We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Le Petit Chene

Le petit Chene Front View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le petit Chene Front View
Heated 11x5 metre pool Sitting area with TV Le Petit Chene
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Le petit Chene Front View
Heated 11x5 metre pool
Sitting area with TV Le Petit Chene
Hot Tub at night - Le Petit Chene
Chalais market
Heated swimming pool 11m x 5m with secure fencing
View from the front
Bathroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin Bedded room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chalais, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Dave D
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way...”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a wonderful week staying here. The Cottage is located in a quiet area but close enough to walk to town if desired (15 minutes). All the amenities you could want are present, with well stocked utensils, crockery, a cooker, hob, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, fridge/freezer. The lounge is comfortable, there is free wifi (good download speed too!) and English Freesat TV. The terrace captures the sun all day and is wonderful to sit on for meals, we had a leisurely and peaceful breakfast daily. The property has one of the best pools we have rented, and a hot tub as well! The solar heating makes a huge difference in cooler times. The owners are friendly and very helpful but not obtrusive and the shared pool never seemed a problem, unlike some we have rented. It's actually in a great location for visits to popular tourist areas (ice cream or canoes in Aubeterre and Electric Boat hire (bateaux rouge) in Angouleme are highly recommended) and the information booklet the owners have put together is very good indeed, which is a plus if you have never stayed in the area. I could not recommend the stay more! If it were possible I'd give it 10 out of 10, but 5/5 will have to do. If you need somewhere larger the owners have a 5 bed Farmhouse as well, but it's so discretely tucked away you would hardly know it was there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location and the pool
Liked least: I couldn't stay longer as it was so popular it was booked!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent review and we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. It is good to know that we are providing the best environment we can for people to enjoy their holidays in France. Hope to see you again another year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam N
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total chill”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Two weeks in a wonderful relaxing setting owned by two very nice people Helene and Bill who could not be more welcoming or helpful. The accommodation afforded us six adults with comfortable furniture both inside the house and on the two terraces as well as all the mod cons to make us feel at home. The garden area was spacious, so very peaceful and quiet ideal for relaxing with a book. The pool is fantastic, nice to get in without having your breath taken away! To top it all the "hot tub" after a swim or a long day out touring is genius except that one doesn't want to get out. The house although in a quiet area, is well located to have day trips to places such as Angouleme, Cognac, St Emilion and Bordeaux all of which we did. Coming back to the quiet of the house, the pool and of course the "tub" rounded each day off perfectly. We have stayed in our fair share of gites in France over the years some good, some not so good. Helene and Bills place top the lot for us. From the welcome they both gave to the house and amenities available it was excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and hot tub
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
Glad to hear you had a relaxing holiday with us. Thanks for your kind comments and hope we will see you all again another year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil g
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely accomodation with a great pool”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was one of the very best gites we have ever stayed in. The facilities were excellent - wifi, English TV, dishwasher, two dining terraces, garden, table tennis - and in particular the pool with its luxurious warm water, lovely ambience and the hot tub. The owners were friendly and helpful, but not intrusive. The local town - Chalais - was only 5 minutes in the car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Liked least: one bedroom was a bit musty (fine for a teenage boy!)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2013
Glad you all had a good time - we try and provide the best holiday experience we can. Hope to see you another year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branches1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting amongst fields, vines and sunflowers”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely, spacious 3 bedrooms gite set amongst sunflower fields and vines.
Pool area good with plenty of sun loungers and parasols and a fridge to keep your drinks cool.
Friendly owners on site who can help with booking the local chateau for dinner and offer general info on the area.
Local town of Chalais about 20-30 mins walk or a quick drive by car. Be sure to go to the market there held on a Monday morning.
Well located for visiting other towns such as Bordeaux, St. Emillion, Aubeterre and Brantome.
A few restaurants in Chalais if you don't want to cook one evening.
All in all a great holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2013
Thanks for your kind review, glad you had a good holiday. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachel b
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Utterly relaxing”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Many thanks to Helene and Bill for their friendly and helpful hosting and for the use of their lovely gite.
We had such a relaxing week making the most of all the facilities. The pool was a real high light. It is beautifully maintained, a gorgeous temperature and with the addition of the hot tub too it gave us a real sense of luxury; our daughter was more in than out and even Granny had a dip. We also made daily use of table tennis, bar-b-q and both eating areas depending on the direction of the sun!
We were largely lazy, especially on the days the temperatures went 30+, but enjoyed exploring the local town and its marvelous market. Lots of beautiful countryside and friendly, helpful people wherever we went.
Had a fun night out at the tapas bar in town too - lovely to sit by the river and the food was fresh and tasty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool was wonderful.
Liked least: Indoor living area was a little smaller than we expected from photos.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2013
Thanks for your review, glad you had a good time. See you all again we hope.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing