We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous well equipped property”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Colyton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sonicamy1...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous well equipped property”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We loved staying at Hornshayne farmhouse for the week. It was immaculate and clean and very well equipped for children.

The owners were lovely showed around the maternity pen and the baby calves which went down well with the children.

Would love to visit again, we are missing Maud already!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being on a working farm
Liked least: The long roads to get in and out of farway
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you had a good week away and that it was well equipped for you and then family. I’m the sure the children enjoyed seeing the calves- what a wonderful experience for them. We look forward to hearing from you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emer F
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful large house in Devon”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from a wonderful long weekend in Devon. We needed a large house for extended family and it didn't disapoint. Enough beds and plenty of living space for us all. Well equipped kitchen and really felt like going from home to home. The extra touches really go a long way, children's books, toys, Wellys to borrow at the back door, ride on toys, the best fort our little one has played on with sandpit too! A tour to see the baby calves with the farmer's sons and the owners letting us know more had been born that night made us feel very welcome. Just 30 mins from Lyme Regis and farm land all around, perfect. We will certainly be back and if you're looking for a large property with space for everyone you won't go wrong with this place

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and large bedrooms
Liked least: Nothing! Went too quick...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2015
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are so glad that the property met all your expectations and that you and your family had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to hearing from you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owend007
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous house in a lovely rural location”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we've stayed at Hornshayne Farm with our two groups of friends, and again for New Year. It did not disappoint. The facilities of the house itself are excellent - plenty of seats in the kitchen and living room, good equipment in the kitchen, as well as lovely bedrooms. The two real highlights, however, are the excellent rural location (great walks!) but above all being located on a working farm. The owners (and their children) are so welcoming and helpful and positively encourage you to take an active interest in the farm. For our children to help with the milking and see 3 calves being born was a real highlight - priceless in fact. We all cannot wait for our next visit and another relaxing break.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2015
Thank you very much for your kind feedback, welcome back. We are so delighted to hear that you have enjoyed Hornshayne Farm on both occasions. What a treat for the children to experience the farm in such a way, I imagine that this holiday will bring back fond memories for years to come.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbie h
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second visit to Hornshayne Farm and was equally as enjoyable as the first. This is one of the nicest houses we have stayed in, as a group of 9 that have been getting together every year for 15 years! The accommodation is very comfortable and suits our group well; with plenty of space and well laid out bedrooms. We have 3 boys amongst us, all of whom had a wonderful time on the farm; being entertained by the owners boys; playing hide and seek, watching calves being born, helping to milk the cows and even having a go at tractor driving......the owners and farmers could not have been more accommodating. For the adults, the house is set in the most beautiful countryside where you are free to walk and enjoy some of the most amazing views; a very relaxing and tranquil setting. Thank you for a very enjoyable week, we were all sad to be leaving and can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2015
Thank you for such kind feedback; it seems that you have found the absolute perfect place! I’m sure the owners would be thrilled to know how much you enjoy staying at Hornshayne Farm and that the boys loved helping out at the farm- what a wonderful experience for them. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Most relaxing, favourite farm holiday.”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just returned from the most wholesome, relaxing holiday we have had in years. We chose this farm house to celebrate our parents special wedding anniversary, so had a very mixed group - from 5-70 years old! Every one was very happy and relaxed. We found that we rarely left the wonderful kitchen where we sat around the rayburn and toasted our feet. That said we very much enjoyed our time on the farm. Andrew and his father, Ellis, adopted the children and allowed them to take part at the milking parlour and feeding the calves. The children sneaked off on tractor rides and were allowed to help where ever possible on the farm - there was even a stream for minnow finishing! The dogs, Maude and Bob, were so friendly - Maude accompanied us on every walk ( and she had just had a litter of puppies much to the children's delight). Andrew was never too busy to stop and help us, often taking time out to explain what was happening on the farm.
The farm house was very well equipped and we had everything we needed. The bedrooms and bathrooms were very well appointed and everyone slept very well on the very comfortable beds - esp after days full of fresh air. The water was pure and delicious - coming from a spring on the farm. Sally provided us with free range eggs and free range meat and poultry from the farm. Sally also recommended the most wonderful caterers who came in and served us with a very special meal. There was a great games room and play area for the kids and wonderful views from house. The worst thing about this holiday was having to leave - we discussed staying for an extra few days, but alas another lucky family were taking our place, I hope they enjoy their stay as much as we did! We have already discussed our return...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind and positive comments about Hornshayne Farmhouse. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time there and that the owners made you feel so welcome. Its great to hear and we hope you'll be back next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing