We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most relaxing, favourite farm holiday.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Colyton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stuart M
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Most relaxing, favourite farm holiday.”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just returned from the most wholesome, relaxing holiday we have had in years. We chose this farm house to celebrate our parents special wedding anniversary, so had a very mixed group - from 5-70 years old! Every one was very happy and relaxed. We found that we rarely left the wonderful kitchen where we sat around the rayburn and toasted our feet. That said we very much enjoyed our time on the farm. Andrew and his father, Ellis, adopted the children and allowed them to take part at the milking parlour and feeding the calves. The children sneaked off on tractor rides and were allowed to help where ever possible on the farm - there was even a stream for minnow finishing! The dogs, Maude and Bob, were so friendly - Maude accompanied us on every walk ( and she had just had a litter of puppies much to the children's delight). Andrew was never too busy to stop and help us, often taking time out to explain what was happening on the farm.
The farm house was very well equipped and we had everything we needed. The bedrooms and bathrooms were very well appointed and everyone slept very well on the very comfortable beds - esp after days full of fresh air. The water was pure and delicious - coming from a spring on the farm. Sally provided us with free range eggs and free range meat and poultry from the farm. Sally also recommended the most wonderful caterers who came in and served us with a very special meal. There was a great games room and play area for the kids and wonderful views from house. The worst thing about this holiday was having to leave - we discussed staying for an extra few days, but alas another lucky family were taking our place, I hope they enjoy their stay as much as we did! We have already discussed our return...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind and positive comments about Hornshayne Farmhouse. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time there and that the owners made you feel so welcome. Its great to hear and we hope you'll be back next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolin22
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great house in a lovely location”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Four generations aged from 2 to 84 enjoyed a lovely holiday. The house is comfortable, spacious and well equipped. The play room and outside play area is great for smaller children and the games barn ideal for the older ones. Even though you are on a working farm the setting is peaceful. We enjoyed seeing the calves being fed and a bonus that a new one was born just before we left. The location is good for visting Beer, Seaton, Honiton. We were only a party of 6 but could see that with its great farmhouse kitchen and large sitting room it would work well for larger groups. The bedrooms are spread over three levels but the stairs are shallow and did not present a problem even for the oldest member of our group. Beds were comfortable and bedrooms of a good size, even the top floor bedroom in the beamed eaves is airy and spacious. We all hope to return in the future. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for providing such lovely feedback about your stay. I'm glad to hear that you so enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra H
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic House”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with my family (5 adults and 5 children). We had a great week. The house is equipped with everything you could possibly want. The children had a great time experiencing farm life first hand. They saw a calf born and were lucky enough to see new born puppies. They collected eggs from hen house. They also fell in love with Bob the farm dog. Sally and Andrew were really friendly as were their sons Charlie and Ross.i would recommend this house and we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very well equipped with everything we could possibly need
Liked least: Narrow country lanes leading to property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review, I am so glad to hear that you and your family had such a great holiday and such fantastic experiences. I'll pass your comments to the homeowners as I know they'll be thrilled and will look forward to welcoming you all in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izzyboo03
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed the week commencing the 22nd August. The best family holiday we have ever had. This place is simply perfect. We had five adults and five children in our group. Andrew and Sally the owners where lovely. The kids got to see the cows being milked, a calf being born and Maud the dog had puppies whilst we were staying. The children also got to pick the eggs.The house is very well equipped. Lots of room for all of us and plenty of bathrooms. Very reasonable price for such a great house.
The outside space is brilliant. We will be booking to go back again.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, I am very glad to hear that you and your family had such a wonderful time at Hornshayne Farmhouse! I'll be sure to pass your comments to the homeowners Andrew and Sally as I know that they will be thrilled and will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin V
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely venue and location”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We booked this venue to celebrate my father in laws 75th birthday. In total there were ten of us staying for a week, five adults and five children. The farmhouse is in a very remote setting at the end of a no through road. This makes it an even more enchanting place to stay. The views are amazing, and being woken up to the sound of cows and chickens adds to the charm of this lovely farmhouse. The farmhouse is well equipped with plenty of space and more than adequate facilities. The owners are very hospitable and made us all feel very welcome. The children loved being able to look around the farm, not to mention falling in love with Maud and Bob, the resident dogs. We would love to return and would definitely recommend this venue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. I'm glad you so enjoyed your stay. WE hope very much to be able to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing