We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to relax and find a little slice of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Marguerita situated mid beach in beautiful Port Barton Palawan ( AKA 'The Last Frontier' )
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Marguerita situated mid beach in beautiful Port Barton Palawan ( AKA 'The Last Frontier' )
Our native style house can comfortably accommodate 6 or up to 8 persons if required. Our private bar has stunning views and the coldest beer in Port Barton.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Villa Marguerita situated mid beach in beautiful Port Barton Palawan ( AKA 'The Last Frontier' )
Our native style house can comfortably accommodate 6 or up to 8 persons if required.
Our private bar has stunning views and the coldest beer in Port Barton.
Lots of sunloungers available for our private guests.
Relax for hours in our beachfront cabana.
Several beachfront relaxation areas.
Stacks of Kayaks free for our guests to use.
Our stand up paddle boards are available for our guests use.
Our new boat is equipped for safety and lots of fun.
Hammocks available for guests use
Watch the great sunsets from our beachfront Cabanas
Amazing Sunsets
Our main bedroom is large with beautiful bay views and an ensuite.
The bedrooms are clean simple and comfortable.
The bedrooms are clean simple and comfortable.
Enjoy our tasty restaurant quality meals, or use our kitchen....It's your choice.
Full bar service available or you can stock your own drinks.
Pool and Table tennis available.
A photographers heaven.
Our caretakers son & his monkey. We have a swing set and tree house for children to play on.
Port Barton by air.
Party at night with our disco and laser lights and smoke machine.
Caretakers Arnold and Marilyn are great fun and will take great care of you.
A picture says it all
A picture says it all
Our Guests enjoying coconut juice.
View of the beach.
View of the beach.
Inside the house.
Our glass bottom kayak is available for guests to use.
Contact us for our information sheets and links to our Flickr photo pages.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Port Barton, San Vicente, Palawan Island, Palawan Province, Mimaropa

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
MSUMich
Troy, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to relax and find a little slice of heaven”
Reviewed 3 May 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I had a great experience from the start, owners answered a lot of questions as I was not familiar with that part of the island and wanted a perfect, relaxing trip for my family (mom, dad, husband, 3 & 5 yr old kids plus my mom's friend).

The description of the place, location and ride to get there was very accurate. We were not disappointed when we arrived. The staff was awesome- we loved Apple and felt like she was part of the family by the weeks end. Marilyn was an excellent cook, we couldn't get enough of her cooking. Arnold was very helpful and we enjoyed Astor, he was an excellent tour guide for our island hopping adventures.

Bedroom set-up was perfect for the family. Kids thought the mosquito netting was cool. Electricity/Internet was not an issue but think Gilligan's property while beautiful, would be too remote for us. So VM was a perfect fit for us, just wish our stay could have been longer!

We couldn't be happier with the accommodations, yes, there could be updating but I thought its been well kept and this type of property is exactly what we signed up for . . . Relaxing on the hut/deck area all day by the beach watching the kids play and make friends with the locals is the perfect first time trip to the Philippines I wanted my husband and kids to experience. Honestly, we were only in the house at night to sleep, so the outdoor space was perfect for us. We joked that we could be perfectly happy lounging in those comfy bean bag chairs the entire time.

The highlight of the trip was the island hopping & how much I enjoyed watching my kids take in the culture, making new friends.

The vacation, even with the long, bumpy transportation ride to get to Villa Marguerita was worth it. And thats coming all the way from Michigan. I have recommended it to friends looking to visit the Philippines & hope to return again in a few years.

Thank you for the hospitality - it was a memorable vacation!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor area - many things to do or just relax on the property if you don't want to leave
Liked least: Master bathroom can eventually be updated but really it fits the character of the house & I got warm water!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2013
Thanks Michelle and sorry for the delay in responding. Personally, this was a terrific review as I've gone to great lengths in out information and FAQ mail outs to describe accurately the home and situation that we call Gilligans. I appreciate your comment that my description was accurate. Once we get you there, our staff take over to assist our guests in making their vacation memorable. My staff really spoke highly of you. Thanks for your generosity. Regards Mal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacquelin...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“almost paradise”
Reviewed 17 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This property is in a perfect setting, amazing views, perfect for our extended family from the Philpines. Within walking distance of many little local shops and places to eat if needed. You get the basics for your needs, we did all our own cooking. Staff very helpfull, we mostly dealt with Apple, who is a real diamond.
My reason for going was to de stress and this is the perfect place for doing so.
The only slight downside to the accomodation is that it needs a little work doing, on a couple of occasions the bamboo floor boards gave way, but it was dealt with, the boards were replaced quickly, but i was slightly concerned as my 3 yr old grand son whent through the floor.
Otherwise good place to enjoy Port Barton and all that it offers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location is perfect
Liked least: condition of property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2013
Hi Jacqueline, thank you for your almost wonderful review, and the almost wonderful behaviour of your guests. It was almost wonderful that you arrived with fifteen guests rather than the 7 adults and 3 small children as booked and our caretakers were almost thrilled to see such a LARGE group of people arrive and almost ran out of sheets and pillows to accommodate everyone. I was almost surprised that your 3 year old grandson was capable of cracking one hardwood floor board, and even more surprised that damaged was caused to the bathroom flooring that has dropped 2 mm after such a small boy used this room, but I'd respectfully ask that you reconsider your comment that your little grandson actually went through the floor. Yes, Villa Marguerita is a 3 bedroom home,15 years old, with a hardwood (not bamboo) floor, but no one ever 'Went through the Floor". We recommend a maximum of 8 persons, not 15. Thanks for staying with us though. It seemed like you all had a great time. Our caretakers spoke kindly of you and we'd love to have you return someday. Please supply actual numbers in advance!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonHMai...
Maidenhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Mal was a pleasure to deal with when booking Villa Margarita, and when we got there I can only echo what others have said about the large clean home as well as Marilyn, Arnold and Apple being the perfect hosts.
The lack of electricity during the day was no problem as there were solar powered fans if you wanted to get out of the heat for a while.
I would not hesitate to recommend Villa Margarita to anyone wanting to experience a little piece of paradise, but to get the full relaxing effect book Mal's other property Gilligans after you've stayed here, it has to be one of the best kept secrets in the travel industry.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and staff
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2013
Thanks Simon, for staying with us and for your generosity to our staff. They spoke highly of you and your party. I hope we have you as a neighbour one day soon! Michell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katicole
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good people good property”
Reviewed 21 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I have mixed feelings about our stay here.
There are many things I liked about our stay at Villa M and there are some we didn't like but they're more the location per se.

The booking with Mal was easy enough. He was great at describing and explaining how things work via email. The rates we found reasonable too. We stayed for 5 nights.

First, we didn't get to the resort until after 6pm. The boat they were sending to pick us up from Toby and Thelma's Palawan camping got stuck with other tours so they've had to hire a different boat to come get us.
2nd, there were too many stray dogs littering the beach with feces, etc. These dogs are always hungry and we couldn't help feeling sorry for them.
3rd, there were way too many bugs! Mosquitos, sand flees, many I couldn't name. We got eaten alive. We got more bug bites from Port Barton than any place we visited in the month we travelled Philippines.
4th, Port Barton is really a sleepy town with very little things to do. So definitely take advantage of the island hopping.

But on the positive note, the house was wonderfully kept and well maintained. It was clean and comfortable and very large. This is a great house for large group.
WE LOVED THE STAFF! Marilyn, Arnold, Apple, Asser and the other male helper (sorry forgot his name) were wonderful! Arnold was very accomodating; Apple was so helpful; and Marilyn was so nice and her cooking was amazing! My favorite was the pinapinyahang manok (pineapple chicken).
Asser, the boatman, took us on a fantastic island hopping/snorkeling tour. It was the highlight of our stay at Villa Marguerita! Marilyn packed a wonderful lunch that Asser and his assistant grilled for us on Paradise Island. The snorkeling initially was cut short because of the jelly fish, too many around. But snorkeling at Paradise Island and the other island he took us to made up for the earlier snorkeling mishap.

I should also note that Marilyn arranged the most reliable drivers to pick us up from and drive us to Puerto Princessa. It was so nice to feel safe driving with a trustworthy driver.

Overall, our stay was good. I was a bit disappointed that the beach was not as clean as I'd hoped. We didn't feel comfortable enough to swim these waters. And save for the bugs, our stay would have been much more comfortable.

So i rate Villa Marguerita and its staff a 4 whilst Port Barton and the location and beach would be a 2.5.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: staff and free island hopping/snorkeling package
Liked least: bugs and stray dogs on beach
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2013
Hi Mary, thanks for your nice comments about our home and staff at Villa Marguerita. We're gald you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of our staff. We've never really had a complaint about bugs at Villa Marguerita and I wasn't aware there were sandflies in Port Barton, but that's life in the tropics. Actually we have more mozzies here at our home in Australia than there in Port Barton. Maybe it was a seasonal issue after rainy season. Some guests are more sensitive to insects than others. Dogs in the Philippines, especially on the beach, have always been an issue for me, but not to the local council. Villa Marguerita has a 'no dog' policy, but most families have a dog, which is out of our control. I will pass your comments on to the town chairman. Thanks for your constructive comments. I responded to 51 of your emails, not bad for a 5 day vacation, so I appreciated your favourable comments. Regards Mal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aya G
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“we came for 3 days and stayed for a week”
Reviewed 3 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We are 2 families with young children who visited Villa Marguerita on September 2012. Our first intention was to stay at the villa for 3 days but since we enjoyed it so much we decided to stay for a week. The villa has an excellent location right on the beach. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The local style villa is clean and well kept, but keep in mind this is not a 5 stars resort. There is a large variety of activities around Port Barton, with island hoping on the top list. The walk to the waterfall is great and worth the effort (4-5 hours walk with young kids). Get equipped with as many products as possible in Puerto Princessa as Port Barton.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Island hoping, hospitality, atmosphere
Liked least: mosquitos
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2012
Thanks for your kind words Aya. We advertise Villa Marguerita as a simple guest house, not with 5 stars, but with lots of stars...Brilliant starlit skies that is, and comets and shooting stars as well. There are no city lights to dull the stars here, and we some times see fireflies hovering in the trees. Some recent guests wrote in our guest book about a late night swimming session in front of our other home 'Gilligans' on their last night and how the sea sparkled as they swam with phorphorous in the waves. That's what makes our homes so special: You don't need tour guides to show you how to have fun. Your imagination will be your guide.
We recommend families with small children to visit the waterfalls at Bigahoe, which is close to Gilligans, which are much easier to access and the walk only takes 30 minutes. You can paddle our kayaks from Gilligans to Bigahoe, and there's only around 600 metres to walk from the beach to the main falls at Bigahoe.
You're right, as recommended in our information package; for those guests who choose to self cater, it's better to take supplies with you from Puerto Princessa to save some money, as groceries are more expensive in Port Barton, but the seafood in Port Barton is much cheaper. Thanks for the good suggestions in your email! Mal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing