunning, spacious house, with lots of history and a gorgous walled garden!

To read more on our stay, please follow this link https://ashleighnicoleblog.wordpress.com/2015/05/27/i-am-very-thankful-for-unthank-hall/

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan G
Aberfoyle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Historical House.”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We arrived to be met with a warm welcome from the owners ( Alan & Polly ). They had put the log burning fire on for us and Polly had made us gorgeous chocolate muffins !!. The house is a listed property lovingly restored to make it into a fabulous quirky home. There was everything you could need for a great stay , from logs for the fire, hand wash and matching hand cream in the bathrooms , games and plenty books available. The rooms are large and comfortable and the bathroom has a huge free standing bath. The garden is massive and a great place to sit on the decking area with a glass of wine watching the sun go down in the evening. The dogs loved it too !! We had a bar-b-que one night when it was a bit cool. Alan ( the owner) went out of his way to bring a brazier round which heated us all up nicely. The owners couldn't do enough for us but weren't intrusive. Stanhope is a lovely wee town with shops, cafes and pubs. There are plenty walks fom the house and also some a short drive away. The house sits on the edge of the town with a pretty walk beside the river which only takes about 10 mins to get there. There is a great pub 3 mies away called The Black Bull who do beautiful meals. I would have no hesitation in recommending Unthank Hall to anyone who wants a great stay in a brilliant home with amazing owners in a beautiful part of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: We loved it all !
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz9306
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Beautifull special place”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

what a fabulous find,my family and myself got together for my dads birthday and stayed here for a week,fab walled garden where dogs played all day and we sat in the sun.,log fires by night in the beautifull restored hall it is full of character and yet has all you need for a carefree relaxing holiday the village is just a short stroll across the river,the owners are helpful and friendly and welcomed us with a plate of bootifull chocolate muffins,well worth a visit you won't wanna leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: loved it all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anonymous...
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing House”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a 4 day break in Unthank Hall. 2 couples, 3 children and 2 dogs. The house is steeped in history and has been beautifully and lovingly restored by the owners. We had a fantastic stay, and the history surrounding the hall only added extra excitement to our Halloween celebrations. The village of Stanhope is a lovely place, with good pubs, good food and friendly people. I would really recommend the Unthank Hall experience. Especially the roll top bath, which was fantastic after a long walk on a cold day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was excellent
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing