We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay at Mtunzini”
other travellers have booked this property
Ongoye View Residence - The View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ongoye View Residence - The View
Front side of the Villa (1) Front side of the Villa (2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Ongoye View Residence - The View
Front side of the Villa (1)
Front side of the Villa (2)
Fantastic views over the pool
Infinity pool
Infinity pool with a view
Valley view from the garden
Third and fourth bedroom (with bunk-beds)
Pool party!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mtunzini, Zululand, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Sightseer...
1 review
“Perfect stay at Mtunzini”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Our stay at this house in Mtunzini was absolutely wonderfull. It is a very beautiful clean house with lots of room. From the living room you have a wonderful view over the swimming pool and the horizon. The swimming pool and house were cleaned every day by a friendly house help. Also the neighbours were very helpful and could give you advises on what to visit.
To make a long story short, this is the ideal stay to relax and enjoy the calming environment.

Best regards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn Z
1 review
“A rare find”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The villa is located the small, laid-back coastal town of Mtunzini in Zululand, just an hour's drive from Durban international airport where the leisurely pace of life will guarantee a relaxing stay. The spacious north-facing villa (ideal orientation in the southern hemisphere) has stunning views across its large, inviting rim flow swimming pool towards the rolling Ngoye hills and surrounding sugar cane plantations, which offer breathtaking sunset views.
The fully-equipped house with its modern plantation-like design fused with African influences, has all you need in terms of modern comforts to guarantee a comfortable stay, while the friendly yet discreet house manager and neighbours go to great lengths to make you feel at home.
The village itself is full of little surprises and has all the amenities needed (well-stocked supermarket, liquor stores, characterful restaurants, art and craft shops, pubs where you can meet interesting locals, as well as doctors, churches, etc.) and most within walking distance.
So if you want to unwind in the comfort of a spacious characterful villa in a safe environment, enjoy the unspoiled Indian Ocean beaches, stunning nature and wildlife, this is the place for you and the whole family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G0K
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Perfect for relaxation”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

There's probably lots to do in and around Mtunzini but we were just looking for a place to relax after a busy period of travelling. This house was perfect for that. The outside eating areas are lovely, the pool is fantastic as are the views of the surrounding hills. Mokey, the property manager, was helpful and pleasant. Good pizza just around the corner at the Clay Oven. Erik, the owner was fantastic to deal with and promptly returned funds that I had mistakenly overpaid. Overall, highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zeendaba
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent relaxing stay”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My family had a great time at Ongoye view residence. Very spacious, neat and extremely clean house. All we needed was already there. Thank you to Mookey the friendly & helpful housekeeper.
I will definately eeccomment the house to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaA...
East Sussex, UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The most beautiful house we've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Honestly just sensational - where do I start? From the moment we arrived and went up the drive we all started smiling and knew we'd have a great time - as we did. The photos actually don't do the house justice. It is just stunning - the architecture, the decoration, the furnishings. Everything was not only beautiful but designed to be enjoyed and to work with the surroundings. We loved being in the pool during the day, before a bit of lounging on the incredibly comfortable sun loungers beside it, and then having a few sundowners on the front terrace. The view is just so wonderful it enhances your day! The outdoor eating area is also fantastic - as was all of the house!

Erik was wonderful to deal with, and it was a pleasure to meet Pie who settled us in with such charm. Mokey the housekeeper kept the house beautifully, and was never in our way.

'Zini' itself we loved - great selection of food in the supermarket and the deli at The Clay Oven (whwre we also got great takeaway pizza from). The beach is just amazing - miles of deserted sand.

We can't wait to go back - thanks so much for letting us stay Erik.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing