We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Chalet, brilliant spot, excellent food....”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
kids chill out area complete with toys, games, books & dvd player.
heated boot room
exterior of the chalet
Balcony view
Enter a caption for your photo
View of the lift from Chalet Balcony
The lifts are open in July & August in the summertime
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Oz en Oisans, Isere, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deborah G
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Chalet, brilliant spot, excellent food....”
Reviewed 26 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

The chalet was the perfect layout for our 2 families with the upper floor having 3 bedrooms and the ground floor with 2. It was clean and very comfortable with a good selection of toys and games/video games/DVDs etc to keep the children and teenagers happy in the evenings.
It was in a great position being within walking distance to the town and also to the main lifts for the Alpes D Huez skiing area which has a good choice of long green and blues, as well as the more challenging slopes. In resort there are also some small slopes, a magic carpet and a small luge area which can be walked to within 10 minutes and is perfect for small children.
Helen and Neil were fantastic chalet hosts, the children loved their healthy and tasty meals, not to mention the delicious cakes waiting for us and the adults said the food at dinner was amongst some of the finest meals they had eaten. Thanks so much to both of you for looking after us so well... we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The resort, the skiing conditions, the chalet, the food
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyGrif...
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic ski chalet for families”
Reviewed 29 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

4th visit to Chilled Mountain, accommodation and position of chalet is great. Food cooked by Tom is 5*. Chalet is immaculate, kept by Ash. Kids love it. Skiing suits all standards and slopes/lifts never too busy. Highly recommend to groups and families. Already booked for 2014 again

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laura m
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab, fab, fab, fab and fab!”
Reviewed 10 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

This chalet is literally fab in all aspects of a successful ski holiday, especially one with children and a mix of skiing ability within the group.
1. Transfer - having spent many hours being ferried to 3 Vallees or Espace Killy, this was just over an hour from Grenoble (great little airport) to the door - meant we were on the slopes by lunchtime on the arrival day, having landed at 9.30am.
2. Chalet - spacious enough for our 2 families with 4 adults and 7 children (aged between 3-12 years), comfortable without having to stress about the children knocking anything over, very clean, very comfortable beds and even though they were twins put together, they didn't seem to have that annoying join in the middle. Plenty of hot water and enough bathrooms, so that no-one ever had to wait.
3. Location of the chalet - it is 2-3 mins walk to Alpette lift (virtually ski back to the door), ski rental shop (v good - booked through www.snowell.com, v good deal), shops resort centre, creche/ESF. Lovely little resort with everything you need and particularly good creche/ski garden for little ones.
4. Food/hospitality - this really was exceptional. I'd read the reviews and had reasonably high expectations but this surpassed them by a long way. Neil and Helen were truly fabulous - warm, professional, so accomodating, came up to ski with the youngsters on the last day and Helen helped my 9 year old snowboard which really was above and beyond. Neil takes his food very seriously and is seriously talented - the owners obviously take their guests' enjoyment of the food seriously too to have hired him, not just the normal 18 year old who has done a 1 week course! I'd have been happy with the kids' meals but was pretty ecstatic with the adult fare - best we have ever had in a ski chalet.
5. Ski area - huge, varied, easily accessible and everyone found challenge and fun. Jacques from Skiaoz was a fabulous instructor/guide for my 2 eldest, husband and I too. Definitely recommend.

I think it's pretty clear that we loved it and would 100% recommend this chalet company as they really do set themselves apart.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: food, location, ease
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexJStep
Bushey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Probably the best chalet we've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 23 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012

The chalet's location was perfect - 50m to one of the main lifts, near the creche and close enough to the village to pop back if you forget anything. Oz itself is largely pedestrianised and you can ski through the village or pull a sledge to the nursery slopes/sledging slope/other main lift up to Alpe d'Huez. There is also a "magic carpet/travelator" on the nursery slopes so it's much easier for young kids learning to ski or getting to the top of the sledging slope.

The chalet is modern and comfortable with a really comfortable lounge area. There is everything you need to relax after a long day on the slopes - TV, DVD, MP3 docking station, Wii, Xbox 360, DVDs, games and toys. You don't need to worry about bedguards, stairgates or kids plates/cutlery - it's all there for you.

Last but most definitely not least is the way that Tom and Ash looked after us. They make a brilliant team and work really well together. The food was second to none. We were very disappointed to have to go out on the staff night off. We've never had food like it in any chalet we've stayed in before. Superb!

We can't wait to get back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food and the view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry S
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Chalet, good food and good skiing”
Reviewed 22 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011

Hi,

I have just spent the first week of the season at Tom & Ash's chalet. I have stayed here before and would not stay anywhere else in this resort or Alps d'Heuz.

The location is super, you get your ski boots on and walk to the first lift. No bother or transfers or ski lodges. It's refreshing to get to the top of the mountain fresh, and then get exhausted on the piste, not on the journey there. The same can be said for when you return from your day on the slopes. Off the ski lift, walk for 2 minutes, then home for a shower and a quick drink, or maybe the other way round!

It's worth mentioning that the village now has a blue run, right back to the L'Alpette Ski Lift, next to the Chalets, which much improves things for the beginner skiers.

We were lucky that the other lodge was quiet, so Tijn and Michaela (from the other lodge) cooked for us on two nights. Tom is good, well excellent actually, but this season he has got some good competition. What was nice was the fact that if we had a busy day, the meal was very filling. On the quiet days, Tom changed the menu so it wasn't so calorific. It's nice to be able to talk to the hosts and do that. Rather than a set menu, even if you don't want it.

The lodges are well equipped, and last season we had fun on the Xbox and Children's area upstairs. This time was more for the adults, and although quiet ( not full of drunk teenagers) we ventured to the Oz bar one night and Le Poutran which had live music on the night we ventured out.

So to recap, this is a good value holiday. Not at the lower end of the market admittedly, but worth every pound.

Looking forward to my next visit in 2012, assuming it's not all booked up!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing